Chevron Left
Back to Global Trends for Business and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Trends for Business and Society by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
900 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn to analyze rapidly changing global trends, their effects on consumer and labor markets, financial systems, and geopolitical relationships among countries all over the world. Professor Mauro Guillen of the Wharton School has designed this course to help you understand the magnitude of influence these trends have on the business world and society. Through real-world case studies, both historical and contemporary, you’ll examine how changes within one society affect others. By the end of this course, you’ll have gained the tools to be able to identify, analyze, and adapt to global changes as they affect your business and society....

Top reviews

OO

Aug 13, 2018

This is a great course. It foster curiosity for creative thinking and innovation from a global economy perspective. I am now aware of global trends, inequalities, economic threats and opportunities.

OR

Apr 30, 2020

I really enjoyed this course on Global Trends for Business and Society.

I travel for work within SSA and South/East Asia.

I will be able to apply what I have learned.

Many thanks!

Orla

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 224 Reviews for Global Trends for Business and Society

By Liana K

Mar 18, 2021

good thanks

By Kenney G

Dec 29, 2020

informative

By Michael V

Jul 3, 2019

Thank you!

By vinura j

Oct 9, 2021

Excellent

By Yu W

May 22, 2020

very nice

By Rahul P

May 9, 2020

excellent

By Franklin Z

Nov 19, 2019

Amazing

By Razik D

Jul 22, 2021

great

By zhangyuxiao

Nov 13, 2019

good

By Li X

Jan 7, 2024

喜欢

By Andres A C S

Apr 26, 2018

E

By Maprang S

Jul 15, 2020

Overall a great overview analysis on global trends in the 21st century. However, during the last week of the course, a lot of topics discussed were so condensed that I wish the prof had spent more time diving a little deeper into some of them. I wish also that there'd be more threads in the forum to discuss about the global trends. So, I may suggest that the TAs monitoring the class start some initial discussion threads because most students would just binge-watch all video lectures and not engage. This kind of class I think anyone who takes it can only benefit by engaging in the discussion because it will force all of us to think, re-think about the global phenomena and the effects that shape the trajectory in which the world would be going forward. This is the my first course in the specialization. I like it enough to continue on other courses.

By Gaithiri S

Apr 9, 2018

Good overview of general trends. The course gave me good insight to population trends/ growth and dynamics of global powers in near future. Some parts of the course could be improved by providing better insight on the particular topic I feel rather than static the videos in various parts of the world - or the quality of those videos could be improved or updated.

By Robert C

Sep 28, 2020

Excellent presentations. Well sequenced. Nice topic selection. Many of the topics deserve greater discussion and understanding ........ ie disillusionment with democracy is thrown out with little additional discussion but no better solution is on the horizon, and it needs to be said.

Well done to the Professor, got my interests for further study in this area.

By Karen A M

Sep 1, 2020

Mauro is an amazing professor. I completely love the videos in the different countries, with the real background and complete landscape of how that country looks like. I think that we can complement the course with some lectures suggestions if we want to go deeper in some topics and also, it would be a good idea some data actualization.

By Cecilia B

Dec 2, 2021

This course seems to be from 2017. So much has happened in the last 4 years, it would be great if Mauro Guillen could add a recap week on how the politics and pandemic of the last few years has shifted many of the global trend predictions he shares in this course. I would be fascinated to analysis this shift in global trends.

By Raniah K

May 28, 2018

Thanks to the professor's work he taught, I found this course very useful and I enjoyed it at the same time since I feel that almost all the content this course and specialization covered here is essential for overall knowledge, not just for the business minds. Thank you for this course! -RK

By Marco G

Jan 19, 2018

Very interesting course

Mauro Guillen is retorically strong and explains topics in an easily understandable way. In addition, his short excursions from all over the world bring in the right balance into the course

By Annie D

Apr 19, 2018

The mobile version did not line up weekly with the desktop version. The course has tons of valuable information! I would have liked to have more additional reading suggestions from the instructor.

By Chanda D

Jun 9, 2021

Very informative course, I enjoyed the videos and found the transcripts useful. However I am the t ype of learner who benefits from literature and reading material. This was lacking,

By Niels B

May 16, 2018

The course gives a good and critical overview of the biggest global trends of the last, and the coming decade. It solidified my knowledge about geo politics, and also learned a lot.

By Emily D

Dec 4, 2020

Excellent course explained clearly and compellingly. It would benefit from an update, given US foreign policy over the last 4 years, China and Hong Kong, Brexit, and COVID-19.

By Shubham S

Apr 8, 2018

More depth in content is expected. It has a very good overview. Maybe we can split it into two level with advanced business context topics in 2nd level.

By Rajini D

Dec 20, 2017

Very well structured course and the coverage of the topic has been systematic and progressive such that one is able to link all the elements well.

By Gulin Y

Jul 29, 2018

Issues on sustainable development (more on environmental and social issues) can be added besides economical, political and governance aspects.