Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
2,739 ratings

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AM

Invalid date

This course is great for people who are just starting out. The programming assignments are really great and practically introduce you to the basic concepts of reinforcement learning.

MN

Invalid date

The concepts may sound confusing in the beginning, but as you go forward you find it interesting and understanding. I suggest you completely read the reading assignments before watching the videos.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 657 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Allyson D d L

Apr 22, 2022

The course is very good! Basic but because it's only the beginning of the specialization. I am exciting to complete it.

By Evrim A

Nov 16, 2020

The course content is superb. As a suggestion, some coding and problem-solving content (as videos) would be outstanding

By Dylan R

Feb 22, 2020

Great course, reading the textbook was difficult at times, but the professors really helped me in understanding it all!

By Mohamed R M F

Jun 23, 2021

it's my first time learn what is reinforcement learning and this course really helped me to get the fundamentals of it

By Chamakoora S R

Jul 14, 2020

Not only this course was conceptually sound, it had inspirational sessions with researches who made big breakthroughs.

By AhmadrezaSheibanirad

Oct 27, 2019

This course is one of the great online course in Coursera which help people dig into reinforcement learning correctly.

By Andis R

Feb 15, 2020

Thank you very much for putting effort in this one !!! I was looking for such a course for some time already, thanks.

By Daniel R G

May 22, 2020

Genial curso, los temas dados son demasiado interesantes, a veces un poco dificiles de entender pero nada imposible.

By Bigyan K

Mar 3, 2020

Very well organized, and easy to follow with the RL book! Highly recommend this course in conjunction with the book.

By Remo H

Jan 31, 2021

Good explanations and very nice exercises. If I could wish something it would be to have more programming examples.

By Sandro H

Aug 16, 2023

It covered well the subject and helped me to understand better what is and how we practice reinforcement learning.

By Dinh-Son V

Jul 17, 2020

The presenters are amazing. Their voice are clear and charming and make you want to continue your journey into RL.

By Korosh T

May 22, 2021

Fantastic course. I learned a lot. The teachers are really great and the programming assignments are very useful.

By Mathew

Jun 7, 2020

Very well structured and a great compliment to the Reinforcement Learning (2nd Edition) book by Sutton and Barto.

By Erik S

Jan 16, 2022

Instructors have put a lot off effort into this course and I like the style of reading and high qualitiy videos!

By Abram G

Jan 12, 2022

Very good introduction to RL. every week is explained well and like stairs every week completes the week before

By Mengyong L

Aug 1, 2020

Pretty complex but really useful! I had to go through each video twice to get a good understanding of the topic

By Prudhvinath R

Dec 3, 2019

Everything is explained in detail. The theory behind each logistic is clearly explained by both the Professors.

By Ofir E

Mar 20, 2020

An amazing course! It really has a high level and follows a coursebook just as a good university course would.

By seyed h m

Sep 28, 2019

To have the best performance in the course, read the related textbook sections at the beginning of each week.

By anmar a

Apr 15, 2020

Simple and straight to the point. Great course for understanding the fundamentals of reinforcement learning.

By Justin S

Oct 6, 2019

Great class! Learned a lot with two really fun and enthusiastic professors. Looking forward to the next one.

By Sidali N

Jan 23, 2023

Great introduction course. The videos help with grasping the different concepts presented in the Textbook.

By Ivan M

Jul 11, 2020

That is awesome! The most interesting area of knowledge & engineering, the top quality education material!

By Selvaraj M

Apr 25, 2020

Very well organized and well thought videos, quiz and best of all coding assignment. Very impressive. A+++