Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
101,317 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

TA

Jul 30, 2021

I just finished the course. This course was great not only the materials but also the instructor.

Once again, the course so mind blowing. I feel more confidence to do data analyst.

Thanks Google

CH

Jun 25, 2021

This gives a great foundation for Data Analytics. The instructors do skim over everything and I would have liked more detail but most of what I wanted to find out more about I was able to find online.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Deniz E

Dec 31, 2022

The course and Lecturer performance is very good. The process of learning steps are very effective. The course structure is well organized. Sharing The google team experiences is very good idea. The videos also have small quizes that keeps you more focused on. The case studies are very well written, Easily understandable, clear. The videos have been supported with text. Exams are fairly designed based on the knowledge they provide. Also the course helps attendants to improve their presentation skills and provide tactics on how to look for jobs. Understanding skills , data analytics jobs, or similar functioned jobs are explained well. This gives good understanding to new starters. Really enjoyed the course. Even familiar with some subjects, I ve learned a lot.

Discussion forms are encouraging students to be proactive and offers help.

Broad diversity on lecturers (Google team presenters/ employess)that took part indicates that the Company is fair to its employees . Company give chances to the employees to improve themself and give opportunity on different career pathways. I would definetly join them based on their approach and organizational culture.

By MUSTAFA E

Aug 20, 2023

"Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is an absolute game-changer! This course unravels the captivating world of data science with finesse and flair. From beginners to those with some experience, it's a seamlessly tailored experience that builds a rock-solid understanding of data.

The instructors are luminaries in simplifying complexity. They infuse theory with real-life examples, making learning not just insightful but also enjoyable. Hands-on exercises and projects bridge the gap between theory and practice, leaving you confident to tackle real-world data challenges.

Resources? Abundant. From case studies to recommended readings, they've got it all covered. The course community is engaging, fostering collaboration and camaraderie among learners.

"Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" isn't just a course; it's a transformative journey equipping you with data prowess. Whether you're an aspiring data scientist or a business pro, this course is an investment in your growth. Don't miss out on this gem—it's a data odyssey beyond imagination!

In summary, this course is an unmissable masterpiece! Kudos to the creators for such a phenomenal learning adventure!

By Ahmad S A

Jun 14, 2023

I recently completed the "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" course on Coursera and I must say it was an incredibly informative and eye-opening experience. As someone who had little knowledge about data analytics and the responsibilities of data analysts, this course provided me with a solid foundation and a comprehensive understanding of the subject.

Throughout the five weeks, the course covered the fundamentals of data analytics, including various tools and techniques used in the field. The instructors were knowledgeable and engaging, explaining complex concepts in a clear and accessible manner. The course materials were well-structured and supported by practical examples and real-world case studies, which helped me grasp the concepts and apply them in relevant scenarios.

Overall, I highly recommend the "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" course to anyone interested in delving into the world of data analytics. It lays a strong foundation and equips learners with the necessary skills to pursue further studies or career opportunities in this exciting field. I'm looking forward to continuing my learning journey in the next course of the program."

By Subramani V

Mar 29, 2023

I recently completed the Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere course, and I have to say, it exceeded my expectations. The course was incredibly informative and provided a comprehensive overview of the world of data analysis.

The course was well-structured and easy to follow, even for someone with no prior knowledge of data analysis. The instructors did an excellent job of breaking down complex concepts into understandable pieces, and the interactive quizzes and exercises helped solidify my understanding of the material.

What I appreciated most about this course was its practical focus. Rather than just teaching theory, the course emphasized hands-on experience and real-world examples. This approach allowed me to immediately apply what I learned in my own work, which was incredibly valuable.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to expand their knowledge of data analysis. Whether you're a complete beginner or have some experience under your belt, you're sure to learn something new and valuable. Thanks to the team behind Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere for creating such a fantastic learning experience!

By Tohid B

Jan 1, 2023

I recently completed the first module of Google's Data Analytics Certificate program, “Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere” and I was thoroughly impressed by the quality of the course material and the interactive nature of the learning experience.

From the very start, I was hooked on the engaging lectures and interactive exercises that helped to bring the concepts to life. The real-world examples and case studies used throughout the module were particularly helpful in illustrating the application of the various tools and techniques being taught.

But what really sets this course apart is the emphasis on hands-on learning. I was able to apply what I was learning to actual data sets and see the results firsthand, which was an incredibly valuable learning experience.

The instructional team was also top-notch, always available to answer questions and provide support. Overall, the "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" module was an interactive and enjoyable learning experience that left me feeling confident in my understanding of the key concepts and ready to move on to the next module. Five stars!

By Ebin B T

Jan 16, 2023

I recently took the course "Foundations: Data, Data Everywhere" and I found it to be an excellent introduction to the world of data analysis. The course covered a wide range of topics, from basic data concepts to more advanced statistical techniques, providing a comprehensive overview of the field. The instructors were knowledgeable and passionate about the subject matter, and they did an excellent job of making the material accessible to students with varying levels of experience.

One of the things I appreciated most about this course was the emphasis on hands-on learning. The course included a variety of real-world examples and exercises that allowed me to apply what I was learning to actual data sets. This helped me to better understand the concepts and made the course more engaging.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to gain a solid foundation in data analysis. It provided me with a strong understanding of the basics and gave me the tools I need to continue my learning journey in this field.

By Alejandro M H

Oct 8, 2022

Fue bastante entretenido, inclusive más largo de lo que llegué a pensar, pero aún así me gustó la metodología de aprendizaje de hacer pequeños quices antes de llegar al examen final, además de que siempre te daban actividades para realizar y un pequeño resumen de lo que se supone debías haber aprendido, esto último fue lo que más me ayudó, porque guardaba estos resúmenes para poder estudiarlos y aprender con mayor facilidad. 

La introducción del curso fue diferente a lo que me esperaba, iba a un paso un tanto lento, pero me parece que para alguien que no tenga ningún conocimiento previo con el análisis de datos (pero al menos si con el uso de una computadora) es un buen comienzo. 

Iniciaré el segundo curso a sabiendas de que se irá lento, pero seguro.  Finalmente me gustaría comentar que si bien está en inglés, este curso introductorio usa un vocabulario simple, entonces es muy accesible para personas como yo que el inglés no es nuestra lengua nativa (razón por la cual escribo este comentario en español).

By sayan k

Mar 14, 2022

My main career goal is to learn every day. I really want to learn and to progress in my career. Programming requires constant learning and improving. Taking this course will help me to learn and study this Data Science and also to implement it. It can help me advance in my knowledge. This course will help me in defining Data Science, understanding how Python could potentially impact our business and industry, to write a thought leadership piece regarding use cases and industry potential of Data Science, explain Data Science to clients, friends, joining a community of economists, business leaders, entrepreneurs, and technologists that are shaping this technology as we speak. Identifying which aspects of Data Science seem most important and relevant to us, Walking away with a strong foundation in where Data Science is going, what it does, and how to prepare for it. Data Science course will help me achieve it to learn. Courses on Coursera helped me to greatly increase my programming knowledge in the past.

By Yusuf O

Dec 31, 2023

The course is well-designed and covers a wide range of topics. The instructor is clear and concise, and the course materials are easy to follow. One of the things I liked most about the course is that it is very hands-on. Students are given plenty of opportunities to practice with real-world examples. This helped me to learn the material quickly and efficiently. Another great thing about the course is that it is self-paced. This means that students can learn at their own speed and take their time to master the material. I also appreciated that the course is offered online, which made it easy to fit into my busy schedule. Overall, I highly recommend this Course to anyone who wants to learn about foundation of data quickly and effectively. It is a great course for both beginners and experienced users alike. Pros: Comprehensive and well-designed course, Clear and concise instruction, Real-world examples and hands-on exercises, Self-paced and online format. Cons: None that I can think of!

By Muhammad U

Apr 23, 2023

I recently completed the Google Data Analytics Course 1, and I have to say, I was very impressed with the content and structure of the course. The instructors were knowledgeable and engaging, and the course materials were well-organized and easy to follow.

One thing that stood out to me was the emphasis on hands-on practice and real-world examples. Each module included interactive exercises and case studies that helped me apply the concepts I learned and see how they could be used in a professional setting.

Another aspect of the course that I appreciated was the flexibility. The self-paced format allowed me to complete the course on my own schedule, and the online platform made it easy to access the materials and track my progress.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Google Data Analytics Course 1 to anyone looking to develop their skills in data analysis. It provides a solid foundation in key concepts and tools, and the practical exercises help to reinforce and deepen understanding.

By KARAN S

Jul 4, 2022

Today I completed first step towards Data Analytics. Before taking this course, I spent a lot of time in Excel and SQL so as to prepare myself for this course. But contradictory to this, Till now i hardly touch Excel or SQL in the course (as per course curriculum). Because this course is created so that we can know "Why we are doing analysis?" before doing analysis. In this course I learned about Data Analysis Processes, Analytical Skills, Analytical Thinking, Data Life Cycle and much more. Among these topics, the topic which i like the most is "Ask" Phase- Where we Ask effective questions, define a problem, communicate with others. And the most challenging topic for me is Data Bias - Fair/Unfair Analysis. I found it complicated, because there is no correct way to determine Fair/Unfair analysis. Hopefully, as I continue my course, I will understand more about it. Thank You Coursera - Google Data Analytics Certificate for providing this amazing course.

By Owen E

Nov 9, 2021

It was an excellent entry into data analytics for someone who has never even explored the subject before. Learned a lot of the core foundations that go into data analytics but it didn't feel like it was holding my hand too much. They provided tonnes of resources and reading materials that not only helped during the first stage of the course, but that I know will help for later on. Excited to continue! I've tried online courses before and always ended up being bored or overwhelmed with the workload. The way this course is structured makes it so easy to jump in and out of and the lack of pressure from tutors and none of those screaming bold, red "MISSED DEADLINE" headers on your page made this a very relaxing and enjoyable course to do. I'm not one for sticking with things and completing them, but being able to jump in and out of the course any time and do whatever work whenever I wanted to do it has motiviated me to continue. Really enjoyed it!

By Emily G L

Mar 29, 2021

This course is a wide-lens view of what data analytics is and how it is done. At first I was a bit frustrated, because it felt like I wasn't learning any hard skills. But then I realized that this kind of information is really important to understand before jumping into learning about specific tools like SQL or Tableau. I needed to understand WHY I need these tools, and where they fit into the overall job of a data analyst, in order to fully appreciate and take advantage of learning in future courses. This course also served to fill in gaps in my knowledge that I didn't know that I had, such as the different between a data analyst and a data scientist. Overall, though it didn't teach me hard skills that I can put on my resume, I think that it really set me up to better understand why I am taking these courses (which will help me to stay motivated to complete the certificate) as well as make me excited about the role of an analyst in general.

By Mohamed H

May 12, 2023

I'm really impressed with how approachable and user-friendly it is. As someone who doesn't have any prior knowledge or experience in data analysis, I was a bit intimidated by the subject matter at first. However, the course does an excellent job of breaking down complicated concepts into manageable pieces, and explaining things in a way that's easy to understand.

What I appreciate most about this course is that it doesn't assume any prior knowledge of the field. All you need is a willingness to learn and a motivation to dive into the material, and the course takes care of the rest. I also really appreciated the step-by-step approach to learning, which helped me build my skills gradually and avoid feeling overwhelmed.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in learning more about data analysis, but doesn't know where to start. Thanks to Google for putting together such a fantastic resource!

By Andrew F

Jun 15, 2023

The structure of this course is to the point, but I wish there were more optional things such as more examples provided on paper to stare at and comprehend rather than examples I have to listen to. The videos often demonstrate with insightful graphic, but my problem is I have to go back in the video to get the full context when on paper I could just stare and go up a few text lines. It would provide a much easier experience when going through examples.

I would also like to see in future courses the ability to do my own research. What I mean by this is that when I'm stuck on a question I don't have a teacher to reach out at that moment in time and I fear that if I look up the question I'm stuck on that I will stumble across a library with all of the answers and fail the course. Please give us more professional and credible resources to use.

My time here in general was a pleasant one, a well earned five stars, thanks!

By Muhammad T K

May 31, 2023

This course is great for someone really new to data analytics. I know some MS Excel so the parts that covered spreadsheets were a refresher to the very basics of it. There was some SQL exercises but they were not covered that much, only the very introduction; also they gave resources to explore more regarding Google Sheets and SQL which you can really build upon. The course goes on the more theoretical side of data analytics and does not cover the practical applications of using the tools in greater detail. It makes sense as there are other dedicated courses in this program which go in practical application of the tools in more detail; this is a foundational course.

So as starting out in data analytics, this course is for you.

Also I need to point out that there should be an effective notification system in Discussion Posts that if someone comments on or likes your post, at least you get notified.

By ML

Sep 25, 2022

This course was very educational. It's a well-thought-out course. I really like the short and simple quizzes. It helped me remember the materials better.

I would like to share one of my experiences during my time in school. In one of my classes, for our weekly assignment, we had to finish 50 to 100 problems in two days. We were so worried about not completing the assignment on time that we all forgot to understand the materials. We did the work, but we were too exhausted and we don't even remember how we got the answers lol. The majority of students failed this class. When I retook this course with another instructor, we only had around 5 homework problems. This instructor focused more on the students understanding the materials. Quizzes and Tests were very short and simple too. At the end of this course, majority of the students passed. This Google courses reminds of this wonderful class.

By Asmath J

Sep 7, 2023

Foundations of data analytics is a very helpful and beginner friendly. I was able to learn how data analysts work and what role the data analysis play in various industries like Tech, healthcare, Marketing ,Finance, Healthcare and Government. I learned how we can observe the trends and patterns in the collected data to get the insights to take data driven decisions. We can understand the problem and opt an solution by defining it. How the series of data lifecycle helps in data analysis which involves six phases Ask, Prepare, Analyze, Share, Act. The analytical skills which we require to understand the context and having a technical mindset. Using of data visualization tools to Visualize of data to help the stakeholders understand the complex data. Usage of spreadsheets and charts. SQL basics helped in understanding the queries. The different fileds and roles analysts can work.

By Atul G

Jan 14, 2022

The best way for a newbie to be introduced to Data Analytics.

This course outlines what it means to be a data analyst and all that it involves in a very simple-to-understand way. Its simplicity should not be confused for a lack of content, which is plentiful and key concepts are handily explained. The course has a regular speaker guiding the learner through the various topics. Regular short quizzes and learning exercises ensure that the learner engages at appropriate intervals. There is a final test and certificate to be gained at the end but it also serves as a signpost that there is an exciting world on the horizon just waiting to be dived into by our budding data analyst in training.

I'm a working junior data analyst and the apprenticeship I completed a couple of years ago did not have such an effective introduction to the field as this course has. Very impressed.

By Niall G

Sep 8, 2022

This has been very good to do as a refresher. I did full time msc in data analytics 3 years ago, did a year in consulting, and took a career break, so this has been great to refresh on fundamental concepts and has focussed on practical aspects too where as my course was very data science - maths, stats, java/python/r/spark/db and applied ml algorithms /ml model evaluation-heavy throughout which was great from practical handson perspective, but this has been great at providing other angles on data analytics that math and code-heavy courses can skim over especially bias and ethics considerations and it's perfect for me as a refresher on topic as it keeps you focussed and learning within a structure. I like the repeat and timed challenges of the quizes and graded assignments. Ensures you pay attention to learning and understanding topics.

By emma b

Oct 7, 2021

Fabulous start for a newbie. Amazing presenter - I thought he might be there throughout the full certification but only in this course one so far. There is such as wide range of topics covered in this course. It will clarify if the course is for you or not (in my case yes - huzzah!). It defines expectations and does exactly what a foundation course should do in preparing students for what is to come. It is exciting and honest- it doesn't glamorize this industry. If you are completely new to this I would say add in a few extra hours of self learning to check out the links provided - it's worth the effort. Even if you ultimately decide data analytics is not your jam, this is still a very worthwhile all around interpretation of DA fundamentals, introducing us to a platform that affects all of us, every day, always has and always will.

By Carlos B

Apr 25, 2021

I took this course as part of the Google Professional Data Analytics Certificate and I can say this is one of the best introductory courses I've ever had. This is the introduction to data analysis that I wish I had a my first job. The basic concepts of data analysis are clearly explained and illustrated with hypothetical scenarios and examples throughout the whole course. The videos are clear and contain subtitles, so they are easier to follow if English is not your first language. There are quizzes at the end of each week so you can review all the content you learn and if you missed anything you can always go back to the content and read or watch the videos again. And the best thing is that you can do all of these at your own pace. Overall, I am very happy with the course and I look forward to finishing my professional certificate.

By Ifiok E

Jul 23, 2022

From a total beginner perspective, this course really helped me understand the fundamentals, processes and practices used by entry level data analysts in their day-to-day jobs, I also now know various terms, definitions and concepts relating to data analysis, I can now think better analytically, gained some analytical skills and had some basic experience with the tools required for data analysis.

The mode of presentation using videos, reading and practice quizzes really helped imprint the concepts learned. I have now created a culture of consciously asking the right questions, capturing, storing, processing and analysing data that I create in my daily personal life to help me make better informed data-driven decisions.

This is indeed beginner friendly and no prerequisite knowledge of the subject is required. I highly recommend it.

By Sekhar C

Aug 8, 2022

This course is designed as so intrestingly, which really creating a energy to lern more and more. That the reasone maybe, however i feel that share here and lacture comes to explain time to time that also very effectful and very much impresive manner on learning area and Tony Sir always nicely clear all data point. And this is also creating motivation and my mind like to say stay tune listen whole the lacture of Tony Sir and if i got oppertunity on google as Jounior Analyst I like to work with Tony Sir's team and i feel he only can help me to reach my goal. From to day first he created motive on lacture, how is that actually my minde always saying same words but unable to speek perfectly when see that Tony Sir saying with workds me became surprised. So like to say Specifically thanks give to the google team and Tony Sir.

By Kyle P

Nov 3, 2021

From personal experience: This Google data analytics course explains the process and gives you the scaffolding you need to use more advanced concepts. (The talking head videos from different Googlers in different fields feels like a warm environment. I still rewatch some of their tips, especially the one from Cassie.) Which is great in my opinion for beginners. I appreciate the synthesis of the whole process. (In other computer science and programming courses elsewhere, I felt thrown into the deep end into nitty gritty technical details that I had to idea what they were for. I'm glad we don't obsess over syntax at first). The con is it may lack technical depth, which is okay I think, you can learn that in many other places. Learning the basics and their appropriate context in a solid way is a great foundation.