Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1 by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
2,244 ratings

About the Course

In the final Capstone Project, you will apply the skills you learned by observing teachers at work (a total of six hours of observation). You will build on the concepts learned from the previous courses to analyze the lessons. You will also submit your teaching philosophy, a five-day lesson plan, and a teaching tip. You will deliver a portion of your lesson, submitting a 6-10 minute video for peer review. If you have completed Teach English Now! Part 1 and Teach English Now! Part 2, you will submit your work for expert review to receive your ASU 150-hour TESOL Certificate from ASU, in addition to your Coursera certificates....
Highlights
Application focused instruction

(20 Reviews)

Intensive practice course

(80 Reviews)

Top reviews

KT

Jan 22, 2024

Thank you to all teachers for their hard work and amazing instructions of each modules. You have been following all strategies and methods which you are teaching course learners. You are just Perfect!

LA

Sep 25, 2022

That was really challenging and much work made me scare first but I enjoyed doing them step by step

Thank you for your whole effort. I appreciated this course too and look forward to the next one.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 695 Reviews for Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

By Maranatha C C

Jun 19, 2023

Everything I need to know, I was able to learn and apply in this course. I am highly impressed with the teaching techniques of Dr.Dixon and Dr.Cinco! This course was the most challenging so far and it pushed me to my limit. I am truly inspired to also make a difference to student's lives the same way that you have made a valuabale impact in mine. I hope to meet you someday to thank you!

By Nataliia K

Apr 11, 2023

I highly recommend this course to anyone who is just starting their teaching career or those who want to enhance and organize their knowledge about teaching English. I think this course is also suitable for teachers of other languages. However, it's important to note that the course is conducted in English, so a good command of the language is necessary to fully benefit from it.

By Abdoulie M

Aug 19, 2020

This is one of the best courses or specializations I have studied on coursera so far. I love the caricature of the teacher, and the organization of the course. The course is comprehensive and easy to remember what you've learned. As a teacher, I implement and incorporate every new skill and technique I learnt in each module. I will be subscribing to part 2 in a week or two.

By Rayapeddi S

Jun 27, 2020

Thanks a lot, Coursera and ASU. My biggest takeaway from this course would be gaining confidence. The course material and the lectures have boosted my concepts and understanding by many folds. I thoroughly enjoyed the assignment, presentation, and peer assessments. Now, I know my weak areas and want to improve in those. Looking forward to doing part2 course.

By Yulia N

Aug 6, 2017

That a course! Every task is clear and even accustomed, but it has a twist - and this twist surprise me every time. That was fun!

Also the main thing here - to get your reviews, so, you review others a lot looking for a possibility to ask them to review your work. To the end of the course you're already remember your course-mates.

I liked this course a lot!

By Rafael M

Feb 5, 2017

The best teaching course ever. I have learned so much and I am thankful to all ASU and COursera team to upload such an amazing course. I have learnede how to improve my teaching methodology and the importance of keeping the lesson conversational, how to understand each kind of teaching approach to use their advantages to the fullest. I am thrilled!!1

By Zerrin C

Jan 11, 2021

I really foster my knowledge. I applied the things I learnt in three courses. I like the way of teaching us in the modules. All steps are well organised to understand and follow. I wish I had chance to have the teachers’ experience in this course , Dr Shane Dixon and Jessica Cinco. Thank you for their effort and the way of teaching the courses.

By ELMA J O C

May 8, 2021

A great way to learn and apply the knowledge learned for both the novices and experienced teachers. I enjoyed doing the task and reviewing peers' works; I learned a lot from reviewing my peers. Though I do not actually plan lessons in my current employment, doing the tasks helped me to better plan my lessons and facilitate classes.

By Jeia M C

Mar 26, 2021

I loved every course in this specialization so far. It does require a lot of hard work but nothing is too hard if you are passionate to learn and if you work smart. This capstone and the last 3 courses have opened my mind, entertained me, guided me, and challenged me a lot. Thank you, ASU for providing this opportunity!

By Deleted A

Sep 6, 2019

I learned so much from this course! My educational training has been greatly enhanced by this program. I appreciate and will implement all aspects of this new knowledge. I'm thankful to my instructors for their expertise and my classmates' valuable input. I will be a better future ESL teacher for their support.

By G J

Aug 28, 2020

I appreciate all of the great experience that I had along this educational journey. I want to thank every Professor that gave of themselves to make us better professionals in the world of English learning. I had an Awesome Experience to prepare me for whats a head. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

By Muazzam R

Nov 7, 2020

excellent course for teachers to enrich their teaching style as well as to integrate effective methods to provide students a wonderful environment with a chance to learn and improve their English. I would recommend this course to all of my colleagues. Thank you Shane and Jessica, you are fantastic!

By Kenyc M

May 5, 2017

This course is a great refresher to what I have learned with Teach English Now!

It also helped me with organizing my teacher portfolio and becoming more comfortable with instructing future students online.

Highly recommend this Capstone and looking forward to beginning the final Capstone Project soon!

By Ir A

Mar 10, 2023

This course is more difficult and time demanding than the previous ones, but it's certainly worth the effort, because it gives you a chance to practice what you've learnt. I found peer review sections especially helpful, as it's exetremely important for me to recieve feedback from my other teachers

By Learning J

May 25, 2022

Indeed this course is a gem! If you want to learn how to teach English, you should not miss this opportunity to take this specialization. Shout out to all the instructors here. I have never been so dedicated to an online system like this before. Big big thanks to the ASU institute and Coursera! :)

By Omar O

Aug 21, 2018

It has been a wonderful experience to work with you over the last few weeks!. I loved how you taught us theoretically and practically in the field of teaching English. I think it's too important for people who want to teach English to apply for all the courses in the TESOL certificate program.

By Luis S

Sep 29, 2017

This course was exactly what I was looking for, a smart blend between theories and practice. It´s providing me a new set of teaching tools and projects designed to master my skills. Also, allows you to take a look to other points of view and experience from teachers from different places.

By Anıl Y

Nov 23, 2021

It has been a massive experience being part of this course. I have been given the opportunity to reflect the theoretical background in ELT that I have learned and lectured by the lectures given in the previous parts of this course. Thanks for your effort. I am enormously appreciated.

By Chan G

Nov 30, 2023

I learned to overcome my affective filter to do the video. I got to practice all sections of the lesson plan as a teacher. The class observation, reflection and peer markings were valuable learnings. Thank you and appreciate all the instructors and the course support team.

By Adalis F P

Aug 28, 2023

More I study this course, more motivated I am. It is a real professional pleasure to do the lesson with techniques and advises to be a good teacher, to transmite to the Students passion for learn and speak English or also it is aplicable to other languages. Thanks so much !!

By H H

Aug 5, 2022

actually i cxannot deny how this course is great. it teaches us what we need for teaching. that is highly effective for every teacher.

i appreciated dr. dixon and his dedicated coleagues dr. Justin Swell and Jessica Cinco

you teach really energetically and i love it

good luck

By Amanbai A

Feb 26, 2023

Hello! I really enjoyed this course! I thank you! It can be said that I have learned a lot of great and valuable information from this course. Now it is my dream to complete all 8 courses and get my TESOL certificate. 50% of my dream is behind. Thank you very much!

By Sean R

Feb 1, 2022

A very positive, meaningful and helpful experience. Prior to this course, I was concerned if I would have the ability to write one week lesson plans. Not anymore! I have learned so much and really appreciated the perspectives provided throughout the field experiences.

By Hima - S - S

Oct 9, 2021

I have learned a lot and gained more confidence to practice all the skills I have learned from this course. I thanked Coursera so much for the opportunity to learn for free and the Instructors of the course, Arizona University and the Team. Thank you very very much!

By Yadi S

Jun 2, 2021

I definitely fall in love this course. I'm currently teaching in my village voluntarily because I teach English to make the world a better place. They have the right to education. AND this course help boost my teaching skills. I can't say thank you enough for this.