Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
1,024 ratings
300 reviews

About the Course

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

Top reviews

JC
Apr 1, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB
Apr 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 298 Reviews for Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

By Felipe A

Mar 4, 2018

Excellent!!!

By jammf420 j

Apr 20, 2021

I LOVE this

By Alvarado P M T

Feb 6, 2021

Interesante

By P. S

Jun 25, 2020

Good 👍👍👍

By DANNY C C G

Jun 6, 2020

Es perfecto

By Jesús G c V

Jun 4, 2019

genial !!!!

By triorez25 T

Apr 6, 2017

awwwwwsome

By Abdullah G

Apr 10, 2020

Excellent

By Owais R

Sep 17, 2017

Its worth

By Carlos G

Jul 10, 2017

Very good

By Heron A C

Apr 29, 2021

exelente

By Albert

Dec 30, 2017

Excelent

By Jhon F G L

Feb 23, 2019

Great !

By Dillon T

Jun 20, 2016

Awesome

By Kathryn M

Mar 31, 2021

Loved

By Mona A A

May 15, 2021

GOOD

By RAGHUVEER S D

Jul 25, 2020

good

By Jarrad R

May 23, 2019

nice

By Danelle L

Jun 7, 2016

I'

By Kym M

Jun 1, 2019

A

By Robert C C

Apr 25, 2016

G

By Carlo

Sep 9, 2017

Good class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in four weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, interactive geologic time scale and phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) Unfortunately, too often the course sounded too much like a catalog of facts. More scientific reasoning would have been nice.

By Dorothy F S

Nov 9, 2020

Covers comparative evolution and explains how groups adapted to marine environments. Nomenclature-all the subfamilies, etc. was confusing and the evolutionary tree was hard to understand. It would have been good to be able to see all the groups at once on the tree. Liked the updates on research and the maps showing where specimens have been found, Could have gone into the geology a little more.

By Guy M

Apr 11, 2020

There is a great deal of content in this course and as always the course materials are excellent. I would prefer at least two presenters to break up the style of the single presenter used. I find his presenting style quite hard. He sounds patronising when he introduces the quizzes and his pronunciation is at times rather odd. Phil Currie could teach him a thing or two.

By DC

Jun 22, 2018

It's pretty good, though be prepared to be beaten to death with MANY often confusing and nearly unpronounceable taxonomic terms. Can't be helped I guess. Those who took the early vertebrate evolution course will be pleased to note that Mr. (Dr.?) Persons is a bit more subdued in this one with a bit less theatrical style.