Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
2,535 ratings
667 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS
Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 654 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Timo K

Mar 13, 2019

Very good overview to the area. Efficient and clear lectures - emphasis on the quizzes that required just a proper amount of focus and time from my personal point of view.

By Maurice

Apr 27, 2020

Presenter is awesome. Just the right pace - and very clear. Material is well thought of.

Only latex formula's don't show up that nice in Chrome... Had to switch to Safari.

By Julian R S

Nov 15, 2017

A great introduction to bayesian statistics. I warmly recommend this course to those already familiar with the frequentist approach and willing to expand their knowledge.

By Dariia V

May 7, 2019

simple, clear and enjoyable. will take the second course in the series, then move to heavy literature on the topic.

Special thank you to the instructor! you are amazing!

By KJ B

Jul 14, 2017

This is a good course. The instructor offers additional material that help with the understanding of the material, along with enough quizzes to help with practical use.

By Marc N E D

Mar 13, 2020

Very good and concise course. I would, however, propose to delve more into theoretical mathematics and explain them with more detail as it seemed to advance very fast.

By Quan N

Aug 2, 2017

This course helped me a lot in getting a better understanding of Bayesian methods. I recommend this course for all data scientists and machine learning practitioners.

By Brian K

Feb 19, 2019

Great introduction to Bayesian statistics. Very helpful for me, especially for understanding some of the times when priors might be useful, and how they can aid me.

By Frank K

Jul 1, 2017

Taking this course hase been fun. The material is presented in a clear and structured way, the Tests help to understand and deepen the knowledge. I can recommend it.

By Sankarshan M

Aug 27, 2017

very good course with good concept and work. Content is very rich. Assignments are very good. It was very helpful for me. Thanks for providing such a good course.

By Neal S

Apr 10, 2020

Overall a great course! The honors assignments helped deepen the understanding of the concepts, and weren't just extra work.

The instruction videos are a bit dry.

By ENRICO S

Aug 17, 2017

Great course. I was more confident in frequentist than Bayesian one so, I found this course very enlightening for me and topics' structure has never been boring.

By Patricia B

Aug 1, 2017

Necessary concepts are reviewed to the necessary depth. This is a rigorous yet light material that presents statistics on university intermediate/advanced level.

By Luca M

May 16, 2017

A concise and clear introduction to the Bayesian paradigm. Its conciseness make it suitable for frequentists wanting to get a quick overview of the Bayesian Way.

By Hiep B

Dec 2, 2017

Thank you so much, Herbert Lee. I really like the way you explain everything clearly and how you organizes the contents. I recommend this course for my friends.

By Elma J

May 11, 2020

excellent course to understand Bayesian approach. i have good idea bout prior and posterior probability, predictive distribution , maximum likelihood estimates

By Raj K

Dec 29, 2019

The awesome course really liked the mathematically. If someone really want to understand the Bayesian statistics, they should definitely go through this once.

By Fabian S

Jan 18, 2018

A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics for everyone who has some basic knowledge of calculus and is familiar with the fundamentals of probability theory.

By Antoine N

Aug 21, 2017

Great introduction to the Bayesian framework! The exercises are relevant and I look forward to the second part (Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models).

By Isaac D

Jan 20, 2017

A step by step course, designed to pay attention all the time with tons of practical examples and very clear explanations, I would definitely recommend it!!

By jl b

Jun 11, 2020

Herbert is clear, gives great examples, and is easy to follow. The question prompts are helpful, and the quizzes thoughtful and challenging. Great course.

By Naveen M N S

Sep 21, 2017

Very good course for fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. Made me understand Monte Hall problem, conditional probability, etc. in a totally different way.

By Pawel R

Oct 3, 2016

The course creates great foundations for digging deeper into more complex concepts and trying to run some Bayesian statistics on simple real life problems

By Mohan R

Dec 1, 2019

A mathematics course I really enjoyed because the instructor was actually teaching the material as best as one could without meeting the students. Great.

By Laure N

Mar 6, 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your knowledge with the public. Now I am no more afraid to face the book 'Bayesian Data Analysis' by A. Gelman et al.