Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM

4.7
2,205 ratings
207 reviews

About the Course

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with data. You will learn about location data and different location data providers, such as Foursquare. You will learn how to make RESTful API calls to the Foursquare API to retrieve data about venues in different neighborhoods around the world. You will also learn how to be creative in situations where data are not readily available by scraping web data and parsing HTML code. You will utilize Python and its pandas library to manipulate data, which will help you refine your skills for exploring and analyzing data. Finally, you will be required to use the Folium library to great maps of geospatial data and to communicate your results and findings. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

LD

Oct 24, 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

TH

Jul 10, 2019

This is a great course and lots of fun. But it is a big commitment and you need to take it seriously. To get the most out of this course you will need to spend at least 30 hours doing it.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 206 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By Prateek V

Jun 08, 2019

Best Course i have ever studied online

By Rohan B

Aug 08, 2019

Lets you do the actual work of working on something you like with all the tools this course has equipped you with in previous courses.

By Satya V P C

Aug 17, 2019

Very good that, This modules makes the preparer to learn and practically implement the concepts what is learned in the last 8 modules.

This is very helpful.

By Lam C V D

Aug 16, 2019

I considered the project Advanced level for a beginner in Data Science

By Shirley C

Aug 17, 2019

Intense and very rewarding at the end of hard work :-)

By Sheen D

Aug 18, 2019

It is nice to put all the learning into test, work on some creative project.

By Rakesh P

Aug 23, 2019

Very engaging course

By Nguyen D H C

Aug 26, 2019

That's great !!!

By Suguna P

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent, well designed and well explained

By LINDA A L

Jul 01, 2019

Flying with Python: https://xkcd.com/353/

By Omid M

Jul 03, 2019

Very good and creative course

By Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Luis H

Jul 09, 2019

No es posible concluir el último ejercicio.

By Lingjun K

Jul 08, 2019

Wonderful journey much rewarding I am totally satisfied.

By Ted H

Jul 10, 2019

This is a great course and lots of fun. But it is a big commitment and you need to take it seriously. To get the most out of this course you will need to spend at least 30 hours doing it.

By Yibing S

Jul 10, 2019

This course is instructive and challenging at the same time. Now I do wish I know a bit more about python and pandas before I jump in this course. But in the end I managed to get through.

By Sergei M

Jul 09, 2019

Excellent course that at the same time provides rich set of tools to get insights from raw data and also stimulate to learn a bunch of additional methods and techniques to make this capstone project perfect!

By James C

Jul 14, 2019

Good class, very useful. Peer grading is a great idea, don't like the practice of posting notes in the forum with subjects like "You grade mine and I'll grade yours." At the least, it gives the appearance of cheating. It is also wasteful, as it leads to some assignments being graded multiple times while others are waiting in the queue. This is a practice that Coursera encourages, which is baffling to me. Even in the last class in a 9 class series, I ran into people submitting blank or nearly blank assignments, with no content or inappropriate content, who were apparently hoping for a pity pass or cheating.

By Pooja S

Jul 14, 2019

It was very awesome!

By Hari S J

Jul 14, 2019

Great learning experience

By P M N

Jul 15, 2019

Thank You

By Jonathan J W

Sep 01, 2019

Good examples, very practical. Also, good capstone project, well structured with the sections very close to the real world data science analytic report.

By Heminkumar B M

Sep 03, 2019

Good way of learn.

By Filipe S M G

Sep 05, 2019

This is the most difficult and time consuming part of the specialization. However, it gives a feeling that we are working in something meaningful, in a realistic application.

By Shashank R

Sep 06, 2019

Great