Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,445 ratings
861 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 13, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
May 26, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 841 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Thomas L

Jan 25, 2021

I thought this was an excellent overview of the basics of sorting and recursion algorithms and taught at a rigorous level appropriate for college students.

By John C

Jan 12, 2020

I loved it. It's challenging. Definitely requires some thought outside of what he videos cover for some of the quiz questions, but still totally doable.

By Parshwanath D

Jul 29, 2018

I'm not a Computer Science student and yet I found these lectures easy to follow. The programming exercises were a good mental exercise. Wonderful course!

By Abhishek V

Jan 3, 2017

Very good review of divide and conquer algorithms, however, I only recommend for those who are willing to put in the hard work as I found it challenging.

By Peshotan I

Aug 7, 2018

Very good course. Teaches the basics of algorithms very well. Lectures are great but I mostly studied from textbook (you can find it on amazon for $10).

By Mayur P

Jun 3, 2020

Can we do better?

Yes.

Search for best optimised way using Divide and Conquer..

Thanks to Tim (instructor) for creating such a great interactive program.

By andrew

Jun 18, 2019

Very well done and presented material! In depth and gives you a deeper understanding of the material (if you pay close attention in lectures that is)!

By Minsub L

Apr 6, 2019

Very good lecture to improve algorithm skills and basics for those who had not ever take class of algorithms. Thank you for your teaching, professor.

By Rebecca D

Mar 30, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned a great deal, and particularly enjoyed the programming assignments. Looking forward to starting course 2.

By John W

Jul 7, 2017

Really enjoyed watching the lectures and Prof Roughgarden's explanations. He did a good job diving just deep enough into the math without losing me.

By Liam Y

Jul 30, 2017

The course is challenging but rewarding. If you take diligent notes and make sure you rewatch videos as needed it yields a great deal of knowledge.

By Rush G

Jan 6, 2021

Remember that the course is based and more focused on the analysis part rather than the actual implementation of the algorithm part. Tim is genius

By Mohd S A

Jan 27, 2021

Hi,

Great professor, deep dives into key theorems, which bolsters confidence in the subject. Even complex theorem is taught in a friendly manner.

By Max L I

Aug 12, 2017

Tim Roughgarden does an amazing job at explaining this topic. The only very very small downside is, that video and voice are not always in sync.

By Yaz

Jan 5, 2018

An excellent course. Frees your mind from the high school paradigm of procedural approach to Maths at the expense of pure, ground up reasoning.

By Péricles L M

Jun 28, 2020

I had an amazing experience and a good review to main topics on Algorithms theory and I learned some nice new algorithms like Karger Algorthm.

By Himanshu G

Sep 14, 2017

Excellent course. Professor Roughgarden did a splendid job of explaining the most intricate details in a way understood by even weak students.

By NoneLand

Mar 17, 2018

This course is about following topics: large integers multiplication, merge sort, quick sort, master method and Karger's min-cut algorithms.

By Ian E

Apr 10, 2017

Professor Roughgarden explains everything clearly and is engaged in the topic. His excitement about algorithms comes though in his teaching.

By Piyush M

Aug 27, 2018

Tim is too good in explaining concepts, course is very detailed with very good quality assignments which gives good understanding of theory.

By shehab a s

Mar 28, 2021

this very fantastic course, the one thing in this course make it the best is explaining the topic in way why this work this way not another

By Vishal H

Jan 24, 2021

Amazing course! Helps tremendously in solving coding questions during interview. Learn the concepts from here and do LeetCode for practice.

By Caique D S C

Apr 17, 2019

Very good, just could have more programming exercises.

And It seems to me that the audio of the lectures is a little bit ahead of the video.

By Nicolas T

Oct 20, 2018

Great explanations, a formal course with an informal style. The fact that you can do the assignments in any programming language is a plus.

By Johnathan F

Jan 14, 2018

I love Tim's excitement for algorithms. He really stands out as a quality teacher in his selection of content, explanations and enthusiasm.