Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
2,175 ratings
578 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD
Oct 22, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
Feb 21, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 563 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Jessica R L A

Sep 29, 2020

I really learned a lot about the music business, the teacher is very clear when he explains the concepts, I recommend it a lot.

By Mochammad I K

Jun 13, 2016

This course provide great insights of the music industry. Recommended for everyone who look forward to dive into the industry.

By Paola L

Nov 28, 2020

Incredible Course! Outstanding level of teaching, very clear and engaging material - great introduction to the Music Industry

By Jorge M C

Sep 30, 2020

Muy feliz de haber culminado un curso del que estuve muy ansioso por cursar y que supero por mucho las expectativas que tenía

By Mingyu J

Oct 17, 2015

It was really nice course. Hopefully there is more intense course about Music Business or basic course about Music Marketing!

By yogyta k

Aug 29, 2020

very informative and informative and enrenching!! john kellogg is just wonderful and makes learning so fun and interesting.

By Felix D J

Jul 23, 2020

John is a great instructor. He has a clear passion for teaching. He makes the coursework interesting and easy to understand.

By Karen B

Jun 8, 2020

Was very insightful and gave a great introductory view to many business facets of the the music industry. Thanks so much!

By Youchun N

Oct 6, 2018

The video and audio quality is excellent. The professor's style of lecturing is both professional and easy for understand.

By Hansel R Z L

Oct 30, 2020

muy bueno me gusto, expando mi conocimiento. absorvo como una espoja mirame mirame como absorvo conocimiento gaaaaaaaaaaa

By Hemanth R J

Jun 7, 2020

Very practical and detailed study of how the industry works. Sir's way of explaining things makes stuff very interesting.

By Kingsley V

Aug 28, 2017

Its an excellent foundation course & was very helpful. Happy with Mr. John P. Kellogg teaching. He is an amazing faculty.

By E. W

Mar 9, 2017

In depth and informative. Allows you to progress at your own pace. Very much enjoyed this class, looking forward to more.

By Lindlee F

Feb 17, 2021

Great course, I learned a lot. All music people should know this information. Will save you a lot of unnecessary woes.

By Martha

Aug 2, 2020

No geral, voltado para o mercado dos Estados Unidos, porém dá para tirar bons ensinamentos para o mercado Sul Americano.

By Gabriel S T

May 6, 2020

Really good course, it's smooth and just the perfect scope to understand part of the big industry behind Music Business

By nadim s

Oct 4, 2018

Nicely done, well organized, super interesting material, amazing instructor. What else can i say? this course is a must

By Ramy H A

Jun 15, 2019

this course inspired me with a lot of things and i'm pretty sure that all what i learnt will change a lot in my career

By Dr. K N S

May 31, 2020

Excellent Course .. really amazing to learn about the various acts of learning music business in USA and the Globe...

By Melanie G

Feb 19, 2020

I learned so much in this course. Learning about music law opened my eyes as to how ruthless this industry really is.

By Elena P

Apr 16, 2020

Amazing course with Mr. Kellogg. Well structured, well explained and excellent storytelling. I totally recommend it.

By Atreya M

Apr 14, 2020

Loved the course! Informative and practical examples with tons of information about the intricacies of the industry.

By Mel R

Nov 30, 2015

Knowledge plus leverage equals real power. Thank you Berklee and Professor Kellogg for this long-awaited experience.

By Fabrizio M M S

Sep 30, 2020

I learned a lot about the music business, differents areas and functions. Really it's a good course and experience.

By Natália M d P

Aug 9, 2020

Thank you Berklee and John P. Kellogg for this amazing course opportunity. I've learned a lot during these 4 weeks.