Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
1,246 ratings
305 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD

Oct 23, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK

Feb 22, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

276 - 291 of 291 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Troy Z C

Jan 10, 2016

Very intellectually stimulating, practical yet easy to understand for beginners in this area.

By Rebekah C

Oct 08, 2015

It is a very good course so far. Thank you so much for the opportunity to take it. (:

By Reinaldo H O

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent course, you get amazing information and valuable guidelines for free!

By Felicia O C

Jan 12, 2017

Excelente curso, cumplio con mis expectativas, lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Carlos B

Nov 17, 2015

Very good! Really help me understand the music market better! =)

By Bolun Z

Nov 01, 2015

It's a nice course! It'd be better if more caption is available.

By César G S

Jul 23, 2016

Interesting, could be more didactic next time. Props.

By Jonathan G

Jan 10, 2018

interesting. I learned a lot in this course.

By Alex B

Feb 26, 2018

Excelente para principiantes en el tema

By William J I

Sep 05, 2017

Do I receive a letter grade?

By felipe

Oct 28, 2018

Give a notion of everything

By Gerdus L

Mar 13, 2019

I don't give full marks

By Ajayi J J

Sep 28, 2015

Insightful

By Angela B

Dec 29, 2016

I definitely learned a few new things with this course but was hoping to learn some cutting edge tips on how to differentiate yourself as an artist with modern technology and how to build your fan-base online. It would be great to have tips on what to do on a day-to-day basis as an artist in the digital age. I also wish that the course covered more on how to avoid being "shelved" by a label or management company.

By Peter K

Apr 27, 2016

Good, but I expected more...

By Aurora D

Sep 16, 2015

The subject of this course is awesome and very interesting. But the effort that Berklee put into it is nothing compared to what they give to students, on their official website. I completed a Certificate with Berklee online and I do not recommend this course - but I do recommend Berklee Online courses, with written lessons and interactive works!

P.s.: the videos stop all the time and this makes it harder to follow what the teacher is saying!