Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part A

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part A by University of Washington

4.9
1,131 ratings
318 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 313 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part A

By Saket P

Apr 12, 2018

It is a very challenging course and great learning experience. One would be very clear on functional programming style and concepts after completing this course.

By Luke L

Feb 14, 2017

An enjoyable course about programming language theory.

By Romuald G

Oct 15, 2016

I've completed more than 30 MOOCs. This is the one I'm most proud of!

By Ervin L

Jan 30, 2017

Fantastic course from Prof. Grossman. Would recommend to anyone interested in Computer Science.

By Eduardo C R

Nov 07, 2016

Genius. Marvelous. Astounding. I have no more words.

By Feiyu L

Apr 15, 2018

such a clear introduction to Functional Programing. My fear of 'academic functional style' is totally gone, and really like recursion now.

By Andrew W

Jul 12, 2017

Excellent course.

By 李财发

Sep 24, 2016

更好的了解程序语言

By Michal Z

Jun 10, 2017

Outstanding course. Actually, it's valuable even for experienced programmers. The ideas presented in course could be used in other - mainstream languages.

By Syed G F

Sep 18, 2016

like the approach and style of teaching by Dan Grossman. Awesome !

By Avdyushenko A

Aug 22, 2017

One of the best course I have ever seen.

By Philip S S

Jan 03, 2017

This course is strongly recommended for those who wants to learn functional programming and programming languages in general.

By Igor B

Oct 10, 2016

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken before! I have got a good introduction in functional programming and understood a lot of new concepts of programming languages.

By Gergö L

Jun 26, 2017

Clear explanations, a good, fresh, functional view on programming for somebody with a heavy C background like me :) The homework also have a good level of challenge, and help solidify the concepts learned about in the videos.

By Sunil B

Jan 10, 2018

A good introduction to functional programming concepts. Lecture video and reading materials are clear and concise. Programming challenges are fair and helps internalise the concepts. The teaching & support staff are very helpful. Wish this team would offer a followup course on 'how to design programming languages'.

By Frank G

Apr 02, 2017

Fantastic course. Prof Grossman is an excellent teacher and he has done a great job assembling the subject matter. The course will help you become a more thoughtful programmer, no matter where you are in your career.

By sai

Oct 15, 2016

Great course. You can learn the most import concepts about the functional programming language

By Zhong X 钟

Oct 08, 2016

Very rewarding, worth taking. It enhanced my understanding of what is programming. I learned some principles of coding.

By Saptarshi C

Jan 07, 2017

Has been fantastic so far - hoping to purchase and complete it

By Robert M

Sep 02, 2016

Excellent coverage of the topic. Must see if you want to grasp the functional programming paradigm.

By Rongpeng L

Sep 05, 2017

Step stone for a better programmer.

By Roberto U G

Jun 20, 2017

Awesome course. A wonderful introduction to statically typed functional programming with a simple and concise language. After I took this course, Scala started to make more sense.

By Li D

Aug 25, 2016

This is the first time I'm exposed to functional programming and it is amazing.

By Krystian S

Sep 07, 2016

One of the best courses in which I've participated. Additionaly along with Tim Roughgarden my favourite professor as far as my familiarity with coursera and other mooc sites is concerned. Love to see his passion to the subject and become "infected" with it :)

By dongpeng

Sep 04, 2016

very nice, I learned a lot, THANK YOU!