Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,982 ratings
1,223 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

TM

May 23, 2021

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,246 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Prince

Apr 16, 2019

Theoretical concepts are well taught but connecting those to practical work is where one finds it a little hard to do.

By Sarth B

May 2, 2020

needs to be more informational and rigirous! more assignments would be great! and 4 peer reviews instead of just 2

By Angela S

Mar 6, 2019

Helpful step-by-step introduction into the subject. Short theory inputs and a lot of practice. Really good course.

By Soham M

Oct 5, 2020

It's a good course where I learned the principles behind the basic designs style I had been following. Thank you.

By Patrick

Jan 24, 2021

Really fun and intuitive. I learned a lot just by following the lessons laid out and even built some new skills!

By Hala A

Aug 18, 2020

Fun Class! if you have experience in design, this will be a breeze to you, but it had great fresh reminders.

By Resha k

Jul 6, 2019

Well structured Course. Excellent for beginners who want to understand the different aspects of UI\UX design

By Amy T Z

Apr 30, 2019

I really wish that more of the technical vocabulary for different actions were reviewed this this course.

By Maria M

Oct 1, 2020

This course is best for beginners those who want to improve the designing skills must take this course.

By Usama M

Jan 28, 2022

It was very good course, although it contained on theory. It must have some practical being performed.

By Yashwanth M

Jul 21, 2020

Excellent explanation . I feel more of theory part and need some videos on assignments also .

Thank You

By Malik W

Jun 18, 2020

The course is really nice and introduced me about UI/UX really well,but i'm not a fan of peer grading.

By Kennetta j

Feb 13, 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. I hope in the future there will be a live teacher grading the assignments

By Aurora C V V

Apr 22, 2022

It is really important to use the recomended apps for desing so you can deliver an excellent product

By William S

Jan 9, 2020

Incredibly easy to follow and instructive course. Gives a good insight into UI design for beginners.

By Marina D

Sep 9, 2019

It was a great course, I've learned a lot and it's great how you interact with other students work!

By Louise G E

Nov 3, 2020

Learned the right process in creating UI/UX Interface Design, from concept to making presentation.

By Rodion B

Jan 24, 2022

I would prefer more interaction with the lecturers, or at least their feedback on the work done.

By suryansh s

Jan 17, 2022

R​eally descriptive and informative course, really process driven and challenging assignments.

By Claudia S C

Oct 7, 2020

They teach you concepts and how to create a logical moodboard but not the use of design tools.

By Sadeq S

May 28, 2020

Great material, easy to follow and engaging.

I recommend it to anyone interested in this topic.

By Tatiana B

Jul 6, 2020

This is a good course as a basic start for people who are already in the graphic design area.

By Aarti S

Nov 30, 2020

This is really good for beginners like me. All basic concepts are really good with examples.

By Christopher D

Jan 28, 2020

Very informative but the peer review process was a little stressful when it took too long :)

By Fatma A A Y

Nov 25, 2019

Very good course.

The only point i dislike is that the students reviews each other projects .