Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python by EDHEC Business School

4.8
stars
1,046 ratings
305 reviews

About the Course

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. This course provides an introduction to the underlying science, with the aim of giving you a thorough understanding of that scientific basis. However, instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. This course is the first in a four course specialization in Data Science and Machine Learning in Asset Management but can be taken independently. In this course, we cover the basics of Investment Science, and we'll build practical implementations of each of the concepts along the way. We'll start with the very basics of risk and return and quickly progress to cover a range of topics including several Nobel Prize winning concepts. We'll cover some of the most popular practical techniques in modern, state of the art investment management and portfolio construction. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods....

Top reviews

MA
Nov 29, 2020

Awesome Course, Great instructors that give a nice balance of theory and practice, the practice is very hands-on and will help you understand the theory and give you useful tools from the first week.

SW
Aug 5, 2020

I am self taught in Python and have an industry background in Finance. This course was a good connector/provided additional insight on using Python to process portfolio performance and data analysis.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 306 Reviews for Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

By Miguel A G L

Apr 18, 2020

Excelente curso para aprender las bases de la construcción de portafolios utilizando Python. Creo que existe muy pocos cursos que enfoque el conocimiento como lo hace éste.

By Harsh D

May 23, 2020

Amazing course! The instructors are very nice.

The flow of the course which is a concept video followed by a Practical Lab Session building on that concept is really good!

By Felix G G

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course. I was able to take what I learned in the course directly to my work. The course covers several relevant topics in the investment management industry.

By Anubhav L

Mar 2, 2021

Really enjoyed this course, the theory and lab sessions really complemented each other and it was a great way to be introduced to the world of Portfolio Construction.

By NADZEYA B

May 3, 2020

Very good course to get started with Python. I loved the fact that instructor was debugging "live" during the lab sessions, that's very helpful for a Python beginner.

By Jose G

Aug 17, 2020

I learned more than expected. Excellent guidance trough the course, level of complexity according to a medium python programmer, and intermediate financial knowledge

By Arthur D B

Apr 8, 2020

Really good course. It was a little bit difficult at the beginning since I did not have any knowledge in Portfolio Construction but with determination you can do it.

By Hessam M

Dec 28, 2019

Excellent course for understanding the basics of investment. However, you do need some calculus and python programming background for the course to be effective.

By John S

Jan 14, 2021

Excellent course. Lionel and Vijay were both superb. The quality of finance instruction beautifully complemented the Python coding seminars. Highly recommended!

By Wing H T

Dec 29, 2020

amazing course. I never thought diversification has its limits in the way you described. But I did observe it in real life. this is an exceptional course.

By Gabor K

Apr 3, 2020

It was a decent course. Went deeper than I expected so I would not say that it is really for beginners. Python labs were interesting and really useful.

By Ngawang T

Jul 6, 2021

Pretty great course. Bit hard to finish towards the end. Both profs were great, however towards the end both of them were not on the exact same track.

By Jacopo G

Aug 10, 2021

T​his MOOC is one of the best out there with respect to applied investment management and portfolio construction. Well done and thank you sincerely!

By Papa A D

Aug 3, 2021

Great course. Liked the lectures and lab. Looking forward to the rest of the courses in the specialization and to improving my Python coding skills.

By kitiwat a

Dec 9, 2019

Eventhough, I'm new to python programming. I'm able to follow and make better understanding how we're efficiently perform LDI and CPPI simulations.

By Salvatore T

Jan 24, 2021

The course is very well explained, it starts from basics and it progress rapidly into more advanced topics portfolio theory and risk management.

By Yaron K

Oct 8, 2020

An in depth explanation of CAPM and risk measures like sharpe and drop-down , with excellent explanations of the accompanying Python notebooks.

By Juan D M G

Jan 24, 2021

Excelente curso. Tanto las lecciones teóricas como las prácticas son bastante claras y llevan de la mano al estudiante. Muy bien estructurado.

By Dan

Dec 7, 2020

one of the best investing courses out there. so exited to keep on going with the specialization. huge thanks to the lab instructor especially.

By Julio V

Apr 25, 2020

Very good course to apply finance knowledge with python. You need a good basis of finance and python to make the best out of the course

By Hernan S L

Mar 26, 2020

Excellent Course in order to get basics of Python applied to investment and risk management. Excellent Teachers! I highly recommend it!

By Bhushan B

Jun 19, 2021

One of the best video lectures which was conducted by Mr. Vijay which take you along the journey of Investments as part of a storyline

By Roshan M

Mar 29, 2020

An excellent introduction to portfolio construction and analysis. Professor Vijay is outstanding at going through the lab sessions.

By simon m

May 26, 2020

The inclusion of python coding makes this a valuable and practical course. I particularly liked Vijay's real time coding approach.