Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,497 ratings
4,398 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

Filter by:

4226 - 4250 of 4,287 Reviews for R Programming

By Mahmoud M

May 13, 2018

im struggling for 10 days to resolve an assignment showing it should be started in some where where i have no idea where is that where

By Praveen D

Mar 12, 2020

Very poor ,frustrating and so so tough assignments in respective of the knowlegde they give you in video lectures or swirl exercises.

By kaisar A

May 27, 2016

Lectures are very boring and designed in a weird way. He is simply reading the book that he wrote and no real practice was ever done.

By Myrsini I

Mar 21, 2017

Not the best course for beginners. Too much theory and no implementation. Also the assignments were impossible for a beginner.

By Jennifer R

Mar 12, 2016

Not for new programmers. The lecture material is also not logically organized and does not correspond to the assignments.

By Yann V

Apr 3, 2018

R tutorials and assignments are great - however, had to spend more time figuring out Git than I spent on R assignments...

By Alexandra G

Jan 14, 2016

They don't give enough inputs and instructions to complete the assignments, unless they could offer addicional material.

By Veerendra A

Jun 17, 2020

it was too fast for me and i was expecting to study R programming from scratch..and many things were very fast.

By Duncan P

Jan 30, 2016

I found the jump in difficulty for the first assignment too great. This seems to be a view reflected elsewhere.

By George J

Jul 16, 2020

The instructions were not satisfactory, and there is a large gap between the assignment and the skills taught.

By Ben W

May 15, 2016

This course was so convoluted and not practical that it made me lose complete interest in the specialization.

By Tristan I

Jun 12, 2020

Fix the assignments so they match the course content. This is unfair to the people who pay for this service.

By Casey L B

Feb 3, 2018

This course presumes you are a programmer to begin with. I tried to take the class to learn how to program.

By Jonathan N

Nov 18, 2016

Assignments do not match up well with the lessons and the lessons are BAD. They are not educational.

By Rishi R

Jun 27, 2017

Too much of a jump from the previous course. Exercises much too complex relative to the lessons.

By Joan S

Feb 11, 2016

You can't do assignments using the lecture materials. Need A LOT of time to finish this course.

By Jostein B

Mar 30, 2017

There is a huge disconnect between the lectures and what is asked in the homework assignments.

By Juan M O

Sep 15, 2020

Gap between the theory and the practical assignment is huge. For a beginner is not an option!

By p a t

Jul 7, 2020

This course is not for beginner. If you look for beginner course for R, look else where.

By todhm@nate.com

Apr 10, 2016

Actually I feel like i'm reading the instruction manual without knowing useful skills

By zhimin

Feb 6, 2021

The assignment is too hard. There is a big gap between the assignment and the lecture

By Stéphane P

Feb 26, 2016

It's good introduction, but the assignment are rather poor. Not worth paying for it

By Thomas Y

Jan 14, 2020

Doesn't teach many functions that are related to how to solve the question at hand

By Avdesh s

Apr 1, 2016

In Lectures rate of speech is really fast and in some presentations are not clear

By L. R B

Oct 12, 2016

There is a disconnect between the video lectures and the assignments/quizzes.