Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,895 ratings
1,234 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

LM
Jul 29, 2019

Comprehensive and clear course that summarize the basic concepts to understand the blockchain technology. Also the resources and contents included are very valuables. I totally recommend this course.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 1,230 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Thomas C

Dec 26, 2020

Very informative. Provides comprehensive information on almost all fundamental aspects of how blockchains function.

By Aniket D

Oct 20, 2019

This one a good introductory course to Blockchain. The programming assignments could be a little more challenging.

By Wesley E C

Sep 3, 2019

User experience is great, easy and concise learning. Assignments can use a bit (optional) elaboration on coding.

By Ben G s

Sep 19, 2020

i've watched already from a drive thats why i wanted to learn it and i loved how is detailed loved this course

By Dr. M S

May 17, 2020

It was good learning about Blockchain. How technology works and how we can check the transaction in blockchain.

By gaurab m

Jun 13, 2020

The course was great. The resources are just awesome. Kindly read all the articles and journals in the course.

By Jayanta k T

Jan 16, 2021

Y it was great to learn learn about this awesome technology and its underlying Technology. Thanks Coursera.

By Wenlong W

May 19, 2019

Quite useful reading links provided in the reading sections. The lecture videos are not really informative.

By Pushpanjali K

Jul 6, 2018

Good course to start with on Blockchain. The project is cool through it takes multiple attempts to complete

By Qifei Z

Jun 12, 2020

Too many reading materials attached. Would be good if the professor and walk through some of the contents.

By Arvind K S

Oct 14, 2019

The content was good for a jumpstart to the technology but the project work could have been more

engaging.

By Deshagette

Jan 27, 2019

Ce cours Blockchain Basic m'a vraiment permis de découvrir cette nouvelle approche de gestion de données.

By Wim S

Nov 27, 2018

There are some typo's in the text, one is anoying since is indicates ins't where I think it should be is.

By DOMINGO B

Aug 30, 2020

It covers the basics of blockchain, giving the tools to begin understanding and working with blockchain

By SIVADANAM Y L

Jun 10, 2020

very interesting and helpful for beginners. of course it is a basic course but got lots of stuff thanks

By BHASKAR M

Sep 24, 2018

The Instructions in the Project was not very clear. It took me more than 4 hrs to complete this task.

By Gary C

Sep 19, 2018

Good information, however getting the project to run was a little challenging on my Windows machine.

By Sudhir K

Jul 28, 2019

Little more detail in terms of how "difficulty" is created and used by miners could have helped.

By TUSHAR B

Jun 14, 2020

this course gave a very good understanding of how cryptocurrency(Bitcoin and Etherium) works.

By Cristian M S L

Apr 25, 2020

Is a very goood course, has a balance between videos/reading and test. Some links are broken.

By Ronak U

Oct 16, 2020

Nice Course but very less practical knowledge (due to requirement of high computation power)

By Prajay S

May 10, 2020

The videos were a bit below par. The content could have been presented with more examples.

By Matt H

Sep 22, 2018

I felt that a lot of the tests were just copy paste - but overall liked to course material

By Davis Y

Jan 11, 2020

It's okay but not great. give you basic concept and guide you understand the fundamental

By Chakradhar T

Sep 26, 2019

Its very helpful to learn the blockchain basics that cover bitcoin and ethereum as well.