Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
2,152 ratings
573 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD
Oct 22, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
Feb 21, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 558 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Andre F

Oct 11, 2015

awesome!

By Libas

Apr 15, 2021

Amazing

By Alexandra S

Dec 25, 2020

Awesome

By Eddie S

Apr 22, 2019

awesome

By sarah o

Nov 8, 2017

AMAZING

By Georgia D

Dec 28, 2015

awesome

By Sujith H

Dec 11, 2015

Awesome

By Jhon C L M

Jul 28, 2020

Great!

By William A

Jul 5, 2020

Genial

By Laís L

Jan 20, 2017

Ótimo!

By VasileiosDaradimos

Feb 19, 2021

nice!

By Mario A G Z

Sep 7, 2020

great

By LUIS F B A

Jul 3, 2020

great

By Steve V

Nov 29, 2017

great

By GLORIYA V

Aug 23, 2020

Good

By Xufeng Z

Jul 30, 2020

nice

By Théo T

Feb 8, 2019

Top!

By Saisadan D

Jul 26, 2020

jkn

By Cynthia A A

Jan 18, 2019

EXC

By Hai y

Jun 8, 2018

Tq

By Yolanda A P G

Oct 13, 2019

E

By ameya h

Dec 3, 2018

A

By Eric M F

Feb 17, 2016

E

By Adam M

Dec 11, 2020

A great first step in a career in music business! Looking forward the the continued courses for the specialization. Area's of improvement: At many times I found that the course was too heavily focused on the American music industry. Throughout various studies in Canada we always try to look at industries globally, especially as the world becomes more connected. I would have liked examples and incite into what other countries are doing. The course is also a little dated (I would guess around 2013). I don't think a major overhaul is necessary, but even some footnotes under each video mentioning important changes since the course was published. Thank you Berklee for this fabulous opportunity, I really appreciated it!

By Laura J C R

Apr 8, 2020

Es un buen curso si tu nivel de conocimiento es bajo o muy bajo. Personalmente, sin haber estudiado nada de producción musical pero entendiendo de la industria del cine y audiovisuales, para mí ha sido un aprendizaje demasiado básico. Pienso que el profesor se centra mucho en hablar de sus logros y de su carrera, casi como si se estuviera haciendo propaganda, y desde el punto de vista de alguien que no lo conoce y que busca más una formación que no una entrevista con él, es cansino. Esto no quita que haya aprendido mucho, y que ahora pueda decir que realmente entiendo las bases de la industria musical y su funcionamiento.