Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
39,566 ratings
7,178 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
Dec 2, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 7,027 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Lalita K

May 27, 2020

Dr. Chuck is one of the best teachers. But the course must have more content and more explaination. The libraries should have been explained more. For beginners this course is a good one.. But i would say whatever the content was there.. Dr. Chuck explained it very neatly.. Hats Off to Dr, Chuck for giving his best for the students.

By Andriy Z

Dec 4, 2015

Thanks Dr Chuck for a perfect, easy and interesting course. All topics that were discussed contain source code that is self described and easy to understand. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn something new. Many thanks to Dr Chuck and all people who make this course open to everybody. And thanks Coursera also :)

By Sunny M

May 7, 2018

As expected this course was more challenging than the first two courses of the specialization of 'Python for Everybody'. I didn't expect to make so much progress in such a short time but it was definitely worth it so far and I expect it to get even more exciting. Thanks a lot the Dr. Chuck, I'm very happy that I found your courses.

By Scott G

Sep 17, 2019

Dr Chuck does a great job explaining the logic behind the code. While there are a few things that triped me up and made me read the documentation for the libraries (particularly when the examples in the videos were using a string of xml data while the assignment called for garbing it from the web) the research helped my learning.

By Damien C

Jun 24, 2018

I've been able to apply what I learned in this course to a project I am working on for work and I'm very glad I took it. The subject matter is presented in a way that keeps you engaged and the assignments at the end are fairly challenging. Overall, I can honestly say this course has helped me to upgraded my Python coding skills.

By Hadar S

Jan 9, 2017

The course is excellent for anyone who wants to build on their Python Knowledge, build a little Web Application interacting with an API or generally pull data from the Web using Python for any purpose.

Dr. Chuck is great as usual and does an excellent job of teaching & conveying the course material - Thank you for this course :)

By magda a

Nov 6, 2016

Excellent introduction. Made easy to follow with fantastic supporting materials (thanks, Dr Chuck!) but dense - I might have to revisit this material but for now will forge ahead! Great gratitude for an excellent series of Python courses - just the right length so they can be completed in good time, while building confidence.

By SIDDHARTHA D

May 28, 2020

II gave it 5 stars, but many will not agree as some of the lectures were not enough to complete the assignment. agree with it. that's was good for me because I was searching the internet and finding ways to get that done. which will help me to remember this stuff for a longer period of time. I finished this course in 3 days

By Priyesh K

Jun 5, 2020

It is a very good course to get started with using python for web scraping. Dr. Chuck is a great teacher and always talks about the fundamentals first, which i really liked. The assignments of the course are really good to deeply understand the concepts but should be a little bit more tougher. Overall i enjoyed the course.

By Radha M

Jun 1, 2020

This was my most liked but also the most difficult of the modules. Reason for that was, I had to personally do a lot of brain storming and understand the syntax and usage of certain of the functions. However each assignment gave a better knowledge of these. The discussion forums were very, very helpful, especially Tamara.

By Mayank R

Nov 6, 2016

This is the third course that I have completed under the Python for Everybody specialization. Just like the first two courses, this course kept me interested throughout and taught me some very important concepts and libraries of Python. Strongly recommended for anyone interested to enhance their basic knowledge of Python.

By Mustafa K

Oct 10, 2016

I have completed the third Python course. I used the knowledge for my android project to get data from a website and clean it. Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck for your amazing job and enjoy-fulness :) And thanks Coursera and Michigan University for serving free online education opportunities for students from all around the world.

By Senthil K

Dec 14, 2017

Dr Chuck was fantastic. He spends more time in explaining concepts in details. This course in conjunction with previous Python courses. Not just Python, I have learnt about XML, JSON, working with APIs. Totally enjoyed the course. I was able to watch the sessions multiple times. Thanks Dr Chuck and Coursera for the MOOC.

By John F

Mar 10, 2017

Great series of courses at just the right pace. I can do one in my lunch hour and not have to think about 4-5 hours of study per week. Also you can self pace and go much faster so you can finish the course in 1-2 weeks but I always find it is better to take a little longer to let the ideas sit and bounce around a little.

By 汪悦

Apr 22, 2018

I spent some time adapting to the easy way of teaching, as I was using Windows system and there are several differences between my infrastructure and that of the instructor's, e.g. Oauth for Twitter API never worked on my computer. But I also learned to install pip and different packages myself. Great way of exploring!

By Anastasia N

Jan 16, 2016

Loved this class. Perfect level of difficulty for me, engaging videos, and the material provides the right amount of info to get the assignments done without being too obvious. Dr. Chuck is really entertaining :) I am seeing more and more ways that I can apply this to my work and look forward to the continuing classes.

By Jeremiah R

Sep 20, 2020

If you would like an understanding of the fundamentals taking place behind libraries such as requests, coupled with an overview of the protocols and data formats that power service layers then this is the course for you.

If you want to find a tutorial regarding API use with requests, this course will not provide that.

By praveen n

Sep 19, 2020

A great course by Dr. Chuck. Very informative and covers how to access web data using python. You will learn how to scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. You will be working with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This is not a class for experts but more suited for beginners.

By DUGLAS V

Nov 30, 2020

I am so happy to have finished this third module. Every time I find myself with more confidence to develop the problems that arise. It is a good moment to congratulate Professor Chuck, who presents an extraordinary methodology and knowledge transmission, for which I thank him. See you in the next python for everyone.

By Paulina B R

Nov 29, 2020

I took a little bit of a break while completing this course but it was nice that I was able to pick up where I left off and did not have to worry about resetting my deadlines. Professor Chuck is incredible at explaining the different topics that he is teaching and it's awesome how many resources are available to us !

By Jiejia Y

Nov 13, 2016

This course is entering a different web world, which is a little complicated for me to understand it. In general, Professor Severence did a good job to show the basic ideal for us in an relatively easier way. I would really appreciate if this course can recommend more reading materials to help students to understand.

By Abey M

Apr 30, 2020

This course was undertaken as part of the Python Specialization. I found it to be engaging and hands on. Dr. Chuck has a very interesting style in explaining the theory breaking it into parts which is easy to comprehend. I would recommend this course for those new to Python to know more about how to access web data.

By 李昀泽

Nov 22, 2019

thanks doc chunk.And other teachers are also helpful,i think.Someone has said that thhi course is so difficult since it requires us to learn by ourselvers ,but i think it is a good thing because teachers can't teach all of the things in a short video.I also enjoy the process of finding problems and figure it out..

By Vinayak N

Jan 24, 2019

This course added an important tool to my arsenal. It taught me how to retrieve different elements from websites using libraries like beautiful soup and the basic python urllib library and now, I can scrape the web to hunt for stuff that I want in a customized way. Thank you Dr. Chuck for this comprehensive session!

By Orel F

Mar 12, 2017

Great course. Learned a lot about JSON and XML. Expanded my view of what is possible in programming. Never explained SOAP or why it sucks, and I can kinda explain REST, but still not quite sure what "representational state" refers to. Its just data, no state, and no representation, so why is it called that. Thanks!