Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
7,894 ratings
1,648 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,583 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By KAJAL K

Jun 08, 2020

This is a very helpful and good platform for doing practice because practice makes perfect. Thank you so much to Coursera and the team for these kinds of study stuff and mentoring me.

By Wan N

May 06, 2020

The assignments are quite valuable and with their help, I have improved my algorithmic skills. However, it will be better if the video materials can give a more detailed explanation.

By Ranjeeta K

Jul 01, 2019

I really liked the course design as it included programming assignments along with course lectures. Except for some errors caused in the submissions, everything else was just fine.

By Matija K

Aug 02, 2017

The programming assignments are great. They are not easy and really make you think and work. Some topics should be better explained. Especially in the Dynamic programming lectures.

By Ashish K M

Jul 06, 2020

Highly recommended as it helped me a lot in my week areas. I recommend not to skip any portion of the lectures as every part is important. Week 5 and Week 6 are really important .

By Aidar

Sep 19, 2019

Michael Levin should make more slides for explanation (with step-by-step examples) how Alex Kulikov and other mentors did. Also, it was difficult to hear only his broken english.

By Kerem C T

May 15, 2019

Very hard topic explained good. I had to get help from other videos(outside this course) explaining some of the algorithms in detail. Other than it was a good experience overall.

By Maziar M

Apr 17, 2018

The assignment are perfect. They are comprehensive and pretty challenging. Although, I believe the lectures could be a little bit better organized. Specially the last two weeks.

By Comsaripalli V P K

Apr 03, 2018

The Assignments and the Syllabus are Good. But The explanation of the faculty is not that great. You would need to read external material to better understand whats happening

By Andrey G

Sep 11, 2016

Понравились задачи и освещенные темы. Для работающих людей график сдач очень жесткий. Хочется успеть решить все задачи, но банально не хватает времени из-за дневной нагрузки.

By Chirag J

Apr 20, 2020

Course content can be improved. Week 3 starting video lectures are very hard to understand. The Instructor himself not able to memorize that what he is teaching to students.

By Tan P Z

Nov 18, 2019

I dont think anyone can keep up with the explanation of DP pseudocode, ironically went to watch youtube videos instead for explanation of code. Good course other than that.

By Mehmet S

Jan 28, 2019

Everything is good, except the test cases in the assignments are not given. It takes a while to debug without test cases. At least we should be given the failing test case.

By Menachem M H

Apr 03, 2017

Not well explained. Do read the resources and spend time on YouTube and stack overflow to understand the concepts. Otherwise definetly a challenge and an interesting course

By CHITRESH K

Aug 21, 2017

Nicely explained , enough for solving the assignments. Good for understanding various techniques used in solving different and almost all possible problems efficiently.

By RITIK V

Apr 20, 2020

The course is overall good with lots of info but the explanation is little bit less in my

opinion and its not that easy to tackle . But at the end you will learn a lot.

By Kushal A

Jul 03, 2016

The course material is very good indeed, but some of the instructors were somewhat difficult to understand because of strong accents. Subtitles were largely inaccurate.

By Arpit V

Feb 13, 2019

The practice question helps with solidifying the understanding.

1 star less, as this could be improved by giving dry run of as an example for algorithm implementation.

By Jan R

Aug 22, 2017

Course content generally was interesting, though explanations were sometimes hard to follow. Slides could contain more information to make the matter easier to grasp.

By Eshan R S

Aug 25, 2018

Some instructor's accents were sometimes confusing, and the subtitles weren't good enough, but everything else was splendind and the exercises were well-thought-out.

By Shangqun y

Jun 30, 2017

Overall, the course is good, the programing problem is challenging, demanding a lot of thinking. I hope the explanation of the algorithmic can be more clear though.

By AVIK S

Jul 01, 2020

It is a little difficult for beginners but worth it. This course helped me understand the basics of algorithms. Should do this if anyone wants to learn algorithms.

By Daniele P

Aug 14, 2016

I learned a lot in this course and it was sufficiently challenging. My only qualm was that some of the pseudo-code was hard to understand and slightly misleading.

By 张艺谙

Oct 30, 2019

Most of the lessons are useful, but some parts are not much clear for me, so that I need to find some other materials.

The programming exercises are challenging.

By Socrates V F L

Aug 26, 2016

To complete this course you should be familiar with programming. While the first weeks are relatively easy to follow, last ones are really hard to keep up with.