Chevron Left
Back to AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
665 ratings
192 reviews

About the Course

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Top reviews

EM

Jun 08, 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

VP

Jul 23, 2020

looking forward to an advanced course from the team.The course has motivated me to go deeper in to the science and technology of astronomy.The modules are designed and delivered superably

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 188 Reviews for AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

By Kinnari S B

May 05, 2020

Too good!Andy and Catherine don't just explain us things they make us feel like we are actually doing them especially the detector technology and spectroscopy part.I would surely recommend this course to one who is an astrophile + a tech enthusiast.

By Carla P M N

Jun 01, 2017

It gave me a more deep notion about how some of the most important space discoveries have been done and I'm truly amazed by their beautiful complexity and ingenuity, it also let me with the feeling that there is still so much more to understand.

By Sai G P

May 11, 2020

Great explanation and teaching! learnt a lot of new things and clarified my doubts. I would recommend this course to any budding Astronomer to under how do the devices work which are used to capture and understand the ever-expanding cosmos.

By BHOSLE S S

Jun 20, 2020

An excellent opportunity for astrophysics enthusiast for anyone in an enginnering or an applied physics background as you get a clear understanding of various celestial objects and how modern astronomy differs from the ancient astronomy.

By RAJA V M

Jul 25, 2020

This course helped me build my basics about astronomy. I now know things i couldn't have learnt otherwise. Such an intriguing course. And for an amateur astronomer this is definitely the course that I would recommend. Simply loved it.

By farid h i

Jun 22, 2020

I am excited to learning a new knowledge about

Physics and Astronomy. It is new experience to me in this course.Thanks for our lecturers/tutors for given this opportunity to learning this knowledge. And sorry for my poor English .

By Gustavo A Z D

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent course, it was an amazing opportunity to learn from very kind and smart persons like Prof. Andy and Prof. Catherine, I really learned a lot about space, things that I never thought they existed, and how things work.

By Vivek S

Jul 04, 2020

ONE OF THE BEST INSTRUCTORS I HAVE EVER STUDIED UNDER. Ms.Catherine and Mr.Andy did an exceptional job in offering us a FUN and KNOWLEDGABLE course on BASIC ASTROPHYSICS!!! Must learn course to all inspiring Astrophysicists!

By Utkarsh D

May 15, 2020

It was a great experience learning about the universe and the modern technology that we use to understand the nature of the universe and explain scientifically about the various phenomenon taking place in space.

Thank you

By Bessie S

May 14, 2020

The maths questions struck a great balance between challenging intuition but accessible (maths skills wise) and the explanations of concepts were really clear! Enjoyed and would definitely recommend :)

By Emmanuel D M

Jun 08, 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

By Antonio B

Jul 11, 2017

Explanations are clear and insightful. The concepts discussed are far from simple, but they are exposed in a very natural way. An extended, deeper version or a follow up course would be nice!

By Anubhab S

Jul 24, 2020

An excellent course for beginners who are willing to explore Space Technology at greater depths. The instructors are great and the knowledge imparted is fluid and easy to understand.

By Karan C C

Apr 03, 2020

Over all good experience, subject taught very well, and also practical things experimental set up and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are explaining very well.

By Khondaker t m

Jun 21, 2020

I think the course is easy to understand for college level student. Now, i have a clear understanding of Many known things. Thanks for the well described lesson and teachings.

By Anagha M

Aug 06, 2020

A great experience. Very well explained. Practical things experimental set up of spectroscopy and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are taught sincerely.

By Talha S

Jul 07, 2020

The whole course was explained in a convenient and outstanding way especially in the last week , the spectroscopy instruments , that helps a lot for a better understanding.

By Christian A

Jun 06, 2020

Is interesting and a complete course to objectives that are proposed. The topics are basics, making it more advantageous to introduce a person to the world of astronomy

By Alikhan B

Feb 11, 2020

The entire six week was really wonderful and informative. Andy and Catherine have that special talent to keep the students focused and excited at the same time.

By Marta C

Mar 26, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much, professors gave an overview of a complicated matter in a clear and simple way without being trivial, thank you!

By sebastian q

Jan 16, 2020

a great introductory course to understand the technology behind modern astronomy, its recommended if you are a complete beginner to astronomy.

By Yulia B

Oct 27, 2019

Very accessible and at the same time informative. Introduction and use of formulas are great for keeping it serious even at the intro level.

By George V P

Mar 03, 2017

A very interesting course for beginners and a very good first step in pursuing deeper knowledge. Thank you Edinburgh University and Coursera

By Aarón G H

May 02, 2020

A great option to understand how different astronomical achievements have been possible with the indispensable co-work with technology.