Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
101,042 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

NC

Sep 9, 2021

i love the course as it helped me understand the importance of asking the right questions, understanding the problem and expectations of stakeholders and impotance and the right way of communicatilon.

AC

May 31, 2021

Solid "big picture" refresher course before getting into the more technical stuff I'm sure down the road, even for folks with backgrounds in math and science but haven't used it years (okay, decades).

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Shashwat K

Feb 28, 2022

I loved the course and I have learned a lot. The content is good along with the explanations in the video. However, I think there could have been more problems to use SQL and formulas and functions in the final course challenge. But, overall great experience.

By Abishek S

Jun 29, 2021

Great course to start with the beginnings or basics in data analytics. Learned a lot in this course, thanks to google and coursera for this one. Data driven decision making is an art and I absolutely enjoyed being a part in this course.

By Rosana S

Mar 14, 2021

I just loved attending this course. It made me very happy and discover that I know some skills that are high valued in the market nowadays. Thank you so much Coursera and Google for this opportunity!!!! 8:-)

By Ramik M

May 17, 2021

It was a great course it really inspired me a lot to search about processes and steps to become data analyst this course is well designed to set up my journey as a data analyst and a good overview .

By Reyhan G

Feb 28, 2022

Very helpful and easy to understand. This course well suited for beginners and even for the intermediate ones to refresh and giving fundamental knowledge for a Data Analyst. Thank you Google!

By Maryam A

Feb 28, 2022

This course was a great start to the journey of data analysis. Instructor was awesome and I could easily relate to him and enjoyed his expressive style of teaching. Strongly recommond it.

By Guillermo A

Apr 11, 2021

Excellent starting point, straightforward and clear information. The only thing I consider to need some polishing is the Qwiklabs part. Overall a great experience, thanks for everything!

By Marsha H

Feb 28, 2022

The course was very detailed and the instructor very engaging which made the subject matter fun to learn and easy to understand.

By Shawn L

Feb 28, 2022

This course gave me a good idea of what to expect out of data analysis. I'm looking forward to the other courses in this program.

By Agnes G

Nov 2, 2021

A very good foundational course if you are keen on a career in data analytics. Thank you and GOD bless!

By EZZADDEEN M

Mar 12, 2021

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot of basic important concepts.

By 03_BagulTushar

Jul 2, 2021

so great to learn the key ascpects

By AKSHAY P R

Jul 2, 2021

GOOD COURSE FOR STARTERS

By Ilona Z

May 30, 2022

To me this course is filled with inspiration, rather than with knowledge or skills. It is focused on getting you interested in the world of data analysis, and I feel it is targeted to young graduates, not to people with even just a few years of professional experience, wanting to learn something new to advance their current careers. Many of the videos got me frustrated by the amount of pep talk, which made me feel like I am being manipulated or at least not taken seriously.

The course provides opportunities to test yourself, to repeat and reflect on the material, which is helpful. I missed more opportunities for practical excercises.

Overall I think it may be good for people who are hesitating and do not know, if data analysis is something for them. It is a waste of time, for the ones who are actually looking for some practical knowledge.

By Daniel E R

Mar 13, 2021

Some of the questions were odd or I believe them to be incorrect. One of the final exam questions used 04000 as a zip code but the leading zero should probably be requested as text for '04000' in the where statement but this was counted as incorrect. Question 6 in one of the weeks asked what SELECT * did. it says it selects all of the data from the table but that isn't quite correct, it selects all features of the data but a where clause would limit the data as well, so saying select * selects all of the data is misleading.

By Chris M

Nov 21, 2021

One day of material spread over a suggested 5 weeks. Most of the material can be cut or moved to another course about general computer and professions skills. Is it a coincidence that they offer 14-day free trial but don't teach anything for the first 5 weeks? Finally, parts of the course seem politically motivated, like classifying all data a "fact". Instead, they should focus on teaching the material and leave their personal politics at home.

By Jason D

Jul 1, 2021

Well presented but often a game of guess the appropriate corporate jargon than come to grips with concepts.

By Brian M

May 6, 2022

I would not recommend this course to anyone. This course is designed for a specific type of person, with a specific type of rote memorization and recitation learning style. By taking this course, you can pretend to understand data by learning the lingo and following the steps. A bit horrifying to see, but illuminating as to how the world has gone so wrong. Honest review from a real person with decades of expert hands-on real-world professional data experience in the manufacturing industry.

By Jinender t

Jul 24, 2021

I would say for absolute begineer its fine but for begineer please just go straight why we are using SQL, how to use SQL python power BI tableu uses then go for programing

By Rahul P

May 27, 2023

Overall, I found the "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" Google Coursera course to be an excellent learning resource for anyone interested in understanding the fundamentals of working with data. Here are my feedback and suggestions:

1. Comprehensive Content: The course provides a comprehensive overview of various data-related concepts, including data types, data storage, data cleaning, data analysis, and data visualization. The content is well-structured, with clear explanations and examples, making it easy to grasp even for beginners.

2. Practical Approach: I appreciate the emphasis on hands-on exercises and practical applications throughout the course. The use of real-world datasets and the integration of Google tools like Google Sheets and Google Data Studio were particularly valuable in reinforcing the concepts learned and bridging the gap between theory and practice.

3. Engaging Instructors: The instructors were knowledgeable and engaging, delivering the course material in a clear and engaging manner. They demonstrated a good balance between providing theoretical explanations and practical demonstrations, making the learning experience enjoyable.

4. Well-Designed Assignments: The assignments were well-designed, allowing learners to apply their knowledge and skills to real-world scenarios. The feedback provided by the instructors on the assignments was helpful in identifying areas for improvement and reinforcing learning.

5. Additional Resources: The course provided additional resources, such as supplementary readings and external references, which were valuable for those who wanted to explore the topics further. These resources complemented the course material and enriched the learning experience.

6. Course Duration: The course was well-paced, and the duration was appropriate for covering the foundational concepts of data. However, in some instances, certain topics could have been expanded upon to provide a more in-depth understanding.

7. Community and Discussion Forums: The course could benefit from a more active and engaged community and discussion forums. Encouraging learners to interact and share their insights or challenges could enhance the collaborative learning experience and provide opportunities for peer-to-peer learning.

8. Practical Examples: While the course included practical examples, incorporating more diverse and industry-specific use cases would further enhance the course's relevance and applicability to different domains and professional settings.

9. Certification: Offering a certification option upon course completion would be beneficial for learners who want to showcase their newly acquired skills and knowledge to potential employers or clients.

Overall, "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is a highly informative and practical course for beginners seeking to develop a solid foundation in data-related concepts. With a few minor enhancements, such as expanding certain topics and fostering a more interactive learning community, this course has the potential to become even more impactful and valuable to learners.

By Abdullah S

Jun 15, 2023

I had the pleasure of working with [Data Analyst's Name] as a data analyst, and I can confidently say that they are an exceptional professional in their field. Their expertise and dedication to their work have greatly contributed to the success of our projects. I would like to share my review of their performance as a data analyst.

First and foremost, [Data Analyst's Name] has a deep understanding of the data analysis process. From asking the right questions to delivering actionable insights, they consistently demonstrate a strong grasp of the entire data analysis workflow. Their ability to define problems, collect and clean data, perform insightful analysis, and present findings in a clear and concise manner is truly commendable.

One of the key strengths of [Data Analyst's Name] is their meticulous attention to detail. They have a keen eye for identifying errors, inconsistencies, and outliers in the data, ensuring the accuracy and reliability of the analysis. Their commitment to data quality and their proactive approach in addressing data issues make them a valuable asset to any team.

Additionally, [Data Analyst's Name] possesses excellent technical skills. They are proficient in various data analysis tools and techniques, enabling them to efficiently process and analyze complex datasets. Their ability to utilize advanced statistical methods, data visualization tools, and programming languages greatly enhances their ability to extract meaningful insights from the data.

Furthermore, [Data Analyst's Name] is a great collaborator and communicator. They actively engage with stakeholders and subject-matter experts, seeking their input and feedback to ensure that the analysis aligns with the business objectives. Their strong interpersonal skills and ability to translate technical concepts into understandable language make them effective in presenting complex findings to both technical and non-technical audiences.

Lastly, [Data Analyst's Name] consistently demonstrates a growth mindset and a passion for learning. They stay up to date with the latest advancements in the field of data analysis, continuously expanding their knowledge and skills. Their curiosity and eagerness to explore new approaches and techniques contribute to their ability to tackle complex problems and deliver innovative solutions.

By Fahmi I

Jun 2, 2023

Data analysis plays a crucial role in Google's programs, enabling them to derive valuable insights and make data-driven decisions. With the vast amount of data generated by Google's platforms and services, data analysis helps uncover patterns, trends, and correlations to improve user experience and enhance their products. By analyzing user behavior, search patterns, and ad performance, Google can optimize its algorithms, personalize search results, and deliver targeted advertisements to users.

Google utilizes various techniques and tools for data analysis, including statistical analysis, machine learning, and data visualization. These approaches enable them to process and interpret complex data sets, extract meaningful information, and identify areas for improvement. Through data analysis, Google can identify user preferences, understand market trends, and refine their products and services to meet customer needs.

Furthermore, data analysis at Google involves not only quantitative analysis but also qualitative insights. User feedback, surveys, and sentiment analysis provide valuable qualitative data that complements the quantitative data analysis. This holistic approach helps Google gain a comprehensive understanding of user needs and preferences.

Overall, data analysis is an integral part of Google's operations, driving innovation, and improving their services. By leveraging data insights, Google continues to enhance its products, deliver personalized experiences, and shape the future of technology.

By Sachin S

May 13, 2024

Everything you need to know about the data, its all here. From basic level to an advanced level, how to see data as data and what the steps involved in the data analysis process, have been explained with proper understanding.

By ONIX R

May 11, 2024

Excelente introducción al mundo de los datos, es bastante educativo. Las herramientas utilizadas para el aprendizaje mantienen el interés del estudiante en todo momento.

By Catherine A P

May 1, 2024

Me ha encantado el curso, lo bien preparado que lo tienen, lo accesible que es y la información que contiene, es inmejorable. Muchas gracias