Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
3,054 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS

Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 787 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Tommaso C

Nov 23, 2021

Difficult to work on assignments because it was unclear how to implement the knowledge discussed during the lecture

By Angela C

Jan 2, 2022

The material is quite hard for someone who has only basic knowledge in statistics. But the excercises are helpful.

By Muksitul I

Jul 2, 2018

Well explained and articulated. You can apply it straight to your work problems. I really enjoyed doing the course.

By Sankar M

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent introductory course. Some of the concepts in the later part of the course are not explained well though.

By Robert G

Jul 3, 2019

Overall great course, the last part (linear regression) seems somewhat disconnected from the rest of the course.

By lai p w

Jan 1, 2018

I can learn the concept, but need to understand the details well in other ways. eg. reading, or searching online

By Jose a z r

Aug 28, 2017

Very helpfull course. I will use the principles taugh for other topics like machine learning. Thans for sharing.

By Jan B

Oct 3, 2020

Great course with a good theory/practice balance, but examples could be a bit more refreshing and less boring.

By Pranesh K

Mar 10, 2017

The course is excellent to learn all the basic stuff needed to master the technique of Bayesian Data Analysis.

By Guruprasad K

Jun 25, 2020

More assignments and live and truncky examples applying the principles would make course even more wonderful

By Somnath C

Dec 3, 2016

I wish the last week were more explanatory. Although overall now I do have an idea. It's a good course. :-)

By Sarah D

Aug 4, 2020

Could do with more exercises.

However, I found some elsewhere on the internet, so that was complementary

By Marco

Jul 30, 2020

Pretty good introductory material overall. Only disappointing part was the section on linear regression.

By Sergio

Sep 30, 2018

Very nice introductory course, practical and to the point. Good starting point for more detailed courses

By Mangmang Z

Jan 11, 2018

A little hurry in the normal distribution part, otherwise a great course for Bayesian introduction.

By Vinicius M E M

Jul 22, 2021

Excelente curso, porém acredito que uma implementação dos códigos também em Python seria perfeito.

By guangyuan l

Mar 7, 2019

a little bit difficult, I think you need to hold a solide background toward inferential statistics

By M D

May 16, 2018

I expected more examples to be solved or at least it could be provided as supplementary materials

By Jean-Jacques P

Jan 3, 2020

The course is good but requires a lot of homework if you are rusty on probability/statistics...

By Seeun P

Nov 11, 2017

Very Useful

It was little difficult to understand what the professor , but anyway it was good.

By Pierre-Nicolas J

Oct 31, 2021

Very good! Many exercises - of an appropriate level - helping understand the content

By Raman K

Apr 8, 2017

Steep learning curve. really taxed my thinking capacity. I enjoyed it thoroughly!

By LittleStone

Nov 12, 2016

A very good course which enlights me the study of bayesian statistics, thank you.

By Jure J

Dec 6, 2022

Some aspects are very well covered while some points qould be more elaborated.

By Luciano F R F

Nov 17, 2016

Unfortunately I could not finish the course in due time. But it is very useful.