Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1 by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
2,244 ratings

About the Course

In the final Capstone Project, you will apply the skills you learned by observing teachers at work (a total of six hours of observation). You will build on the concepts learned from the previous courses to analyze the lessons. You will also submit your teaching philosophy, a five-day lesson plan, and a teaching tip. You will deliver a portion of your lesson, submitting a 6-10 minute video for peer review. If you have completed Teach English Now! Part 1 and Teach English Now! Part 2, you will submit your work for expert review to receive your ASU 150-hour TESOL Certificate from ASU, in addition to your Coursera certificates....
Highlights
Application focused instruction

(20 Reviews)

Intensive practice course

(80 Reviews)

Top reviews

KT

Jan 22, 2024

Thank you to all teachers for their hard work and amazing instructions of each modules. You have been following all strategies and methods which you are teaching course learners. You are just Perfect!

LA

Sep 25, 2022

That was really challenging and much work made me scare first but I enjoyed doing them step by step

Thank you for your whole effort. I appreciated this course too and look forward to the next one.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 695 Reviews for Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

By Helena

Dec 13, 2018

Great course. Just remember you will probably need additional ESL books to work from for further examples. The course provides only basic ones.

By Nastya

Sep 4, 2017

An opportunity of teacher observation is great! This enriches experience and allows to get a fresh look at your own methods.

But unfortunately, when you don't have materials for the class you're observing, it is hard sometimes to understand this or that exercise. I think attachements with materials for each teacher observation (scanned pages from the textbook) are gonna make the course even greater!

By Jeffrey Z

Dec 5, 2022

Great course. Definitely challenging ... well structured, with clear, engaging instruction. Practical skill building, and the ability to create and collect resources for later use. Overall the feedback, which is via peer review, could be better, and it can be very difficult to get legitimate questions answered, which is why I dropped it from 5 to 4.

By Mallory S

Oct 7, 2020

Appreciated the content of this course but I was very disappointed that my final micro lesson had nothing but "good job" and "Well done" for feedback. I took the time to review 3 micro lesson videos and give constructive feedback and suggestions for improvement. It is unacceptable to me that I can't be guaranteed the same in return.

By Alba R S

Jun 19, 2018

A bit hard, and I would have liked real teachers to have reviewed our assignments. In spite of this, I believe that the course achieved the goals of the certificate.

By Daria G

Mar 30, 2021

I really enjoyed the course very much, until the moment I got automatically disenrolled for no reason. I guess I was disenrolled because of a missed deadline. I submitted all the assignments on time so maybe there is a technical issue. It is not stated whether the course has a free 7 days trial, at least I didn't see it. It would be wonderful if the reason for dis enrollment was clear, it would help other upcoming students.

Overall, the course has great materials and teachers!

By Gabriela M V K

Jun 21, 2017

I am very,very disappointed with this last course of the Teach English Now! Part 1 specialization. It involved three times as much work as the previous parts and I was unable to stay on track. I don´t understand why this fourth part is so much more time consuming that the previous. It could be divided into three or four different courses so that they each require a similar amount of work time during the week. I had to re-enroll so many times I finally lost my money, cause the specialization should be accomplished within the first year since payment.

I feel fooled because the two courses where very easy to follow, and when purchasing the third I decided I could pay for the third and fourth at once and save 10$. Unfortunately, the third course was easy as well, but the fourth was not and I have not been able to stay on track and work at the same time. Now that the school year is over, the deadline for accomplishing the fourth course is over.

TOO BAD. You could be more flexible. It is an online course and that would´t cost Coursera any extra money.

By Alena B

Jul 4, 2022

I would love to give the highest grade to this course! The reason for that is that the CAPSTONE course is like the summary of the 3 previous courses, and finally in Capstone Project you have the chance to showcase your abilities as a teacher and dive in deep inside yourself to create your own teaching philosophy. The tasks you have to accomplish within the Capstone project are all related to the previous materials in Course 1, Course 2 and Course 3, so if you missed something, the Capstone Project will help the knowledge to sink it because you'll get much opportunity to go back to what has been learned before. The structure and design of the Capstone Projects deserve THE HIGHEST PRAISE! Well done, ASU team! It was an awesome experience!

By Amy B S

Dec 10, 2019

I feel like I learned a lot from this course, including the fact that I have a lot more to learn, haha! It was great that they have teachers for you to observe, so I didn't have to go travel around trying to find teachers around where I live. It was nice to observe the other students, too. I learned a lot from watching the students as well as the teachers. I learned a lot by reviewing the work of other students, too. I'm glad they have us do that. I like the portfolio that they are having us create with all the lesson plans and teaching videos. I like this course series.

By NAKITENDE R

Mar 4, 2020

It has been a very practical course.You have made me what i am.You have worked very hard to impart all this knowledge and skills into us.I don't want to let you down.I feel i should do whatever is in my capacity to complete the second part of this course so that i can go out into the world and apply the unique way of teaching that you have taught me.I just can't wait to do that..All thanks to you very valuable instructors,Jessica Cinco,Dr.Shane Dixon,Dr.Justin Shewell and the rest of the team.Thank you very much indeed.

Nakitende Rovina.

By Juergen S

Jun 21, 2021

I really liked the focus on practicality, e.g. stressing how important a lesson plan is and helping us to create our own lesson plan. It might be awkward in the beginning but you are right it will become easier and more natural along the way and is so important for organizing teaching in class. Also, by allowing us to watch profesional teachers in action, I could get a better idea of the "reality" out there as I have never taught before. Thanks to ASU and our teachers here. ...oh, and I like your sense of humor.

By Cee G

Jul 5, 2023

There was a lot of work to be done in this course compared to the previous three. But I'm grateful the deadlines could always be adjusted to suit my schedule. I'm relieved and proud of myself for sticking with it and doing all the assignments as best as I can. Thank you so much to Coursera and the amazing ASU professors. Some people complain about peer reviews. I think it's irrelevant and uncontrollable. Just focus on your own learning and do your best and you will gain a lot from this course.

By Xuan P (

Mar 10, 2017

The course tightens back everything that was taught in the 3 previous courses. It helps me recall important information and reinforce my understanding of developing good lesson plans not only for daily but also weekly classes. The teachers, both instructors and teachers for observation sessions are fun, lively, and very helpful in conveying many useful take-away for my own class development.

Thank you so much Dr. Shane and Ms. Jessica for producing such a high quality and helpful course!

By R A R

Mar 20, 2020

I was skeptical at first, honestly. And early on, even more so, as I worked through these lessons (it's taken a long time, with life breaks). But after completing this capstone, and finally having some language teaching time in a real classroom, and observation of others, I've found that these courses are really quite helpful. I was just expecting much more dry academic style stuff, but the interactive approach here is very fitting of the atmosphere in the language classroom. Big win.

By asmaa h

Oct 25, 2022

Amazing, honesty while I was studying the first 3 courses I felt that I need training and when I finished them and found this project I felt that is a waste of time and things just to complete the 8 courses to get the certificate, but now after I finished it, really I feel there is no need to any training, this course has done everything perfectly actually now I feel I confidently finished the first 4 courses and I can start my session as a teacher any time, thank you isn't enough

By Kelley K

Jun 24, 2020

This Capstone is a killer in terms of the breadth and depth of the content, which is excellent. But I think it would better serve the student to split this capstone into two so the student can focus and absorb more. The content is rich and very worthwhile in terms of the teacher observations, but there is so much to look at in one go, that we would be better served to look at these more than once. Each time we would get more out of it.

By sofia a

Jul 4, 2021

It was a great experience. The process was engaging, the content is authentic, and every activity is guided by a "sticky" and measurable goal. Every step of the learning process is a challenge for me. I enjoyed mostly watching/ observing the teacher interacting with the students. Sharing my reflections was a great one too. Thank you ASU and Coursera. Can't wait to join the Capstone Project 2. Please let me know when I could start.

By Ben M

Dec 21, 2017

This was a really great course. It was engaging also because I had a lot more interaction with fellow students than I am used to. This captsone project made me really think about things like ensuring that I have good text book material lined up and visualising who I would be teaching. The teacher observation provided me with some insight into what it would really be like to interact with the learners that I visualised.

By Kotsai N

Sep 8, 2022

It was a really challenging part! However, it helped me understand my teaching philosophy, create a weekly lesson plan (which I had never done before) and virtually attend lessons of the professinals from the ASU. Morover, the peer assessment was important to get a feedbback about my ideas plus to get insights into other teachers' lessons. Can't wait to start a new part! And huge thanks to all creators of the course!

By filminglarry

Jul 30, 2021

Two of the three videos I graded did not have usable links. The technology is not self-explanatory or user-friendly enough. There should be a box for the peer reviewer to check saying the work is not accessible, and thus ungradable. Also, when I posted a link, the software still required me to write something in the box meant for pasting work rather than posting a link. More work needs to be done on the software.

By Francisca R R

Jan 17, 2018

A pesar de las grandes cantidades de tarea y de trabajo que requirió este curso, no podría estar más satisfecha con el curso. Todo el trabajo aquí realizado tiene el propósito laboral de crear una portafolio profesional que luego servirá para postular a un trabajo, ¡perfecto! Contenidos esenciales, evaluaciones de conocimientos y trabajos prácticos y útiles. Lo recomiendo a todo aquel que realmente desee superarse.

By Ruslan Z

Jan 19, 2021

I would like to recommend this excellent course to ESL teachers who want to improve their language teaching skills! I bet you'll find this course quite challenging and interesting at the same time, why? Because the structure of this course is such that each stage of it differs from the previous one in that it asks students for more and more abstract and analytical information, and not just repeats the lessons.

By Reesa D J

May 29, 2019

Everyone, regardless of profession, should take these courses; my presentation skills are on a totally better level now that I've gone through these classes!! Seriously one of the best educational experiences of my life!! I recommend these courses to anyone who would like to learn how to be a better educator or a better human:) Not only are these classes educational, but they are also incredibly fun!!

By Ahmed M A E

Aug 16, 2022

It was an amazing and very beneficial course, though a bit long. I have come out of this course with very useful outcomes, such as producing my own professional teaching philosophy statement, practicing writing a one-day lesson plan and a one-week lesson plan, and observing professional teachers in real classroom settings. Therefore, this course is my favorite in this TESOL certification program so far.

By Cristina S

Nov 30, 2020

Great course but very hard and challenging. I learned a lot from the observations. They helped me visualize the use of methods and techniques. Thank you all for such a great learning experience. I look forward to part 2. This is a lot of work but well worth it. I'm not too clear on how to make a portfolio. I need some direction. Any ideas? Instructions on how? Best regards, Cristina Stern