Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
101,042 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

NC

Sep 9, 2021

i love the course as it helped me understand the importance of asking the right questions, understanding the problem and expectations of stakeholders and impotance and the right way of communicatilon.

AC

May 31, 2021

Solid "big picture" refresher course before getting into the more technical stuff I'm sure down the road, even for folks with backgrounds in math and science but haven't used it years (okay, decades).

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Bubíková K

Jun 12, 2021

This was just a waste of time. I agree with others 1-star-raters who stated that all topics could be comprised into one or two lessons. I expected much more practical work and not only never-ending talking and unuseful definitions.

By Hyunjin J K

Mar 25, 2021

I just earned this first certificate! I really enjoyed this course. I've been doing market research as an independent analyst for over five years. My role was focused on the "analysis" part. This course showed me a bigger picture of data analysis and opened my eyes to a wide range of possibilities as a data analyst. I am very excited about taking the next certificate courses to get trained in essential skills that will be useful during the entire data analysis process!

By Mohamed A

Mar 31, 2021

Thanks a lot to Google they spend tremendous efforts on the content, and the instructor was extremely helpful and support I appreciate this effort and looking forward to my next step in this program.

VIVA GOOGLE🙂

By Bushra K J

May 6, 2021

I am so happy for became a part of this course. I learn so many new thing from this course, thanks to Coursera and Commonwealth of learning and also course teachers , they all are very amicable.

By Ellen C

Mar 14, 2021

This course did a fantastic job of painting the big picture of Data Analytics. The overview helped reinforce my decision to take the course and motivate me to keep moving

By Amy M

May 5, 2021

I feel like they spent a lot of time trying to convince you that this is interesting and important, instead of delivering interesting and important information. Might be good for someone who is is high school or has never thought about these topics, but didn't work for me.

By Varun M

Jul 7, 2021

I found it as supremely boring course. Same lines again & again & again & again.....I wonder whether they are checking my patience or just wasting my time. Perhaps they have strategically stretched it to 5 weeks which is basically 2-3 days course at most. On the other hand Coursera platform itself seems okay, despite some flaws.

By Josemaría M

Jul 13, 2021

I love Coursera, but I want to be completely honest:

- Content way too basic, even for beginners.

- It only covers theory and has no practice exercises.

- A quick guide and a couple of videos could have covered the entire module.

By Juan E M

Jul 24, 2021

This course should consist of just one video of 30 minutes. Very introductory with a lot of secondary information. Lastly, the amount of politics and propaganda is unbearable.

By Faiqa R

Jul 12, 2021

Too much introductory. Not even a single lesson for job and Learning was nil. except the jargons.

By Elsa B

Apr 19, 2024

I feel empowered, Thank you for the opportunity.

I am a Data Scientist but I am not practicing because I don't feel that my knowledge was proficient. This course give me the baseline I was lacking.

By Antony J

Apr 27, 2021

Gentle introduction to data analysis with a focus on soft skills. The production quality of the videos is top-notch and it's clear a lot of time and thought has gone into developing the program.

By Eyad S

Mar 29, 2021

there are may repetitions, some video and reading materials are useless and a waste of time.

the design of the course into 5 weeks is too much

you can squeeze the contents in just a week

By Martin P

May 17, 2021

Too heavily based on terminology which is not really used or needed in practice. Why to ask how many "steps of data analysis" there is? It is just your oppinions. It doesnt have to be 6. It can be easily 12 or just 4... Some questions in quizes were missleading or even wrong. For example: when you asked if ommiting certain data will lead to fair analysis. Your answer was not to check this column which is not correct. For example if you know that for some period of time, the data was not collected correctly (and you have no way of correcting this), you MUST ommit this data

By Josh T

Jul 15, 2022

I'm still not sure if I need to go and learn how to use excel and/or google sheets better before we continue or if I'm going to be taught how to use these things in the following courses. Also same for SQL and R programming. It isn't clear from the course if we need some good solid background in this programs before continuing and I don't want to spend a ton of time learning something if we will be taugh it later. A bit confusing and needs to be clarified.

Also....really think you should provide correct answers to the missed questions rather than linking to a past section. I want to know what chart should have been used for the last question (and what the corret answer was in a prev quiz). I think it should be pie chart and be nice to know the correct answer. But course has been great!

By trijendra s

Mar 24, 2021

In my view, this course should be must for every working professionals as most of the contends will surely be used in day to day work performed by professionals. I will apply the most of the concepts in daily work life and same will assist me in understanding data, analyzing, communicating in a constructive way with facts, patterns and trends derived from the course.

A "BIG THANKS" to Google Team for coming up with such a wonderful professional course and hope that Google will come-up with more such types of Course.

Special Appreciation to Coursera Team for making this course accessible to everyone be it working professionals or students.

-Trijendra

By Omar K

Feb 19, 2022

I really enjoyed this course of the Google Analytics program. It was very simple and easy to understand. I found myself know most of the concept were discussed in the course by logic, but Google Team helped to redefine the concepts in more technical way for better understand and to generalize the concepts on the real cases mentioned in the lessons. I have to admit that all the reading lessons were carefully and professionally designed and written for anyone who don't have a technical background would be able to understand. I was very satisfied with my experience in this course, and I'm looking forward for the rest of the program.

By Md A A K

Feb 7, 2023

I love this course. I am an absolute beginner in this field. So this was the perfect course for me. I have learned a lot of things. As this is the first course in this specialization, it was more like an introductory course lesson to all the content I am going to learn in the rest of the courses. I want to mention one more thing that the instructors are so professional, and they not only teach you but also motivate you to learn more and more. Resources included in the course were useful and still I am working with them. Thanks Google and Coursera for providing us with the best course on data analysis.

By David D

Jul 9, 2021

This course covers an overview of Data Analysis topics and skills. It serves as an introduction to the larger Google Professional Certificiate program and does not always go in depth ("we'll cover that later in the course.") The real gold is in the optional, additional readings and resources which provide practical application for basic SQL, Tableau, and RStudio skills. Videos are entertaining, informative, and inspiring to hear from data analysts who are in the field. I have no experience in the field and explanations were broken down well so I was able to easily follow along.

By Juan A

May 26, 2021

I just finished the course and I really enjoyed it. This course covers the basic concepts of Data Analysis, it gives you the basic knowledge you need about these topics, also you will get a breif showcase of all of the tools that will be used in later courses of this certificate (SQL, Excel and Visualization). I liked that they were constantly inviting students to participate in forums and learn from others experiences and points of view. If you're already experienced in this subjects the course provides a speed-track that you can take to validate you knowledge and move forward.

By Bruce B

Feb 27, 2022

Great information and review of the basics of Data Analytics. Lots of useful terminology. Everything worked well online, no issues at all. In fact, I using an early 2014 MacBook Air with a dual-core i5 processor and only 4GB of RAM and, like I said before, everything just worked.

FWIW, I suggest exploring each and every link that pops up during the course. I am pretty sure I managed to miss some relevant information (completely on me, by-the-way) that might have been useful during the course challenge.

Eager to get started on the second course.

Cheers!

~BB~

By Jose A P

Apr 26, 2023

I'm expressing my experience with the first module! After so many hours studying the material provided and the research done, especially with all the platforms, Tableau, Phyton, Spreadsheet, MySQL, Microsoft SQL, and others, I don't know anything about it. But I will continue with the excellent course until the end because of the knowledge I have received. So thank all the participants in this endeavor for giving clear explanations. So I want to say THANK YOU.

PORTILLO

By Ashraful I

Feb 21, 2023

This course was a fantastic educational experience for me. The course was well-organized and provided a thorough introduction to the topic of data analytics.

I highly recommend this introductory course on data analytics to anyone who is interested in the field. The course provides a solid foundation in data analytics and is appropriate for students with little or no prior experience.

By Nicholas Z

Sep 23, 2021

It was a great starter course and introduction to the world of data analytics. I am feel more versed on what to expect as an entry level data analyst. As well as possibilities of higher positions that are in the verse of data analytics. Its also a great course to get familiar with the basic foundations of data analysis like the 6 phases.

By Waqar A S

Aug 8, 2022

Amazing course to begin the journey. Very thoughtfully made, the presentation style, blend of theoritical details with examples, quizes, scenarios and weekly challanges ensured that learning is easily grapsed by the participant while rataining the key concept for longer period of time.