Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
1,227 ratings
303 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD

Oct 23, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK

Feb 22, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 289 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Javier G J

Oct 31, 2019

Great introduction to Music Business and easy to understand even when english is not my native language.

By Yolanda A P G

Oct 14, 2019

E

By Basetsana S D

Oct 23, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

By Peter S

Nov 30, 2016

Phenomenal course!

By Yves S

May 08, 2018

Very informative and interesting. Very well presented, thank you!

By Youchun N

Oct 06, 2018

The video and audio quality is excellent. The professor's style of lecturing is both professional and easy for understand.

By Cesar P

Nov 25, 2015

Great course, expected from Berklee.

By Javier V G

Nov 30, 2015

Amazing course! I strongly recommend it for all, musics, engineers and producers.

By Reagan E

Jun 14, 2017

Everybody should check this course.It's very useful.

By Hai y

Jun 08, 2018

Tq

By Raul B G

Dec 23, 2015

Un curso excepcional para hacerse con una radiografía general de lo que fue, es y será la industria musical. El profesor es genial. Le pongo un 10.

By Rocio R

Aug 10, 2016

Great information by people that are really in the industry

By Luis G

Nov 02, 2015

Uno de los cursos más interesantes y enriquecedores que he tomado. Totalmente recomendado si quieres conocer verdaderamente cómo opera la industria musical en nuestros días y qué oportunidades de negocio, emprendimiento o empleo hay dentro de la misma.

By Kenyc M

Dec 03, 2015

This course offers so much basic information about the Music Business!

I recommend this class for anyone that is interested in the foundations of the music business - especially if you are an artist, or interested in starting your own business within the music industry (indie label, publication, radio, etc.) - take this course :)

The professor is clearly knowledgeable in this field, and has great experiences that he draws from to use as examples for certain aspects of the music business.

Overall (in case you can't tell already), I love this course!

Thanks Coursera and Berklee :)

By Daniel G A

Oct 07, 2015

Excelent!!

By Charmagne C

Feb 18, 2016

Great course with excellent and helpful information!!

By Varun H

Nov 02, 2015

Excellent Course. Got a good idea about how the music industry in America works. Wish it were longer.

By LUCAS P F

Jul 28, 2019

A great opportunity to understand Music Business in a challenging way! Totally recommend it!

By Joseph k

Apr 18, 2017

Thankyou

By Barbara F

Mar 18, 2016

I loved this course! I learned so much about the music business, more than I learned as being a part of it as an artist roughly about the same time that Mr. Kellogg was working as an artist. Things have changed a lot and this course made me think about how it might change even more in the future and if there might be a place for an "older doll" like me. John Kellogg is a great teacher. He sited real experiences, and that's what made things stick for me. Thank you Coursera for a great course!

By Steve V

Nov 30, 2017

great

By Fernando Y

Oct 03, 2016

great eye opener about the industry...

By Emmett H F

May 09, 2016

Should be renamed "how to not get screwed in the music industry"

By Jeleesa B

Mar 31, 2016

Very informative!

By Olalekan A

Oct 09, 2016

Very Perfect for scope. I really learned a lot and took notes which, i will be blogging about.