Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
12,105 ratings

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

1976 - 2000 of 2,495 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Joseph W

Feb 11, 2017

Great course to follow along, I love how the homework assignments have the input template already in place so you can focus on the algorithm

By Arkin S

Jan 17, 2021

Some issues with the grader on occasion, and the dynamic programming knapsack problems can be explained better, but otherwise a solid 4/5.

By Pankaj K

Jun 23, 2020

The content is not enough and very less. And I understand for an online course this is enough, I had to refer external sources many times.

By Rashim N T

Aug 8, 2019

It is REALLY informative, but Assignments are VERY challenging. Sometimes instructor are difficult to understand but nevertheless amazing.

By Mr. B P R

May 30, 2018

It is a challenging course. The mentors have presented the concepts in a good way.The approach of designing algorithms is well understood.

By dheeraj

Jan 17, 2019

This is the best course on Algorithms and Data Structures online. This course ended up helping me in problem solving. I am very grateful

By Timmy M

Jul 10, 2022

great course. i wish that grading output was more specific at times, but overall i thought the course did a good job of challenging me

By Atharva R

Jul 26, 2020

good course, explains types of algorithm pretty well. Too many assignments associated with the course which makes the course lengthy.

By Chang W S

Jul 12, 2018

Perfect lecture for study algorithm...eventhough I started from scratch in data structures and algorithm knoledge, it helped me a lot

By AVIGYAN D

Jul 23, 2020

Explanation by the instructors can be more detailed and more explanation is needed along with more examples for better understanding

By Andrii K

Nov 23, 2022

Auto grade system is inconvenient to work with, in many cases you don't see any input parameters, only message that it didn't pass.

By Hangal O

Nov 16, 2022

It is a difficult course. Definitely for the more advanced students. Expect to take much longer to complete than the allotted time.

By Daksh T

Aug 4, 2020

I had a little problem with the Russian Pronunciation but rest assured everything was good.The concepts were explained wonderfully.

By Bowei H

Jun 4, 2019

For a beginner, it would be better to provide the test datasets as it can help learner find the bug in their program. (Too ACM now)

By Juan S Z M

Aug 5, 2016

It is a brilliant course, well organized and pretty interesting. However, the problems are not as challenging as one could expect.

By fengyu

Dec 12, 2017

the teacher explain the algorithm elaborately, it really useful for me. And the OJ is excellent, I really recommend this course.

By PRABAL M

May 28, 2020

Week 1 to week 4 was very descriptive but I didn't find the dynamic programming part descriptive enough to understand in depth.

By aamir a

Aug 13, 2019

Great course. The only thing i'd like to change will be the accent used in teaching videos. I was hard to understand sometimes.

By Dariusz D

Jun 17, 2018

it's quite good course which explain implementation, unfortunately book that can be bought as e-book doesn't contain solutions.

By Aldunin D A

Apr 15, 2018

I see no active help on the forum atm. 2nd part of dynamic programming is not explained detailed enough. All the other is fine.

By Michele P

Sep 19, 2017

The chapters about "greedy algorithms" and "divide and conquer" are well done. The one about "dynamic programming" lacks depth.

By Sahil

Aug 9, 2020

It's a good course, but I think that the lectures could have been better, especially those related to the dynamic programming.

By Harsh P

Jul 25, 2020

Useful course, but difficult at times to follow. The last few weeks get substantially more difficult than the first few weeks.

By Kirill S

Jul 21, 2021

Good course but sometimes very challenging to pass grader.

Minus one star because some weeks contain not enough explanations.

By Piyush K

Oct 24, 2020

Really cleared most of the basic concepts of DSA.

Taught how to think every problem statement from algorithmic point of view.