Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,639 ratings
407 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 409 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Ruslan I

Mar 2, 2019

I believe Svetlana can speak better, this is the only problem with course. Hope you'll find some time to rerecord better audio.

By Dongchan Y

Aug 31, 2020

Though I'm not familiar with Java,

( My latest Java experience was CS101 ! )

This course helped me to learn Kotlin.

By Johan B

Mar 11, 2020

It's a good course. I miss an explanation of how it could be possible to solve the last programming assignment.

By Saswati N

May 26, 2020

Nicely explained.But I think its good for java developers only.Not that much beneficial for Android developers

By Christophe D

Sep 25, 2019

Very good course. The only annoying part is that there are no solution videos for week 3 and 4 assignements.

By Utkarsh R

Aug 1, 2020

It was really nice experience learning this great modern language and getting to know the power of Kotlin.

By Amera B A

Jun 22, 2020

this is so amazing course but give little skills to concept but was very useful for me

THANK YOU SO MUCH

By Rohit A

Oct 30, 2019

I found the course really helpful in building understanding of Kotlin being already familiar with Java.

By Vitor V

Jan 16, 2020

I had some difficult to understand instructor's english, but the content was awesome.

By Rafael A N

Jul 19, 2019

Muy buena metodologia, con ejercicios para practicar los temas aprendidos!

By Mohsen B

Aug 14, 2019

The instructor should be more fluent at English with a better accent :)

By Vladimir

Dec 6, 2021

Курс полезный. Нужно поработать над подачей материала и произношением.

By Naman M

Jul 7, 2020

This course needs to be improved and few basic things need to be added

By Thirumalvalavan

Jul 9, 2020

Nice Course. Hence, assignments should be little simple to beginners.

By richard m

Jun 20, 2019

Great course with lots of practical content and coding exercises

By Dominik H

Jan 10, 2020

Great Course experienced some bugs with uploading the solution

By Danil C

Nov 5, 2021

I'd like to see author's solutions for the 4th and 5th weeks

By Erick A

Oct 20, 2019

excelente curso te detalle cómo funciona el lenguaje Kotlin.

By rupemadeveloper

May 5, 2020

Muy buen curso para iniciarse en Kotlin. Muy recomendado.

By Besma K

Jun 11, 2019

Exercices intéressants et cours bien construit

By Mrinal K

Aug 14, 2019

the accent was a bit hard to understand.

By Andre L

Apr 10, 2019

Very nice content and fun assignments

By Riccardo P

Aug 11, 2021

I​ would do it again, just for fun

By Richard I

Jul 3, 2019

Excellent - kotlin is fun to learn