Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
100,970 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

AD

Jun 6, 2022

As a beginner I am feeling great to choose this course. All the concepts has been presented in such a easy and simple manner, everything is perfectly arranged that's make ease our learning. Thank you.

SC

May 13, 2022

I really love how they explain concepts about data, share experience , easy to understand and improved my foundation about data. The assignments and quizzes really helped me in undestanding the course

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Ginger Y

Jan 26, 2024

I hope Google could use AI software to spot and filter learners who just use nonsense, "hi" "great", or copy & paste for the ungraded assignments (on discussion board). It really makes me sad when I browsed through them trying to "comment on at least two replies and discuss" . Also I won't know if anyone commented to my answers? Do I have to go back persistently to check if someone commented on me? Last but not least, in the "Meet and Greet" section, how do we connect to each other? It's not recommended that we leave private contact info there. Thanks in advance for answering! I really love these courses just hope the above issues could be addressed. Thanks again!

By Draguti O

Jul 22, 2023

One of the best structured courses i have ever done ,it really introduces you to the foundation necessary for this job .

Very clear and simple i would say ,also with people that are actually experts in this field .

The think i loved the most was all of the tutors were very humble ,i apprecciate people that are able to be humble even do they are very intelligent .

My rate is based not on facts ,but more about how they make you feel as a beginner troughout the course ,i felt apprecciated ,understood and most of all encouraged to be myself with all the thinks i do not know ....

Do the course ,you will understand at the end why helps you in your path ,this is a first step.

By dafe e

May 27, 2023

Course Review: Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

"Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is an enlightening course that covers a wide range of data-related topics. The content is well-structured, with a good balance between theory and practical applications. The instructors are knowledgeable and engaging, using real-world examples to illustrate concepts. The course emphasizes ethical considerations in data handling. The platform is user-friendly, allowing for seamless navigation and interaction with peers. More hands-on projects could enhance the learning experience. Overall, I highly recommend this course for those seeking a solid understanding of data fundamentals.

By U-CHEN Y

Feb 5, 2022

Thank you very much Google Team for creating this amazing course!

I have gained a deeper understanding of data analysis. The program is awesome for people who want to develop or change their career in data analysis. Before I began the course, I thought data analyst is only for people who have a technical background to do, not like me from non-tech background. After I began this course, I realized that even though you don't have any tech experience, you can still be a data analyst if you have a strong passion for it! Obtaining this Cert is just the beginning. I still have a long way to go. I am so excited to start this journey and develop more skills in data analyst.

By Lars M

Sep 17, 2023

This introductory course provides a solid foundation in understanding the role of data in decision-making, both in everyday life and within organizations. It thoroughly covers key concepts in data analytics, the data ecosystem, and the tools used in the trade. The course not only lays out the learning objectives clearly but also outlines principles and practices that will aid in successfully completing the certification. One of its strengths is its practical approach, emphasizing the real-world applications of data analytics. I found the course engaging and informative, and I look forward to the next course on this path to becoming a Certified Google Data Analyst.

By Aleta B M

Jul 18, 2023

This is an excellent course and needs to be taught at the high school level. I have discovered that most of my work life included data analysis and business analysis. I had never been trained on the process, tools, and skills that would have made my business career more successful. I was lucky in that I had the mindset, research capability and patience to solve problems with out the process or tools. I had to learn the tools. I had to learn to use technology and not manual spreadsheets. I had to learn how to solve problems by searching the data I had for answers. All of these processes I followed would have been simplified with data analytics knowledge.

By Shruti U

Feb 23, 2022

The course is really helpful if you are a beginner and want to enter the data field job. this course gives an overview of the various data jobs available and the similarities and differences between these jobs. It gives you various scenarios and case studies so you can think and analyse the problems of your own and which helps to develop your probem solving skills and decision making skills and to derive into a solution. Absolutely enjoyed each class and tests in the process. Hats of to the creators of this course ,and also the educators for their lovely input and sharing their insights in the most wonderful and yet simple way. Thankyou very much.

By Terrell C

Aug 3, 2022

This course was put together extremely well! The notes feature made it easy for me to focus on the video content and not missing anything due to having to type or write down what was said by the narrator. The notes feature does that for you and is a genius feature!

The material made it easy for you to retain the knowledge by reinforcing mini quizzes, as well as provide a brief review of the important material before you start your quizzess and assessments. If you stay consistent with the video lectures and readings, the course is designed in a way that easily helps you retain the information when it's time to do the quizzes.

Overall Great Course!

By lucasmetro

Dec 8, 2022

Wonderful opening to the overall course. I think it reinforced the basics most people taking this course will already know in a way that does not talk down to you.

I have been a general/risk analyst for a year and a half now so there was not much in the course that I did not have a general idea of. But it really put that general knowledge into a structure that can be built on. I am currently on the "data, data everywhere" course and I can really feel where the course is building on itself. And there were plenty of things I knew but never considered like whether data should be safely stored or destroyed when I have finished the data life cycle.

By William S

Jun 9, 2023

It's a simple to follow course with videos that are quite insightful and make the course more enjoyable as you continue to work through it. Seeing individuals who currently work for google along with insights from professionals working within or close to the field of data analytics is a confidence booster for sure! This further affirms in me that this is not only an upcoming and exciting field, but something that I can learn and master as I continue to work through the course. If you're on the fence about learning something new, don't be............jump in and see the possibilities that are to come on the other side. A true adventure awaits!

By Tracey

Jan 16, 2022

I absolutely love the diversity in the presenters for each of these courses in the program. The presenters were very knowledgeable but were excellent in breaking down the information in a beginner-friendly manner. There was so much content, but possible to learn and understand. I really loved the interactive lessons that gave the learner the plenty opportunity to practice the new content within each lesson. I really enjoyed this program that helped me to learn what I needed to learn without feeling overwhelmed. It was also extremely helpful that the design of the new information was always presented in a manner that real-world applications.

By Anna H

Jun 13, 2022

I really enjoyed this course for a number of reasons. I appreciate how there were multiple ways of learning--videos (visual and auditory) as well as reading and hands on approaches where we had to complete our own SQL functions and formulas. I also really appreciated how encouraging the "instructors" were--reminding students that they and everyone starts from the beginning and encouraging us to keep going and know that we will be successfull if we keep trying. I learned a ton and it was a lot more approachable than I imagined. I was intimidated before I began and I feel a lot more confident now. Thank you for making a great course. On to #2

By Abdul A

Jul 28, 2023

Great course that provides a good big picture of data analysis and related concepts, as well as practical experience with some important tools. The best aspect of the course is earnest effort on part of the team to provide a positive and effective way to help one throughout the course. I find the distribution of the course as well as the time windows and difficulty levels of the assessments as very appropriate. As the course tends to provide a big picture, I find it vital on part of the learners to practice or revise some concepts as the course presents them, especially if they are not very good at forming mental images and memorizing.

By Ijadele A O

Aug 9, 2022

This course is an insightful one for anyone who's just kick starting a career in data analysis. This course has equipped me with the foundational knowledge about who a data analyst is, basically what data analysis entails and various career paths in data. I've learnt how to ask effective questions in identifying a business problem with the use of the five whys that further helps to get answers to the root of the problem which would then guide me in choosing the kind of data I should gather with fairness. Also, I learnt about data visualization using Tableau and how I can use spreadsheet to record, sort and analyze my daily activities.

By Ogunleye A S

Aug 23, 2022

Well, let me welcome myself fully to the world of data,the course went beyond my expectations.

im so happy to be a part of this course,i must say im so impreesed.

There is more to the course but starti g like this i know i will overcome all challenges on my way as regard this course. As data analytics is concerned,im so proud im not a novice anymore.

Having learnt the phases of data, data life cycle, key data analytical tools, gut instinct, setting up spreadsheet, query languages and data visualizations among others.

Also ,discovering many career opportunities in data analytics and industries data is relevant soothes the soul to know.

By Fisseha Z W

Jan 24, 2023

It is an interesting course which I appreciate. I never expect at the time of start that the course seek a lot of engagement and commitment. But a couple of hours needed to spend to follow in a manner of serious engagement and commitment. Videos, reading materials, learning log templates its questions and required responses, quizzes and their assignments make me really astonished and love it. The life experience that encourages recording and reflecting on a table format was amazing for because I observe them now and then but I didn’t visualize after recording I found it vividly my data in terms of time, cost, and contact and so on.

By kassaye a

Jan 7, 2023

The collecting, processing, and organization of data in order to draw conclusions, make predictions, and drive informed decision-making is known as data analysis. It contains six steps, which are as follows: inquire, prepare, process, analyze, share, and act. The following is a summary of each process phase. Data analytics includes data analysis. It appears to be a word play, doesn't it? Apparently not; it has its own significance. Data analytics encompasses a larger range of concepts and definitions than data analysis. It is a data science. As a result, it encompasses data analysis, data ecosystems, and machine learning. Thanks.

By David W

Aug 6, 2021

I really learned a lot from this course. It gave me the chance to reflect on myself from a analytic point of view. I was able to think back on some of the situations I've experienced in my life and now realized, If I had applied some analysis to the life choices I've made, I probable would've had a better outcome. This course has also taught me to approach problems systematically. Using the 5 why's is a good starting point. The beautiful thing about this course is that you can take this knowledge with you throughout the rest of you life. I enjoyed this course. Looking forward to the next one. Thank you Google / Coursera.

By Deleted A

Mar 22, 2023

I loved the whole content and all Google's wonderful staff. Thanks Coursera för this chance to let me change my life into something where i'm getting so passionate for :) I have learned by now and I kept in my mind what Cassie -Decision Intelligence for Google Cloud said: The excellence of an analyst is speed. How quickly can I surf through vast amounts of data to explore it and discover the unknowns? . When you're considering data science and you're choosing which area to specialize in, I recommend going with your personality.

Yes this is my personality and I will keep challenging myself to achieve my goals :) Keep it up people!

By Tirth R

Apr 17, 2022

One word. WOW. This course really elevated, overwhelmed and encouraged me for my future aspirations. I come from a non technical background with little or no knowledge in Data Analysis, or so I thought. This course provided me all the boost I needed for me to become a Data Analyst. The methodology was really good and systematic, which I loved the most. Everything is step by step and one by one. Before you know it, you will actually end up with spending hours reading, watching and researching in this course. I hope on becoming an Analyst myself and this course will always be a part of me. Thank You Google and Thank You Coursera.

By Zoltan H

Oct 2, 2022

The course is a great introduction to the world of data even for people who don't have a technical background.

It gives alternative resources learners can read to get a deeper and better understanding of the subjects of the course.

We also received a glimpse of hands-on training about how we will have to work.

I especially liked the job related part as it provides usable, real-life information.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who likes data because they will love it after the course. Tony, the main lecturer of this course was so motivating that sometimes I didn't stop learning for that day only because of his speech.

By Advit T

Apr 13, 2024

"Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" on Coursera is a comprehensive course that provides a solid grounding in the fundamentals of handling and analyzing data. The course covers essential topics such as data collection, cleaning, visualization, and basic statistical analysis techniques. With engaging lectures and hands-on exercises, learners gain practical skills applicable across various industries. The instructors' clear explanations make complex concepts easy to understand, making it suitable for beginners in data science. Overall, it's an excellent starting point for anyone looking to dive into the world of data analytics

By BILYAMINU M

Dec 6, 2022

I have taken many online courses, but this is is best I have seen.

I love the even mix of reading and video lessons which help get rid of boredom, frequent flashbacks which help me remember key concepts, the learning log which help me reflect on and apply the things I have learned, discussion prompts which give me an opportunity to share my knowledge and thoughts with fellow learners, the in-video questions, practice quizzes and graded quizzes which enable me to test out my knowledge. The course facilitators are friendly, throw in short jokes to get rid of boredom and always use encouraging and motivational words and tone.

By Mark S

Jan 26, 2024

The only thing that I saw that wasn't correct was in the one MS Excel assignment. In this assignment we had to basically make additional sibling names and sexes and then calculate the total number of siblings that we had (ex. brother, sister) The formula that was given was =c2+c3+c4 (in my case because i just made up two other siblings). i got an error message #VALUE! that it wouldn't work. The question asked how many, the #2 of brothers and sisters were shown in the spreadsheet. I then tried =counta(c2:c4) it then gave me the answer for the question 3. Just wanted to let you know. Thanks, love the course so far.

By Muhtesem O (

Jan 22, 2024

The Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere course is an excellent starting point for anyone looking to expand their career in the data-driven world. As someone who believes in lifelong learning, I found this course to be a valuable resource. The comprehensive content provides a solid understanding of foundational concepts, making it accessible for learners at all levels. Whether you're a beginner or looking to enhance your existing knowledge, the course offers a structured approach to navigating the vast landscape of data. Highly recommended for those embarking on a journey of continuous learning and professional growth!