Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
1,459 ratings
369 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT

Jul 07, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH

Apr 08, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 365 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Rudi C

May 31, 2020

A great introduction to the field of RL. The referenced textbook is amazing and the implementation of the algorithms is fun and instructive!

By braghadeesh

Jul 31, 2019

Great course and awesome instructors. Wish this course should have been announced much earlier. Thanks for offering such a wonderful course.

By Lukas S

Dec 23, 2019

Very well structured, good examples, and helpful quizzes. I think (even) more programming assignments would make the course even better.

By Kshitij B

May 22, 2020

The basics are really introduced in a manner that one can easily build upon after reading the readings provided , enjoyed the course

By Animesh

Feb 15, 2020

I found this course very interesting. The basic concepts are explained very nicely. This course is great when a RL-noob like me : D

By Mert İ

Aug 19, 2019

The concepts are explained in a very simple manner. Reading book then watching videos helps a lot to understand the essential ideas.

By Cesar A G

Jul 13, 2020

Well structured and thought examples that expand the information on the textbook. The programming assignments are very well built.

By DEVANSHU S

Sep 08, 2020

Beautifully explains concepts in an intuitive fashion, although the addition of proofs of convergence would have been great :)

By Nikhil G

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent course companion to the textbook, clarifies many of the vague topics and gives good tests to ensure understanding

By mammad m

May 09, 2020

This course was great, but I think it is not complete. I have to pass the other courses in this specialization for sure.

By Dylan R

Feb 22, 2020

Great course, reading the textbook was difficult at times, but the professors really helped me in understanding it all!

By Chamakoora S R

Jul 14, 2020

Not only this course was conceptually sound, it had inspirational sessions with researches who made big breakthroughs.

By AhmadrezaSheibanirad

Oct 27, 2019

This course is one of the great online course in Coursera which help people dig into reinforcement learning correctly.

By Andis R

Feb 15, 2020

Thank you very much for putting effort in this one !!! I was looking for such a course for some time already, thanks.

By Daniel R G

May 23, 2020

Genial curso, los temas dados son demasiado interesantes, a veces un poco dificiles de entender pero nada imposible.

By Bigyan K

Mar 03, 2020

Very well organized, and easy to follow with the RL book! Highly recommend this course in conjunction with the book.

By Dinh-Son V

Jul 17, 2020

The presenters are amazing. Their voice are clear and charming and make you want to continue your journey into RL.

By Mathew

Jun 07, 2020

Very well structured and a great compliment to the Reinforcement Learning (2nd Edition) book by Sutton and Barto.

By Lee M Y

Aug 01, 2020

Pretty complex but really useful! I had to go through each video twice to get a good understanding of the topic

By Prudhvinath R

Dec 03, 2019

Everything is explained in detail. The theory behind each logistic is clearly explained by both the Professors.

By Ofir E

Mar 20, 2020

An amazing course! It really has a high level and follows a coursebook just as a good university course would.

By Seyyed M

Sep 28, 2019

To have the best performance in the course, read the related textbook sections at the beginning of each week.

By Anmar

Apr 15, 2020

Simple and straight to the point. Great course for understanding the fundamentals of reinforcement learning.

By Justin S

Oct 06, 2019

Great class! Learned a lot with two really fun and enthusiastic professors. Looking forward to the next one.

By Ivan M

Jul 11, 2020

That is awesome! The most interesting area of knowledge & engineering, the top quality education material!