Chevron Left
Back to Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
643 ratings
148 reviews

About the Course

Designing for an organization, while requiring technical skill, is not just about knowing how to use a pagination program such as InDesign or manipulate photos using Photoshop. A designer is a visual storyteller, a person who pairs words with images and typography to best convey information to an audience. Good design evokes emotion and presents the news of the day with clarity and the proper tone. A business card, brochure, or website that has good design provides content that is more inviting, more easily comprehensible and is faster to process. Design isn’t about “making it look pretty,” it’s also about content, layout and audience analysis....

Top reviews

O
Aug 21, 2020

Thank you for making such a good online course. Designing is my hobby, I didn't know what's behind the good, simple and eye-catchy designs, but I know some of the basic principles know. Thanks.

LP
Oct 18, 2020

It is really full of knowledge that they shared and lots of articles that contain relevant topics that help me to add my knowledge and wisdom about design. Thank you DOST! Thank you, Coursera!

Filter by:

126 - 147 of 147 Reviews for Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview

By Pranavi A

Jun 6, 2020

It is good

By Aly H

Sep 11, 2020

thank you

By A Y

Nov 17, 2020

Good

By Muhammad H

May 8, 2020

Nice

By Ajay R B

May 1, 2020

.

By Juan V

Dec 25, 2020

Taught me a lot of basics I was looking for. It was easy to understand and learn, the quiz process is simple and you have to learn everything in the quiz to be able to pass it. I'm not a big fan of a peer review for the final assignment though. That would be my only con, this is no fault of the professor's though, she was really good and explained things well. I just wish a professor was grading the final assignment as opposed to getting an average grade from other students who are also trying to learn.

By Lisa G

Nov 21, 2020

This is a great overview of material that I have used intuitively, but did not have the rationale for prior to this course. I wish that the Coursera platform for taking notes while watching the video allowed the viewer to drag the transcript to the side of the video, to allow reading and saving notes while listening more smoothly. Once in the note section below, it is cumbersome to keep listening and to highlight the notes. Otherwise, this has been a very accessible course. Thank you!

By Diana R T

Nov 26, 2020

The content is great, but I find maybe a little bit unneccesary to learn about all history of design considering that the course is for non-designers, and the sound in some videos could be better, but other than that everything is great.

By Danae D

Oct 13, 2020

Thank you very much for this course! I like the combination of text, examples and videos. I would like more info , not just in theoritical base, such as some basic first steps in illustrator or photoshop or just an example done.

By Francis A

Oct 22, 2020

The course is short, but I had learned a lot in designing. Knowing the basics of designing makes it much more easier to do than before. Thank you!

By Deleted A

Aug 19, 2020

Interesting and good overall, but perhaps a bit too simple/easy.

By Saqlain A

Sep 25, 2020

Great course for the basic understanding of graphic designing

By Hafiz M T

Dec 22, 2020

A good introductory course. Thank you Madam Lori Poole.

By Pawan k

Aug 20, 2020

fantastic tutorials easily to understandable,

By Thais X G

Sep 22, 2020

Introduction to Graphic Design. It is OK!

By Sara A

May 20, 2020

Good content, best instructor.

By Missy P

Apr 8, 2020

Enjoyed this course!

By DHAMSE A S

Aug 29, 2020

GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!

By Ruhma f

Apr 27, 2020

very helpful to me!

By Sudeepti P

Aug 27, 2019

Good course!

By Nandan P

Nov 30, 2020

This course is suited well for middle school students because of the extreme simple concepts, lack of nuanced detail, or unique real life examples. It seem that the interesting parts of a real graphic design course were stripped away and the bare bones, 101 of graphic design was left behind (e.g. color, spacing, alignment), concepts you learn when making a power point in high school. Would recommend skipping and going pursuing a real course.

By Muhammad A

Jan 22, 2021

I am not interested in this course