Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,568 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Shabana S

Jun 18, 2018

super engaging, there's no extra fluff that's not applicable. a good use of time

By Y R S

Apr 22, 2018

It was a good refresher for me on management strategies and learn specifically Data Science team related people management topics.

By Sylvia M

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent course with the right amount of detail. Examples were directly applicable and additional resources are a bonus.

By Mirza A b

Jul 23, 2017

Excellent experience

By Kiru M N

Aug 19, 2017

Very Informative

By Luis E B C

Dec 04, 2016

I will be using in my project,

It is really important to articulate the various areas of my organization with the data censors, can work transversally

By Jhon C

Feb 06, 2017

Great knowledge

By Anton M

Jul 06, 2017

Short, great teacher, interesting

By Luis E C

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent resource for a manager in data science projects.

By Laurie J P

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent lecturer and the topic focuses on issues specific to data science teams rather than general business practice.

By Felix E R P

Jun 15, 2016

Good course to build a foundation on how to recruit your data science team

By Stephanie A

Jun 21, 2017

Excellent Instruction

By Ahmed T

Apr 25, 2017

Excellent

By Ashley K

Dec 27, 2017

Great overview, especially if you're a first time manager or getting ready to lead your first data science team. Formative, but just listening (took me one afternoon), gives me more confidence moving forward.

By Fanick S B A

Jun 18, 2016

It does what it says

By William J W

Jun 20, 2018

What a great overview of a data science team and what it takes to build one. As a graduate with a MBA, concentration in DSBA, it took this course to really understand the makeup of a data science team and how to build one. I plan on meshing my understanding of how a business works with my newfound understanding of DS teams!

By Silvia T

May 01, 2018

Excellent course. Great presentations.

By LeAndria C

Sep 28, 2015

G

By Matthew B

Apr 21, 2016

Great advice, helpful reference material.

By James L

Mar 27, 2017

As usual the team does a great job of distilling complex ideas without sacrificing the quality of information. Data Science is a complicated field. Don't be fooled by the topics, the walk before you run approach is super productive for your learning curve if you're not native to this field.

By Anand S

May 01, 2017

This class was a great introduction to the topic of building a data science team.

The material was practically oriented, cited a lot of relevant external sources (e.g., news articles about data science), and was easy to understand.

The production quality was excellent - easy to listen to, ready to follow the slides, and the questions immediately followed each short segment.

I would have preferred it if the Professor had gone through different examples of data scientist and data engineering resumes to show me what performers in each quintile look like and what signals distinguish members of each quintile from the higher or lower quintile. Apart from the signals, and interview questions used to elicit these signals, how would the ability levels be different.

By Ramy M

Oct 04, 2015

Thanks for your efforts, I can't put my hand on something specifically and say good job! but you did a great job! thanks for sharing your knowledge for everyone on earth without any complication!

You have taught me a lot and I own you a lot!

By Carlos M

Aug 13, 2017

Excelent!

By Elia B

Apr 10, 2016

Very informative

By Isaiah M

Jun 19, 2016

Very challenging and practical