Chevron Left
Back to Building Web Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Web Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,191 ratings
704 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Top reviews

YY
Feb 9, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

VN
Feb 20, 2018

Thanks for a great course by which I learn a lot of experience from the experts :-). One of the my assignments has been gradually developed into a more robust site at https://englishpicture.net

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 700 Reviews for Building Web Applications in PHP

By abdallah a

Aug 25, 2020

cool

By Manal D y

Jul 31, 2020

good

By 18BIT0445 B A K

Jun 2, 2020

good

By Vasukumar P F

May 28, 2020

good

By Shivam P

Aug 5, 2019

good

By Raf H A R

Dec 18, 2018

Good

By Chitransh N

Oct 15, 2018

good

By Brandon G

Jul 24, 2020

This course helped me understand the basic fundamentals of web development and how the web works as a system. The lectures are well done, and the information all made sense to me intuitively even though I came in with zero web development experience. The autograder could at times be finicky with looking for *very specific* keywords, but other than that, the assignments were fair and applicable to real-world situations.

By Debanjoly C

Jul 1, 2020

Course content is great.The instructor will never make you feel bored. Enjoyed learning new things.But this was a really basic PHP course.Seeing the course name expected bit more from the course rather than just learning the syntax and basic stuffs.However whatever the course contains is great for anyone who wants to start web development.

By Andrew S

Nov 11, 2019

A great course. At first look it seemed to me a quite easy. However, by moving step by step through it, it takes a lot of contribution to finish it. As a result, I understand a basics of a HTML, PHP. Now I know how these programming languages operates in the browser and a web server.

By Guillermo A R N

Apr 3, 2019

Very good teacher, I have learn a macro view on how web applications work. In my opinion the course needs whether more challenging exercises, or change the name "Building Web Applications in PHP" by "Understanding Web Applications in PHP".

By RACHIT R

Jun 6, 2020

This was a great introductory course. The instructor taught in a manner that was both enriching and enjoyable. However, I felt that more content could have been covered in this course given that it was an 8 week-long course.

By Arslaan S

Aug 10, 2020

Its a great course to learn PHP basics, well it does not cover some other stuff such as PHP Sessions and connecting SQL Database with PHP and stuff.

Otherwise, Charles Severence (Dr. Chuck) is a great instructor

By Rajat K

Jul 8, 2018

This course is one which will introduce you with various important aspects of PHP if you haven't got any knowledge about it. If you do have some experience in PHP, this course is surely a refresher.

By siddharth p

Apr 5, 2020

This was an awesome course which would cruise you through the basics of web pages, their making and what actually goes behind the screen. Its a fun course with innovative assignments.

By JOSHYEL A C G

Jul 23, 2020

Muy buen curso introductorio a lo que es el desarrollo de aplicaciones web, aunque no se ve muy a profundidad el desarrollo de una aplicación da a entender la idea y lo que implica

By Cullen M

Nov 29, 2020

This is a great beginner course - I wish it did not say Intermediate. Dr. Chuck is fantastic, but this course may not challenge you enough if you have some coding background.

By Saravanan V

Nov 21, 2019

The Course really helped me to explore various functionalities of php. I am very thankful to my tutor for the support and lectures he gave. Looking forward to doing another

By Pritam C

Jul 3, 2020

An awesome course with handful of interesting assignments. Some autograder related issues came up unfortunately but at an ultimate point it's really awesome.

By SIDDHANT S 1

Nov 25, 2020

A great course for beginners like me to understand the concepts and build on from there. Thanks a lot for the materials and the interactive assignments.

By Alaiva'a M

May 5, 2020

An excellent course to learn PHP scripting, syntax, and the server-side of the internet. It provided good resources worth learning and reading.

By Aleyna Ç

Sep 18, 2020

assignments are much tough, you have to read the specifications well. except them, teacher is amazing and teaching with fun.. enjoy

By Kanika M

Jun 13, 2020

I am really lucky to have chosen this course.It is quite helpful.

Thank you to the entire team, the teachers especially Dr. Chuk.

By Raluca O P

Jan 8, 2020

Enjoyed this course because instructor has very nice vibe and its passion for what he does is simply there visible. Congrats!

By Santiago C G

Oct 19, 2020

That was a great experience and for the teacher explanations i was able to get the concept of get/post cycle request.