Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
1,300 ratings
318 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD

Oct 23, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK

Feb 22, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 305 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Mark A U

Jan 04, 2016

this is a very excellent course. I am going to recommend this course to anybody interesting in being a recording artist. or getting into the music busi

By Sónia S

Dec 16, 2018

This is a fundamental course for anyone that wishes to pursue a career in the music industry, no matter what role you aim to play, this is a must do.

By Raul B G

Dec 23, 2015

Un curso excepcional para hacerse con una radiografía general de lo que fue, es y será la industria musical. El profesor es genial. Le pongo un 10.

By Carlos I C V

Oct 01, 2015

Me encantó, aprendí muchas cosas nuevas sobre el negocio de la música. Me gustaría seguir aprendiendo sobre éste tema tan interesante. ¡Gracias!

By Lesley E M

Dec 25, 2016

This was a great course taught by a bright and engaging professor. I enjoyed his stories about the business and learned much from this course.

By reynaldo

Jan 23, 2018

excelente y muy completo, realmente te abre los ojos, si es que quieres dedicarte a la música, una excelente guia para saber cual es el camino

By Harsha S

Nov 05, 2015

The instructor was absolutely fantastic, clear, articulate and knowledgeable. Course material was well paced and adequate. Really enjoyed it.

By Joshua M

Oct 30, 2015

Dr. John Kellogg - You're simply the best! Had a great learning experience! God Bless! Thank you Berklee and Coursera for the opportunity!

By Benjamin N

Oct 29, 2015

Great course for those interested in the inner workings of the music business. I highly recommend this course to all serious musicians.

By cesar z v

Jan 18, 2017

Really good for understanding music business. I would need now an in paralel training course applied to european / spanish regulation.

By Izabella K

Jun 12, 2016

I wish this course never ended! A lot of important information and inspiration to work hard on my artists and mine career! Thank you!

By Jason P

Nov 02, 2015

Excellent instructor. Information presented very clearly with illustrative case studies and anecdotes. Very practical information.

By Adrián S P

Feb 08, 2016

Amazing course with a great techaer and a great value for any musician or producer trying to get involved into the music business.

By fahim z

Nov 09, 2015

Great Overview for anyone interested in the Music Industry & all artists trying to derive income from their intellectual property.

By Pierina N S

Oct 13, 2015

Es un curso excelente! Súper clara la información, siempre con ejemplos y es perfecta para los que somos nuevos en esta industria.

By Mochammad I K

Jun 13, 2016

This course provide great insights of the music industry. Recommended for everyone who look forward to dive into the industry.

By Mingyu J

Oct 17, 2015

It was really nice course. Hopefully there is more intense course about Music Business or basic course about Music Marketing!

By Youchun N

Oct 06, 2018

The video and audio quality is excellent. The professor's style of lecturing is both professional and easy for understand.

By Kingsley V

Aug 28, 2017

Its an excellent foundation course & was very helpful. Happy with Mr. John P. Kellogg teaching. He is an amazing faculty.

By E. W

Mar 09, 2017

In depth and informative. Allows you to progress at your own pace. Very much enjoyed this class, looking forward to more.

By Nadim J S I

Oct 05, 2018

Nicely done, well organized, super interesting material, amazing instructor. What else can i say? this course is a must

By Ramy H A

Jun 16, 2019

this course inspired me with a lot of things and i'm pretty sure that all what i learnt will change a lot in my career

By Melanie G

Feb 19, 2020

I learned so much in this course. Learning about music law opened my eyes as to how ruthless this industry really is.

By Mel

Nov 30, 2015

Knowledge plus leverage equals real power. Thank you Berklee and Professor Kellogg for this long-awaited experience.

By Alex R P

May 20, 2016

Great introduction to how to conduct your business in the music industry, with lots of tips and a great professor!