Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
101,042 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

NC

Sep 9, 2021

i love the course as it helped me understand the importance of asking the right questions, understanding the problem and expectations of stakeholders and impotance and the right way of communicatilon.

AC

May 31, 2021

Solid "big picture" refresher course before getting into the more technical stuff I'm sure down the road, even for folks with backgrounds in math and science but haven't used it years (okay, decades).

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Paula Y D

Feb 15, 2023

Tony and his team of data analysts do a fantastic job introducing just about anyone to this course. I'll admit, this is my first Coursera experience. But one thing I was struck with was the diversity in exposure to data analytics and varied comfort with statical and other math topics. I contemplated the complexity of building a course for such a varied population. The analogies and case studies presented have helped me personally talk about my future in data analytics with family and friends. I know I'm not the only one with uncomfortable feelings about pivoting careers or simply learning something new. The introduction to this course has made it fun for me to begin learning AND it arms me with tools such as knowledge, jargon, and sites that help me imagine and prepare for a future career in DA. It's great.

By Rajat B

Sep 5, 2023

This course enhanced my knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data analysis. It not only imparts knowledge but also delves into the mindset of a data analyst and their approach to problem-solving. Unlike courses that immediately delve into advanced topics, this course prioritizes establishing a solid foundation and addressing any lingering doubts. Through a structured curriculum, it systematically builds a framework of understanding. It encourages critical thinking and analytical skills development, ensuring that I can confidently tackle real-world challenges in data analysis. By providing a strong base, this course enables me to approach more complex problems with confidence. It's a testament to the importance of laying a robust foundation before advancing to higher-level concepts in any field.

By Sukula K

Apr 9, 2023

The Google Data Analytics course is an excellent resource for individuals looking to develop their skills in the field of data analysis. The course is well-structured, comprehensive, and covers all the essential concepts and techniques required for data analysis.

The course is delivered through a combination of video lectures, interactive exercises, and real-world projects that allow learners to apply their learning in a practical setting. The projects are challenging but manageable, and they help learners develop a deeper understanding of the concepts covered in the course.

One of the strengths of the course is its focus on using Google Analytics tools and platforms. This gives learners a unique perspective on data analysis and helps them develop skills that are directly applicable in the industry.

By Đ. H (

Jul 1, 2022

- For me, I am grateful for this course in general and Tony in particular. The strength of the course is that it is easy to learn, easy to access, requires nothing but the efforts of the learners, and is a very good first step to continuing the Data Analyst path, the lectures are clear and easy to understand, the concepts are well understood. The explanations are very clear. Tony and structors are also friendly and approachable, the information is concise, the exercises are not difficult to do, and there are many lectures that inspire, help and motivate, not merely just abstract theory. It's, even more, a noble gesture to be in your own country, the tuition is only $13 a month. This helps me a lot because I just graduated, don't have a job yet, and my finances are not secure.

By Faith G

Sep 12, 2022

This course has really been an eye-opener, I have learnt about the different phases of Data analysis process (Ask, Prepare, Process, Analyze, Share and Act), the Data life cycle, (Planning, Capture, Manage, Analyze, Archive, Destroy), the necessary skills required as a data analyst, which involves curiosity, understanding context, having a technical mindset, data design, data strategy, analytical thinking.

I also learnt about the 5key aspects to analytical thinking which includes visualization, strategy, problem orientation, correlation and big picture and detail-oriented thinking.

I was also introduced to the Ins and Outs of core data tools like the Spreadsheets, the Structured Query Language (SQL) and Data visualization using the different visualization tools.

By DuyKhanh N

Apr 13, 2022

This is the first couse in the program, so it contain a lot of foundation theory. Lucky that I already have some knowlege about this industry from college and my own learning, so I can speed up a bit and finish this first course in 8 days.

Even though, this first course does not contain many hands-on excersices or projects to practice, it has discussion form and reflection form which is benefit to review yourself. This course also design in a way to trigger your mindet of Data analysis which you already have but not notice yet (data analysis is everywhere since data is everywhere itself.)

So far I really enjoy the first course. However, I expect to see more hands-on exercises and projects to practice my skills about SQL and R, or Tableau in the upcomming cources.

By Sherry R

Jun 11, 2023

I feel I got a good foundation to move on to the next course. I appreciate that the learning is done in small and short segments, and the formats are varied. Some videos, some readings, some thinking challenges, some quiz questions. I can get little bits done at a time even if I only have half an hour, or I can sit for 2 hours and get a lot done. The instructor videos are clear and engaging, and there are transcripts. Also, you can toggle subtitles (video text) on/off. I love that you can highlight and save notes (which I then copied and pasted into a Word document, and printed out). Helpful to have the glossary too. The instructors are encouraging and lively, so it's really enjoyable to sit through, and again, most of the videos are maybe 4-6 minutes long.

By Lâm T

May 13, 2023

The course is absolutely great for a total beginner. The videos in the course are very well-presented and clear. The curriculum is also very organized and well-constructed. However, the best thing is that it completely changes my thoughts and feelings about data analysis.

At first, I was very scared as I thought that this subject requires excellent Math skills, which were not my strengths. But as I tried, I realized that Data Analysis was not just Math; it was more about logical thinking and I was actually doing analysis pretty often! My fear is gone and replaced with excitement to learn more about what and how I can do great things with data as a job.

I enjoy the course very much and finish it in just 1 week, despite that I'm having a full-time job!

By Harwin P

Apr 9, 2023

If you're looking to build a solid foundation in data analysis, look no further than the "Foundation : Data, Data ,Everywhere" course! This course is an absolute powerhouse when it comes to teaching you how to make sense of data in today's data-driven world.

The course is incredibly engaging and energizing, with interactive exercises and real-world examples that will keep you on your toes. The instructors are experts in the field and have a knack for explaining complex concepts in a way that's easy to understand.

Overall, I can't recommend this course enough. Whether you're a complete beginner or have some experience with data analysis, this course is the perfect starting point for anyone looking to build a strong foundation in this critical field.

By MOHAMMED (

Sep 5, 2023

Course Evaluation

Name: [Your Name] Course Name: [Course Name] Instructor: [Instructor Name] Date: [Date]

Overall Assessment

I found this course to be excellent. The instructor was knowledgeable and engaging, the materials were clear and concise, and the assignments were challenging but rewarding. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about [topic of course].

Specific Comments

Recommendations

I would recommend the following changes to the course:

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about [topic of course].

Here are some additional tips for writing a great course evaluation:

By following these tips, you can help to ensure that your evaluation is helpful and informative.

By Ahmed M S

May 13, 2023

Before joining this program, I used to use YouTube to learn more about data analysis. After spending about one year on youtube learning different technical skills that could help me with the data. I never thought that data analysis involve a process of steps and it is not just about using technical skills such as Excel, SQL, R, and python programming languages. I learned all of this but I didn't know what is the role of each part, what I should do before jumping directly into these courses. It's really a very important course to land you on the definitions of data analysis, and how it works, and tell you more about the specialties present inside the field itself.

I am grateful that I took this course and didn't spend more time wasting it.

By Mohammad S

Jan 30, 2023

GREAT INTRODUCTION TO THE UNIVERSE OF DATA

I know you’ve all heard the cliche: “I don’t normally write a review but…” Yeah I’m also about to say it! On a serious note though, this course is incredibly well-taught and well-built. The instructor is amazing, supportive, and full of knowledge about the world of data. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking into the field of data and don’t know where to go. I would also recommend it to anyone who has great interest in data and anyone who wants a quick refresher on their skills. The topics covered are very easy to digest and there’s absolutely nothing to worry about! 

Lastly, as I always say, you’re not a true Data Geek unless you write reviewers for other products and services!!!

By Marc G

Jan 15, 2024

This is definitely one of the better courses I've taken on Coursera, hands=down ten times better than the garbage IBM produces. It really makes sense why Google is such a much more succesful company than IBM if you watch the Data Science Courses from IBM, vs Data Analytics courses by Google. IBM courses seem like someone was just trying to finish an assignment they didn't want to do, and had no idea or effort put into coming up with something excellent, whereas this Google course has a great variety of exercises, videos, reading, case studies, flash-cards, etc etc to really make the learning so comprehensive. Thanks so much to the Google Team for this incredible resource. Can't wait to see what's next in this Specialization!

By Caroline F

Dec 16, 2023

This course is a thoughtfully designed, gentle preview of the data analytics process, spreadsheets, and SQL. The information is presented clearly and divided into short videos and readings, with quick quizzes to measure understanding. It is a very user-friendly experience, with accessible transcripts and easy-to-read text. The course navigation is excellent; Google designers let students pick up where they left off, which saves time. Personally, I've already started to apply what I learned in this course, by starting a gap analysis at my day job to address long-standing business problems in a more data-driven way. I really enjoyed the course, and I look forward to diving deeper into the rest of the program. Thanks, Google!

By Neil K

Aug 28, 2022

Fantastic and unintimidating. I wish that I better understood where my learning log is on my laptop and cloud drive. Maybe it's considered too fundamental to teach. I am concerned that I will not fit in as a data analyst, as I am not able to work 60 hours per week. I also have few connections in the field. I am also not great at social media creation, and kind-of dislike it generally. I may deveope skills but never gt a chance to use them. Lastly, culture is the most important aspect of where I want to work. I have worked in finance which has male toxicity issues that I am not willing to endure. Thank you for reading my review. I hope that an opportunity at Google itself may be available, as I like its culture.

By Deleted A

May 16, 2021

Overall, this is an excellent course. In my opinion, and I only speak for myself, I would like a note-taking feature that would allow me to take notes on every page, and then have a common access file link in the left column, for quick future reference of these notes. I am currently handwriting my notes, which I do not mind. Also, sometimes terms are missing in a test question, which may trip a test-taker. I might be over-thinking things, but when asked about "business task" in a true/false question, and it is solely described as " the problem or data" without the remainder or reference to " for a business" (as it was defined in the material), this might throw students off. Again, it may be me over-thinking things.

By Carolyn E M

Sep 8, 2022

I now have a pretty clear idea of why Data Analysts are so in-demand. They really do help a company make effective changes that will improve their business. But it takes an analytical, critical-thinking individual to help that company improve. The information throughout this first course explains what's involved in immersing oneself in a field critical in the business community. However, it's not just business, Data Analytics can be applied in any field the individual might be interested, from finance to government to healthcare, even to ones personal life. The first course makes the student crave more information, it's foundational, it lays the groundwork for higher learning in the field of analyzing data.

By Reda I

May 10, 2021

First of all, I have to thanks Google and Coursera to present that amazing opportunity and valuable science. In my opinion and my view, the first course in Data Analytics is very amazing and fantastic, It starts with you from the beginning and learns you everything in detail and the instructor is very directed and clear. I have learned many amazing things and knew the field of data analytics, the role of data science, tools that used in data analysis including data visualization, spreadsheets, and query language (SQL), and I have known more about stakeholders and data-driven decision-making. In the last of my feedback I thanks Coursera and Google for that fantastic and valuable opportunity.

Reda Ibrahim - Egypt

By Emily S

Mar 25, 2022

Very thorough course! I'd really like to know the answers to the questions I got wrong, but I understand why that's not an option. There were a couple of questions asked on the course challenge that I don't remember learning about (specifically how to import a database into a spreadsheet). I was also confused with the first introduction to SQL, but I understood what I had trouble connecting in the following module. Other than that, really happy with the flow and content of the course.

Overall, the course went at a great pace, and didn't feel too hard. I appreciate it's thoroughness. I like the videos and the readings/assignments. I never got bored. Thank you for putting together a fantastic course, Google!

By Melani V

Mar 18, 2024

Decided to take a new path in life learning something new and orienting my life towards a new career. I was hesitant at first because I had never taken a course online (My last class was in person in 2016 and was always stressed about it) now I can confidently say this is one of the best decisions I have taken in my adult life, It was very accessible and accommodating to my schedule as well as easy to understand, It gave me the resources and confidence in completing a program and made my goal so much more achievable plus I had the opportunity to connect with people around the globe with different views which expanded my own vision. I can’t recommend it enough, if you have the opportunity just take it!

By Jyotsana M

Feb 12, 2022

Love the course so far! Its impactful but concise at the same time. They do a great job testing your skills to really make sure you are learing the most from the course. I already see a difference in my thinking. There are small technicallities, whcih are really minor when you think of the whole scope of the course. The discussion prompts, I really don't find as effective as all the other tools, and a lot of times I ran into issues while typing up my answers. Also, since there are questions that ask about the type of visualizatios, I wish there was more information/ examples on it. Even reviewing the those subjects, I was left a little confused. Overall, loving it and glad that I chose to pursue this!

By Antoun K

Nov 27, 2021

- Gain an understanding of the practices and processes used by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices in the job search.

Antoun Katta

By Moria W

Jun 18, 2021

This course was helpful to familiarize me with Coursera. Although parts of the course were review from my academic and work experience, the course challenged me to think about how data-decisions fit the big picture in problem-solving.

The interval and end-of-chapter quizzes helped reinforce my learning by revisiting the concepts I learned throughout the chapter.

I find the video presenters friendly and fun! Their real-life experience painted a picture of what the job expectations can look like.

Last but not least, dismissing all onions because we are missing data about red onions is unfair. If I had to choose one take away from the lesson is that representation matters for data analysts.

By Felicia M

Oct 3, 2023

I would like to thank ALL the instructors, the tutors, and Stackoverflow for opening up a new world to me. Before taking this course and deciding to sign up, my entire life had been working in different areas of healthcare; acquiring what bit of knowledge these first five weeks, brings me to tears of joy. I have always enjoyed treating people and doing my best not to lose anyone on my watch, you all share the same passion. Advancing my career in data analytics will provide more opportunities for me to work in a number of different fields. I thank Google for creating this platform for people like me, beginners in this area. Thank you again... Sincerely Felicia McGee

By ABHISHEK V

Apr 20, 2022

I love Tony Sir, he explained the concepts in a very easy way from starting. And he motivates genuienly from bottom of his heart. I loved this course; process for completing this course is very fascinating to me. Hope further courses are much more in a critical and analytical way coz I learned the basics of Data very well. How to analyze it, analytical thinking, Business knowledge + Data = Mystery solved.

Overall the course is best for knowing and exploring deepily inside the data OR How to play with data and information that you are gathering everyday for your projects, plans and businesses.

Thanks to Coursera for creating this valuable course in a affordable price. 💖