Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
8,355 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AS

Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AC

Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

Filter by:

1576 - 1600 of 1,685 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Michael B

Jul 6, 2019

I'd appreciate more meaningful practice and elaboration of the terms discussed. This material went by very quickly, without spending much time learning and processing vocabulary.

By Kay S L

Jan 29, 2019

The examples from Amazon and Google were great, but the rest of the materials were quite mainstream, eg. cash flow, inventory. Also too much focus on the roles and marketplace.

By Kristina M

Mar 5, 2017

Why were we talking about money managers and hedge funds? What does that have to do with data analytics for business? I never saw the connection and they never explained it.

By Vincenzo

Aug 24, 2017

The business case on the Coffee Roaster company is really helpful. For the rest, it seems to me just a collection of disparate metrics with no solid foundation.

By N J

Feb 18, 2021

Found the overview of metrics insightful. Financial portion harder to follow, would have preferred more high level, same as other metrics discussed.

By Abhinav S

May 27, 2018

Everything was going good until week 3, in spite of passing the course week 3 remains a little blurry in my head because of lack of explanation.

By Quy N

Jun 24, 2022

The content is not interesting for me, it's not designed in the way that makes learners feel excited and curious to watch all of the content.

By neeshant r

Sep 18, 2020

I really like the first Weeks course where we have distinguished business metrics based on problems at hand.it was quite elaborated.Good.

By Jared A

Jul 23, 2017

The course is informative. I love the content and the subject, but it's dry in places, and it gets challenging to maintain my attention.

By Arjan Z

Feb 12, 2016

Good introduction to business metrics. I was less enthusiastic about all the investment metrics and formulas, but that might just be me.

By Chester J

Sep 2, 2017

Very basic course, pretty much an introduction into the Excel to SQL specialisation. Final assignment is not too challenging.

By Monica M

Mar 28, 2016

Very basic terms. Not very helpful for later concepts and would not recommend for business professionals that have experience

By Akand D

Mar 13, 2016

A lot of time devoted to the job stuff may not be super relevant for most students, and was certainly not super relvant too.

By Katrina E

Oct 10, 2016

Survey course. Excited to apply the knowledge and learn concrete skills in the upcoming courses within this specialization.

By Marek Z

Dec 25, 2015

The course for me was very simple and basic. I recommend it to students who makes their firs steps in this area.

By Tymon J

Feb 26, 2022

I was really hoping it would get more into the use of tools like SQL, not just mention them as being important.

By Kongbhop R

May 17, 2020

need course to be more deeper in specific/each content, and the grading is quite not reflect learning results.

By Luis d l R

May 4, 2016

The course content is good. However, by the review assigment i can see that the concepts were not clear, ther

By Shannon S

Jan 8, 2021

I wish the class went slower through the business metrics, showing more how to calculate and more examples.

By Quji B

Jan 19, 2021

The course is very short and has a small content. Final assignment doesn't have a straightforward grading.

By Govind S

Mar 5, 2016

A very useful course for budding professionals. Wouldn't recommend this to middle managers / data experts.

By Felix M M

Sep 2, 2016

Very good course, only 1 BIG disadvantage: you cannot take the quizzes unless you buy the certificate...

By Tim D

Dec 4, 2016

Interesting enough, good start to the specialization but not the most content for a standalone course.

By Michael F A

Apr 3, 2020

the data is very important but it needs much practical explanation and the tools used is not enough

By Dheeraj H

Apr 4, 2018

Good for beginners but the 3rd week is not explained in a clear way. Instructor was too hasty.