Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
1,300 ratings
318 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD

Oct 23, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK

Feb 22, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 307 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By ameya h

Dec 03, 2018

A

By Eric M F

Feb 17, 2016

E

By Laura J C R

Apr 08, 2020

Es un buen curso si tu nivel de conocimiento es bajo o muy bajo. Personalmente, sin haber estudiado nada de producción musical pero entendiendo de la industria del cine y audiovisuales, para mí ha sido un aprendizaje demasiado básico. Pienso que el profesor se centra mucho en hablar de sus logros y de su carrera, casi como si se estuviera haciendo propaganda, y desde el punto de vista de alguien que no lo conoce y que busca más una formación que no una entrevista con él, es cansino. Esto no quita que haya aprendido mucho, y que ahora pueda decir que realmente entiendo las bases de la industria musical y su funcionamiento.

By Brett M H

Aug 14, 2018

You learn a lot in a short amount of time. John Kellogg introduces you to his awesomely funky pass and it's very cool. He is an educator that provides you with a history of the industry and how to protect yourself. Ultimately, out of all these courses, I thought this was really helpful. My first course here at Coursera, and it allowed me to want to take more. John Kellogg provides a lot of tangible information and ideas based on his experiences and it's clear that his trajectory as an artist led him to pursue the legal and business side of music. He is awesome, so is this course.

By Nishanth v

Oct 26, 2015

Really loved the structure of the course.John kellog's lectures are even though they are a bit boring in the initial stages, they are very important and they create an life long impact on you if you try to focus.I love the way how berklee professors just carry the whole course just sitting with a black background.It needs great skills and experience to have such confidence in presenting a lecture like that..I'm always thankful to coursera for providing this educational courses. Coursera and Berklee college of music for life!

By Sander V

Oct 07, 2017

Very good overview of the current state and history of the music industry. Very eloquent teacher, but for max efficiency increase speed to 1.25/1.5. Only downsides is the major focus on the US market. Although somewhat applicable to European and Asian markets, I do believe certain aspects are different in these markets and could be pointed out in extra course material.

By Leonardo C

Dec 23, 2017

Interesting course. It gives you a wide notion of roles in music industry and how the recording and live performance market has evolved during the year. The only problem is that it is extremely focused on US market and it's particular laws

By Elysia S

Dec 08, 2015

A very informative introductory course, providing basic knowledge and overview of practices in the music business. Particularly useful for artists who want to be educated on the financial and legal aspects in managing music career.

By Zachary M

Oct 19, 2016

This course is very informative about the financial aspects of the music industry. It's sometimes hard to keep my eyes open during the videos, but I think that has more to do with the subject matter than John's presentation.

By Olga S

Jun 12, 2017

The course is good. But I would like to hear something about rights in digital music, rights for cover versions. Is it possible to add this information to the course? Would be great.

Thank you

By Jimmy T

Nov 03, 2016

Very complete for artists, a little less adapted for professionals from outside US but gives you solid understanding of the industry.

By Mia H

Nov 08, 2017

The information provided in this course is very straight forward and easy to understand. Having the text on-hand has been

By Henrique P

Mar 13, 2018

A good presentation of fundamental topics of how the music business is by a cool and experienced lecturer, Mr. Kellog.

By LEONARDO S

Jun 23, 2017

se necesita traducción al español por cierta terminología que hace mas difícil el aprendizaje

By Troy Z C

Jan 10, 2016

Very intellectually stimulating, practical yet easy to understand for beginners in this area.

By Aditya P

Feb 20, 2020

The course taught me a lot about Music and the business that goes around in producing it.

By Rebekah C

Oct 08, 2015

It is a very good course so far. Thank you so much for the opportunity to take it. (:

By Reinaldo H O

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent course, you get amazing information and valuable guidelines for free!

By Felicia O C

Jan 12, 2017

Excelente curso, cumplio con mis expectativas, lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Carlos B

Nov 17, 2015

Very good! Really help me understand the music market better! =)

By Bolun Z

Nov 01, 2015

It's a nice course! It'd be better if more caption is available.

By César G S

Jul 23, 2016

Interesting, could be more didactic next time. Props.

By Jonathan G

Jan 10, 2018

interesting. I learned a lot in this course.

By Alex B

Feb 26, 2018

Excelente para principiantes en el tema

By William J I

Sep 05, 2017

Do I receive a letter grade?