Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
2,073 ratings
544 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD
Oct 22, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
Feb 21, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 531 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By GhulamMuhammad A

Nov 5, 2016

Extremely useful course, the instructor is a very experienced and a very nice person too. Highly recommended.

By Oleksii M

Sep 5, 2020

Very good and interesting course, it gives an overview of the music business and describes lots of insights.

By Diego A A E

Sep 1, 2020

Excepcionalmente increible, un curso en donde uno aprende demasiado. Imprescindible si quieres ser artista.

By Lawoko J

Sep 6, 2018

Just what I needed to Know. Thank you very much it was wonderful learning how the music industry operates.

By Alejandra P

Jan 16, 2021

Very valuable information, it was easy to understand, and the experience of the teacher was really useful.

By Aleksandr Z

Nov 17, 2020

Absolutely clear and helpful information about the industry. Huge thanks and respect for Mr. John Kellogg.

By Iordanis / Ι Σ

Aug 2, 2020

Excellent! Just take this course if whether you are a beginner or not! Well done to this great instructor!

By Angel G

Sep 29, 2019

Great course if you want to gain a general understanding of how the music industry work. 100% recommended.

By Court

Mar 16, 2018

Really helpful information and a great start to learning more about the intricacies of the music industry!

By Kael B

May 28, 2020

Absolutely phenomenal explanations of everything you need to know in the music business, thank you Jonh!

By Javier G J

Oct 31, 2019

Great introduction to Music Business and easy to understand even when english is not my native language.

By Jordan A

Mar 20, 2017

This was an amazing course that offered a veritable treasure trove of information. TAKE. THIS. COURSE!!!

By Solomon D

Jan 10, 2016

I am amazed by the information that I am learning about, and would recommend this to all of my friends!

By Jessica

Nov 2, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was easy to understand/follow - Mr Kellogg really knows his stuff.

By Siren X S

Jan 31, 2016

John P. Kellogg is fabulous. He makes this course fun and has a great presence in front of the camera.

By Giovanna M

Jun 20, 2020

Curso completo, com informações precisar, objetivas e detalhadas, professor apresenta ótima didática!

By John A M

Jan 18, 2016

One of the most important courses one can take if one is going to be in the business of making music.

By Varun H

Nov 1, 2015

Excellent Course. Got a good idea about how the music industry in America works. Wish it were longer.

By Shirley A

May 25, 2020

informative and concise. The instructor was very soothing to the ear and enjoyed his storytelling.

By Mikhail M

Jun 22, 2017

I found this course to be very important and useful for myself. Thank you for putting it together.

By Nesirosan N T

Jan 4, 2017

Now I know better and I can approach my career in a more professional way.

Thank you very much sir.

By Conor M

Apr 20, 2020

Great lecture videos & John does a great job of providing his own and historic industry examples.

By Ruchit M

Sep 20, 2015

interesting course content. helps understand the core concepts behind the music business. cheers!

By Pau B M

Dec 26, 2018

Simple, fast and very useful to dip your toe and get to known the basics of the music business!

By Onur A

Nov 16, 2020

John P. Kellogg is a very good narrator I think. He made me feel living some cases. Thank you!