Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
13,260 ratings
2,958 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 2,956 Reviews for Python Basics

By Nguyen T N M

Sep 12, 2020

The course is truly Python for everyone. It is a very good starting point for a person who has no experience with Python. All of the materials, exercises and demonstration examples are prepared in a clear and comprehensive manner.

By Bavan M Y

Oct 17, 2020

if ur looking for python course,this is the right place for you. I started this course as a guy with 0 knowledge and now i know some part of python 100%.i finished my first part of specialization

and excited to start the next one

By RMILI O

Aug 7, 2020

I highly recommend this course to those who want to enter the world of programming and who are going to start from scratch and also the teachers are well qualified which helps you not only to learn python but also to admire it !

By SREENIVASULU A

Jul 28, 2020

excellent with Textbook materials, links, videos, detailed explanations with lots of examples and practice guide and assessment. Thank you so much, instructors!! Appreciate all your great work helping others to learn technology.

By Swayam G

Jun 3, 2020

Amazing but you must do two thing to improve your course

Firstly:give only three attempts for each assignment and max of three attempts marks will be graded.

secondly:show grades on the certificate it will make more attractive.

By Mara W

May 10, 2019

This is the best introductory Python 3 programming course I have taken. My confidence in Python programming has increased tremendously since taking this course. I look forward to sitting through the next course in this series.

By Esmerelda M B D M

Aug 11, 2020

Great course! Well structured and I especially love that we get to do lots of coding practice. Thank you Coursera, UM instructors & team for making this course available & accessible remotely, highly recommended for beginners!

By Hoang L G

Aug 16, 2020

I really like the Runestone environment, it's very useful to read again and practice even though I have a few years of experience. I would be very easy for the beginner to understand how the code run/compute by using CodeLens

By SUMATHI

May 25, 2020

The explanation of the content, practice questions, assignments,etc are very much interesting and helpful to learn basics of Python 3.6. I thank the course instructors, tutors and coordinators for giving such a clear content.

By Millicent T

Jun 9, 2021

I am very grateful for such well planned and detailed materials, and a super intuitive platform for newbies like me to poke around and getting familiar with the python environment. Definitely an amazing course for beginners.

By Swathi p

Jun 21, 2020

i find this course so useful and it literally starts from the basics which is absolutely 0 % and this single python course can really make u do better in coding. In this course u can learn up to 90% day to day used python

By wwwangxinyi

Mar 6, 2020

It is quite basic for the beginner and easy to move on. I like the turtle graphic part most, partly because of the jokes the professor addressed. I will move on the learn more about coding and python! Thank you, professors!

By Gini J

Dec 29, 2019

Very informative and easy to understand course in Python.Professor Paul and Steve are amazing instructors.It helps to build strong basic concepts of Python and the Assessment are very helpful to check our programming skills

By RAHUL S

Mar 23, 2021

The course structure and practise problems was really interesting. specially the codelens feature that gives you an insight of what's going on behind the code was really helpful in understanding minor and tricky concepts.

By HECTOR P

Jul 20, 2020

An Excellent introductory course, it's amazing for then who is beginning to program and even if you already know python but have some lacks in some topics, that is also a great opportunity to review and fix your knowledge

By Don C

Apr 24, 2020

The recap practice is good, good to treat examination as the tool for reinforcing the learning rather than just assessment. The content is easy to read.

Document, video, examples and practices makes Python learning easier!

By Lucas L L

Aug 24, 2019

Altamente recomendo para todos que querem aprender Python desde o início com alta qualidade.

Excelente, ótima ferramenta (Runestone), a pronúncia dos professores é muito clara, e as provas ajudam mesmo a fixar o assunto.

By Alexandra K L

May 22, 2020

Thanks for putting together a great course which really takes you over the hill when learning programming. Careful explanations in the videos, really clever interactive textbook with coding embedded and great exercises!

By Divyansh J

May 19, 2020

Amazing course! Does an excellent job in starting from the basics of python, and building upon it, with resourceful lectures and plenty of practice options . The content and its flow help in forming strong fundamentals.

By Mak S

Aug 30, 2019

This course is really helpful for beginners who are looking to gain a deeper understanding in programming in general. plus Pyhton is a nice language and with added turtle game in this course I have played hours with it!

By Luis A Z C

Mar 27, 2021

It's a very useful and enjoyable course. The professors are freindly and his lessons are sublime, they teach you in a very constructive way and give you a lot of examples. The lessons and even the exerceises are funny.

By Todd H

Feb 9, 2021

If you are new to programming, I would recommend the "Python for Everybody" series of courses. But if you already are familiar with programming, then this course is a easygoing intro to the Python programming language.

By Herick M

Dec 8, 2020

Um excelente curso de programação, ele atende bem iniciantes e dispõem de ferramentas para auxiliar no aprendizado.

An excellent programming course, it caters well for beginners and tool skills for auxiliary learning.

By Zakiya K

Jan 20, 2020

This course was easy to follow and it's obvious from the thoroughness of the interactive notebook the professors have taken the time to really plan out the material. I have learned more than I expected in just a month.

By Patrick d S C

Aug 17, 2020

I really enjoyed, I learned and revised a lot of concepts of python programming. Also, I'm Brazillian and I can improve my english and learn specific vocabulary. Thanks, I'll continue enjoy and learn with this course.