Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
8,355 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AS

Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AC

Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

Filter by:

1626 - 1650 of 1,685 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By ZUOQI X

Jan 29, 2022

for students enrolled in 2022.

By rajrajeshwar m

Jul 17, 2021

Great Course and instructor

By Subhash

Apr 19, 2020

Feels somewhat Boring!!!!

By Robert N

Dec 23, 2015

Meh. It was just okay.

By Brunno C G

Dec 28, 2020

Basic but interesting

By naela k

Oct 3, 2020

not of my interst

By Madhav K

Feb 28, 2020

content is less.

By Joaquín R L

Dec 27, 2016

Good intro

By Daniel B

Jun 27, 2017

Too easy.

By Ximena G

Feb 22, 2017

Boring!

By Aaron M C

Dec 6, 2018

I

By Cyril M

Aug 22, 2020

Disappointed. At the end I don't feel especially more equipped to work on Busines metrics.

Unless it is in the finance domain or on specific revenue metrics from online shops or some more very specific domains. A deep dive into finance too. very interesting if you are interested in Stocks and finance (which is my case), but probably a little specific for the large audience of this course.

On Profitability metrics Muda's, lead time, process time. and other more general notions that could be applied more widely.

The end assignment is a good demonstration of what was the central topic and what was more "fillings" => focus on metrics how to apply them.

I've seen other courses from the same time that was much mor interesting.

By Elvin D

May 10, 2020

The course touches to the points very broadly, and would probably be forgotten in a week after the completion. Main problem was that you find yourself jumping from topic to another and having basic knowledge of the subjects. I would expect to have narrow however deep understanding of the course.

The module would probably be nothing but a waste of time for someone who intends to grasp the idea of data management and metrics.

By Arun S

May 14, 2020

I purchased the Excel to MySQL: Analytic Techniques for Business Specialization, to learn about data analytics, mainly to transition from Excel to SQL. However, I personally felt this particular course about Business Metrics for Data Driven Companies could have been condensed, as it did not have any learning related to data tools. Hopefully, my requirements are covered in the next 3 courses.

By Kaela W

Feb 7, 2016

Everything was either super basic or else more advanced but so niche that it doesn't really apply to everyone and we don't need to learn it in that depth. Would have liked to learn a lot more about how to determine what KPIs you should be measuring in different businesses, what kinds of metrics are important, etc. The very large majority of this course will never be applicable to me.

By Mark A

Mar 8, 2018

The description of the course/series does not adequately represent what is taught, more details up front about the material covered would have helped set expectations. The first course in the series focuses primarily on terminology, with little practical application. Almost all of the material was on finance & accounting.

By Dona G

Jan 20, 2021

Finished first week of work. Not designed for people with business degree who are looking to expand technical data analysis skills. It goes over many fundamental concepts of Business Administration.

By Fausto P F

Nov 9, 2022

Unfortunately, very poor video and audio quality, and the topics not clearly explained. Daniel Egger seems like a outstanding professional but he lacks on teaching skills.

By Vikram R

Mar 9, 2016

Found it boring and pretty irrelevant. I was hoping to lean more on metrics especially in the digital marketing section. Pretty let down and $79 waste

By Nagraj N

Apr 16, 2018

Course material is too heavy for a beginner. I would not be able to continue. For a new comer it is an heavy stuff taught like a brushing up course.

By Maggie L

Dec 8, 2015

I really did not like the portion that went into detail about business analytics and related career paths. Not a technical skill or ne

By Injah S

Oct 17, 2017

It would help to have more interaction whether via slides or examples.

By Deleted A

Aug 30, 2019

Very bare bones and mostly irrelevant to the industry

By Vadym H

Jun 24, 2016

Authors are too greedy for the course material.

By Zuoren P

Jun 28, 2016

Can be packed into a two-week course.