Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
1,285 ratings
315 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD

Oct 23, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK

Feb 22, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 301 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Fernando G S

Mar 25, 2020

Excellent!

By Teona G

Nov 18, 2016

BRILLIANT!

By Carlos C

Nov 29, 2015

Excellent!

By Daniel G A

Oct 07, 2015

Excelent!!

By Balaji N

Nov 16, 2015

i like it

By Daniel B

Sep 28, 2015

Excellent

By mansi g

Dec 20, 2018

its easy

By Siyabonga N

Apr 25, 2018

Love it.

By Joseph k

Apr 18, 2017

Thankyou

By Andre F

Oct 12, 2015

awesome!

By Eddie S

Apr 22, 2019

awesome

By sarah o

Nov 08, 2017

AMAZING

By Georgia D

Dec 28, 2015

awesome

By Sujith H T

Dec 11, 2015

Awesome

By Laís L

Jan 20, 2017

Ótimo!

By Steve V

Nov 30, 2017

great

By Théo T

Feb 08, 2019

Top!

By Cynthia A A

Jan 18, 2019

EXC

By Hai y

Jun 08, 2018

Tq

By Yolanda A P G

Oct 14, 2019

E

By ameya h

Dec 03, 2018

A

By Eric M F

Feb 17, 2016

E

By Brett M H

Aug 14, 2018

You learn a lot in a short amount of time. John Kellogg introduces you to his awesomely funky pass and it's very cool. He is an educator that provides you with a history of the industry and how to protect yourself. Ultimately, out of all these courses, I thought this was really helpful. My first course here at Coursera, and it allowed me to want to take more. John Kellogg provides a lot of tangible information and ideas based on his experiences and it's clear that his trajectory as an artist led him to pursue the legal and business side of music. He is awesome, so is this course.

By Nishanth v

Oct 26, 2015

Really loved the structure of the course.John kellog's lectures are even though they are a bit boring in the initial stages, they are very important and they create an life long impact on you if you try to focus.I love the way how berklee professors just carry the whole course just sitting with a black background.It needs great skills and experience to have such confidence in presenting a lecture like that..I'm always thankful to coursera for providing this educational courses. Coursera and Berklee college of music for life!

By Sander V

Oct 07, 2017

Very good overview of the current state and history of the music industry. Very eloquent teacher, but for max efficiency increase speed to 1.25/1.5. Only downsides is the major focus on the US market. Although somewhat applicable to European and Asian markets, I do believe certain aspects are different in these markets and could be pointed out in extra course material.