Chevron Left
Back to Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
2,601 ratings

About the Course

In this course, learners will be introduced to the field of statistics, including where data come from, study design, data management, and exploring and visualizing data. Learners will identify different types of data, and learn how to visualize, analyze, and interpret summaries for both univariate and multivariate data. Learners will also be introduced to the differences between probability and non-probability sampling from larger populations, the idea of how sample estimates vary, and how inferences can be made about larger populations based on probability sampling. At the end of each week, learners will apply the statistical concepts they’ve learned using Python within the course environment. During these lab-based sessions, learners will discover the different uses of Python as a tool, including the Numpy, Pandas, Statsmodels, Matplotlib, and Seaborn libraries. Tutorial videos are provided to walk learners through the creation of visualizations and data management, all within Python. This course utilizes the Jupyter Notebook environment within Coursera....

Top reviews

AT

May 21, 2020

Excellent course materials, especially the videos, with content that is thoughtfully composed and carefully edited. Very good python training, great instructors, and overall great learning experience.

VV

Aug 2, 2020

Great course to learn the basics! The supplementary material in Jupyter notebooks is extremely valuable. Really appreciate the PhD students who took the time to explain even the simplest of codes :)

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 552 Reviews for Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python

By Zhao F

Jun 26, 2021

I have been struggling with statistics even I had studied psychometrics in university and graduate school. The course really prepared me to learn and to build my confidence. it's a great learning journey.

By MUHAMMAD S

Feb 7, 2021

This course is comprehensively designed and outlined. it's good for the beginner of python and those who want to learn basic statistics. This course explains the concept of statistics with visualization.

By Rafagan S d C S M

Mar 28, 2021

The classes were well written and developed, teh only thing i felt lacked was some more difficult in the assigments. But i think on the next course in this specialization the difficult will inprove.

By simone z

Jan 17, 2021

Very nice course. You will recap and/or learn a lot of things that are usally not said. Following suggested readings you will find nice material even if some it is not free (please suggest others!).

By Agustín P

Jun 15, 2021

It is a great introduction to the basics of Statistics, all the concepts were laid out perfectly by the instructors. I can't wait to keep learning with the last 2 courses of the Specialization.

By Julya

Jan 6, 2021

The course appearance may not as interesting as other courses, but if I have to name a course where my ability increases the most through the learning, I would choose this course. Thank you!

By Deeksha T

May 28, 2020

This course is very good for the people who are not from programming background as everything related to the concepts is very well explained (with programming support) throughout the course

By Javier C

Mar 19, 2023

It's a great course to learn how to use python for statistical analysis and to understand valuable concepts in statistica because of the excellent job made by teachers and course staff

By Linh V

Sep 29, 2021

I've learned so much about the Python programming as well as general statistical skills. This course also lead me to change my initial university's major from Finance to Data Science.

By DYLAN R Z

Apr 8, 2021

The material was explained thoroughly. It gave me the confidence to apply the knowledge in my own field of research and to explore new methods of visualization in the seaborn package.

By Vanessa M

Jan 20, 2021

This was a quick way of understanding the basics. I liked how detailed and basic the learning instructions were. Anyone, even those without a statistics background can begin from here

By Ammar S

Mar 3, 2021

20 studying hours that helps me getting back to speed on manipulating the quantitative data in Pandas with different query conditions, powerful statistics and Sampling Distributions.

By Darshan K

Nov 21, 2022

That is very good to learn math behind the data collection. If we have few practical example with this course, then it will be easy to understand whole process of data collection.

By Janavi G

Jun 11, 2020

The course itself was good. I think I learnt the specific concepts well. However, I would have to go through the general sense of python to actually implement what I learnt here

By Rafael B

Apr 18, 2021

Great course! It is necessary to have a minimum of knowledge in Python. If you enroll in this course, you will learn the fundamentals of statistics through Python programming.

By Oskar U

Apr 20, 2020

Thanks to this course I have been able to elevate my understanding of research methodology and incorporate a more critical assessment of scientific studies into my daily work.

By Zhanna V

Jun 20, 2023

Great module! Will recomend for those who wants to get more into statistics and Python implementation. Concepts are clearly expalined with good examples of coding techniques.

By Sherwin B

Nov 30, 2020

A really well organized course with plenty of resources to learn how to analyze and visualize data using the suite of Python packages used in statistical analysis. Loved it.

By wissam m

Oct 27, 2021

Very excellent course . Right now I know how to apply descriptive statistics in python in professional way.

Thanks coursera and University if Michigan for this opportunity.

By Cristian C A G

Jun 3, 2021

Excelente, las clases son muy claras, presentan bastante información que ayudan a complementar los temas y los laboratorios ayudan muchisimo en el proceso de aprendizaje.

By SAMIT P B ( i C

Jun 1, 2020

Great course if you want to get a good grasp of intro to statistics. What this course offers is a great content on how to use proper statistical modelling for research.

By Rajesh R

Feb 21, 2019

Very good course instructors ! Excellent balance of basics of statistics and python programming oriented towards data analysis. Thoroughly enjoyed the course material.

By K s d s E

May 11, 2020

Great course to learn about the basic tools which will be helpful in data visualization and this course also gives an insight explanation of where the data comes from.

By Anand M

Mar 1, 2020

The course is very good & it gives a confidence to people like me who are new to Python .

It would be great If you can explain the hypothesis section in more detail .

By Sangbaek P

Apr 11, 2019

Really helpful to build a foundation for the basic Python and improve the understanding on basic but key concepts on statistics and visualizing techniques. Awesome!