Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,539 ratings
339 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 332 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Manas K K

Dec 31, 2017

P

By Shabana S

Jun 18, 2018

super engaging, there's no extra fluff that's not applicable. a good use of time

By 黄俊皓

Nov 30, 2017

the course is easy to learn , thank all that the course teacher

By JOSÉ B A F

Feb 24, 2018

The course achieved all my expectations.

By Luis E C

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent resource for a manager in data science projects.

By Setia B

Nov 30, 2017

Great course to understand several different roles in data science team.

By Carlos M

Aug 13, 2017

Excelent!

By Ananda M

Oct 06, 2015

Very good practical review of the composition of a data science team.

By David I S

Mar 29, 2017

Very good overview , very interesting and with a very good management approach.

By Ramy M

Oct 04, 2015

Thanks for your efforts, I can't put my hand on something specifically and say good job! but you did a great job! thanks for sharing your knowledge for everyone on earth without any complication!

You have taught me a lot and I own you a lot!

By 周宁 N Z L

Mar 28, 2016

Easy to understanding the structure knowledge of building a data science team.

By Ghada

Feb 14, 2016

Very enjoyable and useful.

By Anton M

Jul 06, 2017

Short, great teacher, interesting

By Jose A R N

Sep 30, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career.

Please, take a look at my LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards

By Michelle W

Feb 28, 2018

Succinct and engaging.

By Jurie S

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

By Nilanjan D

Apr 01, 2017

Good introduction to managing a team from the perspective of Data Science.

By Naren

Mar 02, 2017

Very helpful and easy learning and objec

By Andrew R

Mar 07, 2017

Great class!

By Federico Z

Apr 26, 2018

Excelente la organización de las clases. Ejemplos claros que sirven para fortalecer la parte más conceptual del curso.

By Y R S

Apr 22, 2018

It was a good refresher for me on management strategies and learn specifically Data Science team related people management topics.

By Stephanie A

Jun 21, 2017

Excellent Instruction

By Ahmed T

Apr 25, 2017

Excellent

By Jhon C

Feb 06, 2017

Great knowledge

By James L

Mar 27, 2017

As usual the team does a great job of distilling complex ideas without sacrificing the quality of information. Data Science is a complicated field. Don't be fooled by the topics, the walk before you run approach is super productive for your learning curve if you're not native to this field.