Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,619 ratings
1,390 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,381 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By John M C

Feb 16, 2020

Really poor job teaching java programming. I'm a beginner at coding at the teachers teaching this course are terrible. I don't want to take this course.

By Gargi K

Jan 29, 2020

The assignments could be a little more well suited to people from varying backgrounds.

The current assignments are a little difficult for beginners.

By Hamel H

Jan 3, 2016

Teaches you Java in a "toy" environment (Blue Jay) would be helpful to learn Java in Eclipse or another IDE that you would normally work in.

By Francois M

Jan 25, 2016

Use very specific environment that cannot be used in practice in the the Real World.

For a much better course, use UC San Diego versions.

By Kartikey p

Jul 13, 2018

Not organised properly. And it is stated that this course is for beginners. But the concepts and their usage is not properly explained.

By Ibrahim H

Oct 26, 2016

Paying for course just to learn how to loop and make if else statements... I don't think this is the best way to learn java!

By MD S H

Sep 6, 2020

VERY POORLY STRUCTURED.ASSIGNMENTS ARE LENGTHY AND TOUGH AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR IT ARE NOT CLEAR

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR BEGINNERS

By Jennifer T

Oct 3, 2019

STRONGLY DISAPPOINTED! VERY CONFUSING! DON'T PAY FOR THIS -- NOT WORTH IT! This class is very poorly designed.

By Alam M

Mar 16, 2020

I don't recommend this course at all. The example and quiz seems tedious. Worst part is using the BlueJ.

By Ryan W

Apr 3, 2016

This course is not suitable for beginners at all, everything basic is skipped. Highly not recommended

By Eiaki M

Feb 18, 2016

The course is too boring, I am not sure if it is because of the language or the lectures.

By Chirag S

May 27, 2020

WHO THE HELL TEACHES STUDENTS TO CODE IN BULEJ. Completely disappointing course.

By Ayush J

May 11, 2020

You should use universal libraries instead of using your own defined libraries.

By Sam H

Sep 10, 2020

Very confusing. Assignments went over concepts explained later in the course.

By Rida I

Aug 21, 2021

Outdated instructions and environment setup. Not beginner friendly.

By SU H

May 20, 2020

Hard to understand the concept, the explaination is so vague.

By Pranav T P

Jun 12, 2020

Old course doesn't work on ubuntu as it needs obsolete JFX

By Abdul H

Sep 14, 2020

The course is really bad for begineers

By Nadeem B

Apr 5, 2020

prograaming enivironment is not gpod

By Sai U S K

Nov 4, 2015

My expectations were different

By Aditya S K

May 13, 2020

i want to unerolll how to do

By shruti s a

Sep 14, 2021

i didnt get my certificate

By Master C

Sep 29, 2020

Too many gaps at the start

By Ms. Z

Aug 28, 2020

Not friendly for beginners

By William H

Jul 17, 2018

NOT FOR BEGINNERS AT ALL