Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
11,402 ratings
2,404 reviews

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

1826 - 1850 of 2,352 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Jan R

Aug 22, 2017

Course content generally was interesting, though explanations were sometimes hard to follow. Slides could contain more information to make the matter easier to grasp.

By Eshan R S

Aug 25, 2018

Some instructor's accents were sometimes confusing, and the subtitles weren't good enough, but everything else was splendind and the exercises were well-thought-out.

By jeyan s

Jul 9, 2020

learnt a lot new and challenging, but quite complex to understand several concept with the lectures need some additional exploration for the complete understanding.

By Shangqun y

Jun 30, 2017

Overall, the course is good, the programing problem is challenging, demanding a lot of thinking. I hope the explanation of the algorithmic can be more clear though.

By AVIK S

Jul 1, 2020

It is a little difficult for beginners but worth it. This course helped me understand the basics of algorithms. Should do this if anyone wants to learn algorithms.

By Daniele P

Aug 14, 2016

I learned a lot in this course and it was sufficiently challenging. My only qualm was that some of the pseudo-code was hard to understand and slightly misleading.

By Davide S

Nov 18, 2021

Aside from not-so-descriptive assignments and poor explanation of dynamic algorithms, overall a nice inclusive course. Particularly appreciated Alexander Kulikov

By 张艺谙

Oct 30, 2019

Most of the lessons are useful, but some parts are not much clear for me, so that I need to find some other materials.

The programming exercises are challenging.

By Ahmad W

Oct 26, 2020

Course problems,examples and assignments are perfect while the instructors way is boring and can not give you the whole idea you have to look at another sources

By Socrates V F L

Aug 26, 2016

To complete this course you should be familiar with programming. While the first weeks are relatively easy to follow, last ones are really hard to keep up with.

By 42_IS_THE_ANSWER

Aug 24, 2021

Learned quite a bit. 4 stars because there is q relatively large difference in difficulty between the direct implementation problems and the advanced problems

By Saumya K

Sep 4, 2020

Overall a pretty great course. It was sometimes difficult to understand the tutors (due to heavy-ish accents) but the material was taught in a top-notch way!

By Daniel U

Mar 24, 2016

This is an awesome Course. I'd like that the failed tests, of the submitted programs, to be shown, in order to have a better idea where you are doing wrong.

By Amr E

Apr 6, 2021

Best thing about this course is it's weeks assignments. The explanation needs more examples, specially the dynamic programming weeks. But overall it's great

By Khaled A T

Aug 10, 2020

The course content is very good and well explained, the one problem I met that I felt that some instructors in some videos are just like reading a script.

By Nikhil M

May 16, 2020

It is an excellent course. It would be better if visual illustrations were to be displayed with the pseudo code, rather than after explaining pseudo code.

By Sahil J

Aug 29, 2016

I found the course to have some really helpful approaches to solving algorithmic problems when test inputs are unknown. Great "Toolbox" for a programmer.

By Pratik K R

Jul 11, 2021

course overflow was an amazing . i have learnt lots of things from algorithmic toolbox and also its helps me to improve my programming skills.

thank you!

By Prianka B

Oct 11, 2016

Alexander Kulikov, Michel Levin and Neil Rhodes are awesome teachers. Every topic of this course opens a whole new dimension of concept. It was awesome.

By Pankaj K

Nov 11, 2019

Week 6 of the course is little bit hard as compare to the initial weeks and the rate of increment of difficulty is high in the last part of the course.

By Ryan C

May 11, 2019

Highly informative, touching on all the key areas while remaining succinct. Problem sets were excellent – only suggestion would be to add more of them.

By kapil r

Aug 29, 2020

The assignments are really hard as hell especially of dynamic programming. After 4th week , i had really a hard time understanding even the lectures.

By Syed S A

Apr 23, 2020

The course will make you stronger in programming ever, as it will make you focus on time and space complexity and focuses on thinking out of the box.

By Sidharth S

Jul 1, 2016

The full course should be available with the assignments for the non payers. Only the certificate of this should be provided to those who have paid.

By Dhadi s k

Sep 24, 2020

its good enough to give better understanding of how to approach the different types of problems and solve using some of the algorithmic techniques.