Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
161,830 ratings
41,508 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

KH
May 22, 2021

Programming exercises focus on the topics and provide you with good templates that you can easily fill in so you don't waste your time. Videos are very well done and quizzes are reasonable difficulty.

VB
Oct 2, 2016

Everything is great about this course. Dr. Ng dumbs is it down with the complex math involved. He explained everything clearly, slowly and softly. Now I can say I know something about Machine Learning

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Mostafa E

Feb 8, 2021

This is the best course I've taken! The instructor really brings intuition to all the algorithms and complicated things allowing us to really understand it.

By Hicham J

Apr 8, 2020

Very challenging and rewarding course. From concepts to hands-on experience, I enjoyed the journey and would highly recommend this course to my colleagues.

By Jorge L R C

Jun 5, 2019

Even being for a "old" course, it has the very best ground of concepts and techniques of Machine Learning. I am very much satisfied and have learned a lot.

By Danny F B L

Feb 12, 2020

This is definitively an excellent course for beginners. I am graceful with Andrew Ng for the dedication he gave for building this course. Congratulations.

By Ajay T

Jul 29, 2019

Excellent course. Discussion forum help from the mentors was super in the first half of the course but towards the end the mentors did not participate

By R S

May 15, 2021

Hi,

After this course I am feeling very confident and now can confidently make changes to my algorithms.

Thanks to Andrew for setting up these courses.

By Carlos A M A

Oct 18, 2020

Excellent course to teach the fundamentals of ML and AI. It is the best course and I recommend making the programming exercises a but longer!

By Leonardo

Jun 22, 2021

Thank you Andrew and all other involved in this outstandiing course. I also thank you for giving me the opportunity of the financial aid.

By Sohan j

Jun 6, 2019

It was an amazing experience in learning Machine learning. I learnt a lot from this course. I thank the instructor, Prof. Andrew.

By Anish K A

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent course. I am not an expert in mathematics, but this course gives me a very good understanding of ML and algorithms.

By Joydeep S

Nov 7, 2018

Excellent course. Anyone interested in Machine Learning should definitely take this course. Thanks Andrew for making this.

By Cosmin V N

Aug 7, 2015

Amazing course. Complex topics explained in a way that anyone with a rudimentary understanding of math can follow.

By Kumar N

Apr 9, 2020

One of the best Machine learning course :) Andrew's way of teaching is really a masterpiece :) Thank you Coursera

By Luka B

Jan 30, 2019

Great course, only a bit updated. Would be wonderfu if there was an update (or additional week of two) for 2019!

By 黄生

Apr 1, 2021

Thank you to the course team! Your efforts make the world more better , Let's make things better and better !

By Mai S

Jun 6, 2019

Thanks Andrew for this informative course. I am looking forward to taking deep learning specialize as well.

By Nguyễn H T

Jan 5, 2019

This course is absolutely amazing and suitable for ones who want to begin to study about Machine Learning.

By Lukas C

Oct 31, 2020

VERY GOOD!!!! BEST CLASS TO LEARN Machine Learning as a beginner and easy, pretty concise intuitions.

By Anton S

Mar 21, 2019

It's a good way to get an understanding of machine learining principles and to improve your English.

By dinh

Dec 15, 2018

Great course on Machine Learning. I learned a lot!

Thanks to Professor Andrew NG and all the mentors.

By Yu-Shih C

Jan 4, 2019

Great introductory course for Machine Learning using MATLAB/Octave. Highly recommended.

By syh

Feb 9, 2020

从机器学习新人、小白,通过这门课程充分理解了机器学习的原理,掌握了一些机器学习的技巧,并能够根据学到的知识,举一反三,应用到更复杂的机器学习算法的理解中。总而言之受益匪浅。

By runner_yang

Jul 25, 2019

Thank you sincerely! I have learned a lot through this course. I love Ng and coursera!

By Zihao Z

Feb 10, 2020

8个exercise出的非常好,程序中给的note和hint有助于理解计算过程、加深记忆。

吴恩达老师英语很有亲和力,对于我这样的英语听力一般的人来说非常友好

By Phanidhar m

May 25, 2020

It would be great if the assignments would be in python rather than octave.