Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part A

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part A by University of Washington

4.9
1,131 ratings
318 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 313 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part A

By 郑

Jan 10, 2018

very good course!

By Бунта А В

Aug 23, 2017

Excellent course. Best of all I've studied here. An interesting presentation of the material, well-planned homework. Also got a great motivation :) And, I hope I became a better programmer than I was :)

I will be glad to continue my studies in Part B

By Gao P

Jul 26, 2017

函数式编程语言非常好的入门课程,project难度适中,老师的讲解清晰。推荐先把课程Notes看一遍,尝试敲一遍Notes中的代码,然后看课程视频,会收获颇丰。

By pengwei

Feb 04, 2017

So far so good!

By walker

Sep 04, 2016

I learn many important programming language concepts here

By gavinlin

Aug 09, 2016

I learnt a lot from this course.

By blader

Mar 13, 2017

the course is fascinating

By Jingning T

Jul 04, 2018

Great content. Everything is free to access so really learnt a lot from the homework and the exam. Also the professor is really good at illustrating the concepts with simple examples.

By Eduardo M

Jul 31, 2017

Lots of fun involved. The professor is great and the homework was challenging.

By Tan S X A

Oct 17, 2017

Dan Grossman is a lovely person, and a good lecturer. His materials are good, and the homework is challenging.

By Li L

Sep 05, 2017

Perfect course! I learnt a lot!

By Priyank

Mar 26, 2017

Great to know someone is teaching ML in 2017! It was great to learn functional programming principles from the ground up. I struggled a lot with 'Functional Programming in Scala' since teaching functional programming wasn't its primary focus. Look forward to taking Part B of the specialization!

By 刘洋

May 09, 2017

编程神课!!!

By Yuehan C

Jul 31, 2017

The course and instructor are both amazing! It introduces some high level idioms in programming and is useful for all software engineers! Would highly recommend!

By Lu W

May 20, 2018

Clear, structured, well-prepared.

By Giorgi L

Sep 02, 2017

Made me understand and appreciate lambdas much more.

By Paulo J M d S

Aug 09, 2016

The best!

By Maria K

Jun 17, 2017

Good fundaments for learning new programming languages. Well prepared and challenging homeworks. I learned a lot of functional programming concepts fom this course and I am sure I will use them.

By ahmednofal

Sep 12, 2017

Great course, hoping the next one will top it

By lander

Sep 04, 2017

very helpful! Thank you for the teacher Dan and the college.

By 蔡小邦

Jun 21, 2017

very good

By Rafael L

Jun 15, 2017

Maybe the best course I've ever taken in my whole life. If you want to learn more about functional programming this is the course you're looking for. The videos and exercises are very explanatory and will give you a deep understanding about all the topics.

By Nester P

May 06, 2017

Great course! HW

Great course! The HWs were more challenging than I expected but Dan's lectures are very clear and the concepts are explained very well.

By Nitin L

Apr 05, 2017

I really appreciate the content of this course and will like to thank prof. Grossman and Coursera team for providing me an opportunity to learn.