Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
8,353 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AS

Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AC

Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

Filter by:

1551 - 1575 of 1,685 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Aaron B

Aug 18, 2022

The course content was good, but it didn't have enough problems based on the math formulas shown. The final, peer-reviewed project was disappointing. I would rather answer many multiple choice questions in a final test instead of being at the mercy of a random internet-user's judgment for short answer questions.

By Andrew S

Nov 1, 2015

It's OK, I think there's a few areas that could use some more depth of explanation. As with a few coursera courses there seems to be an assumption that students know the material being discussed and so it isn't explained. Most of the time in this unit that isn't the case but it does occur a bit.

By Bernie M

Jan 4, 2016

Good course for those with limited exposure to business metrics. Would be more valuable to include 5 or 6 standard Key Performance Indicators (KPI's) by function (marketing, sales, operations, finance), etc. that will be typically encountered in an advanced undergraduate or MBA program.

By Mauritz S

Jun 14, 2017

The first weeks were a nice introduction to some of the basics of what data analysis is and how it is used. Unfortunately the last week displayed none of that as the professor just dropped you in the deep end, talking about financial analysis without explaining what anything really is.

By L. S

May 4, 2017

videos can be more interactive with more information on the slides. feel that slides downloaded is not worth the time. I seem to see the professor on screen more then important information we need to take note of. Some modules need to go indepth explanation but does not, especially on

By Grant V

Mar 2, 2017

This was a good introductory course, with some very informative video and instruction. I only give it 3 stars because I felt it really lacked interactivity. Although quizzes were required throughout, I felt too much of the class was simply sitting back and watching lectures.

By Felix M

Sep 5, 2019

To be honest, this course does not really qualify anyone for a job with certain metrics as it only scratches the surface. Further, the combination of jobs related to data such as a data scientist and the presented metrics and tasks do not really correspond in my opinion.

By Kartik S

Oct 26, 2020

The course structure was good. However, it was mentioned that no prior knowledge is required but a lot of things related to commerce which a CS graduate doesn't learn which made it hard for me to comprehend a lot of things. Also, my certificate isnt properly printed.

By Monique P

Aug 11, 2016

Pretty good overview for simple business metrics definitions and basic level analysis. It is a good refresher for those with an analytics background, but also puts things in a perspective from a business setting which is good for when you are working in the field.

By CARLOS A A T

Aug 2, 2020

There are many people whose native language is not English, in the course reference it is mentioned that it has subtitles in Spanish, during the course it was only the first video, hopefully they can change it and reach more people with the desire to learn.

By Aaron M

Jul 23, 2019

Great general overview on data analysis and common metrics used. However, there was a heavy emphasis on financials which becomes pretty technical and not explained clearly, so if you're not focused on financial data analysis I would pick another course.

By Andrew A

Oct 15, 2015

In my opinion this course is superficial. I didn't get real knowledge from it. At the same time this course might be just an intro to the series of courses about Business Analytics. So I'm looking forward to try them all!

Anyway, thanks for the course!

By fozan t

Aug 15, 2019

The course is bit short only 3 weeks of material and ,I think the material is also kind of an overview of busines metrics but overall its okay it would be great if there are more lecture material and assignments to practice the material.

By Edward J

Oct 29, 2020

This is a LONG course with a lot of videos. It needs more practical work to be truly engaging. That said - Daniel Egger really knows his stuff and I really appreciated the interviews with graduates in different industries. Thank you.

By Yuzhou

Jul 4, 2020

I like the teaching style of professor to include practical sections related to career path. I think it would be better if the content of this course can be richer and more practical, including more skill-related lessons.

By Thomas P

Jan 26, 2021

This course is a very good introduction to Business Analytics and what is required to become one. Though, I found it hard to follow lecture because the Professor speaks in a way that is very hard to follow naturally.

By Svetlana L

Jun 12, 2017

This is a very basic course, and too much time is spent on explaining basic business concepts. Videos could be much shorter with supplementary notes for those who are completely unfamiliar with business language.

By Ebad A

Oct 17, 2019

A good course that delved into introductory business metrics. However, more focus should have been on increasing tangible contents rather than talking about various data-driven roles in an organization.

By Asem A

Jan 28, 2019

First 2 weeks of the course are good and easy to understand, on the other hand , the last week was extremely difficult, full of concepts that are not easy to follow and contain a lot of financial terms

By Xin Y

Nov 19, 2021

Course structure is good, but asking students to grade the assignment makes me confused, cause its unprofessional, and some one seems to give you a lower grade if you have alreay marked his/her work.

By Augusto C

Feb 13, 2018

Although it was an introduction course, the fact that we did not touch a single data was really awkward for a business data analysis course. Nonetheless, I admit it help me a lot to clarify my ideas.

By Luis P

Jan 21, 2018

Its to simple, it coul be more practical. And get in to the business metrics that are truly usefull for enterprises, instead is a review of what are the things that do the people in business data.

By Malin F E C

Dec 2, 2019

Some topics are not explained well enough and I had to search Google to find out. For example all the calculations that needs to be more detailed, explained and provide us with more examples.

By Philip g

Feb 20, 2016

I found this course interesting, but a bit too simple.

From the answers of other students that I marked many are non-native speakers of English who hadn't really understood the questions.

By Bradley V

Apr 2, 2018

Would have given it four stars if it weren't for issues experienced with broken glossary links, course info errors and the lack of scope definition with the final peer review assignment.