Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,568 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Nupur B

Sep 30, 2015

Very Informative & Elaborate

By Sophie L B

Mar 04, 2018

very nice. The boundaries of skills between data engineers and data scientists are sometimes a little artificial but I enjoyed the material a lot.

By Luis E B C

Dec 04, 2016

I will be using in my project,

It is really important to articulate the various areas of my organization with the data censors, can work transversally

By William J W

Jun 20, 2018

What a great overview of a data science team and what it takes to build one. As a graduate with a MBA, concentration in DSBA, it took this course to really understand the makeup of a data science team and how to build one. I plan on meshing my understanding of how a business works with my newfound understanding of DS teams!

By Fanick S B A

Jun 18, 2016

It does what it says

By Olga A

Jan 19, 2017

Very good course! Thanks to it, i got an interest in developing my skills in Data Analysis further.

By Josue P

Jul 27, 2017

very useful information with excelent and enjoyable exposition

By bojana m

Jun 08, 2016

Well organized body of knowledge on how to build efficient data science team, from 0 to 60. Addresses a number of challenges including how to build an inter-disciplinary team, what to expect from practitioners from different disciplines, how to recognize right candidates, how to assign the right mix of practitioners to right business problems, how to cross-polinate the knowledge, how to keep feedback loops at professional level as it's fraught with potential for conflicting opinions, when to stop analysis, how to empower the team to initiate next iterations with business, common pitfalls and more. Worth every $ and all the time you'll spend on it.

By Sylvia M

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent course with the right amount of detail. Examples were directly applicable and additional resources are a bonus.

By Matthew B

Apr 21, 2016

Great advice, helpful reference material.

By Anand S

May 01, 2017

This class was a great introduction to the topic of building a data science team.

The material was practically oriented, cited a lot of relevant external sources (e.g., news articles about data science), and was easy to understand.

The production quality was excellent - easy to listen to, ready to follow the slides, and the questions immediately followed each short segment.

I would have preferred it if the Professor had gone through different examples of data scientist and data engineering resumes to show me what performers in each quintile look like and what signals distinguish members of each quintile from the higher or lower quintile. Apart from the signals, and interview questions used to elicit these signals, how would the ability levels be different.

By Silvia T

May 01, 2018

Excellent course. Great presentations.

By Stephen L

Oct 04, 2015

I thought this course was great.

By Antonio P L

Sep 26, 2015

Great Course

By Paul H

Jan 04, 2017

Great overview, lots of useful tips, and an interesting angle to approach data science that i was not well versed in.

By Mukesh R

Jul 04, 2017

This course proved very useful to me as I am in the process of setting up a data science team for my customer.

By tommy c

May 23, 2016

great for existence human and android based life-form simulation internal lifestyle...

The course improves life within the simulation 10 fold at least(when combined with the other specialization courses) ...

Perfect learning tool for those who have worked professionally in research field sin our simulation and yet now have a touch of "the turrings" or you know : CBI...

Special thanks to the designers of the course.

Top scores for coursera.org &John Hopkins ...

By Nisha S

Aug 26, 2017

This course is a good-start for new Data science managers

By Shibaji M

Sep 20, 2015

This is a great course for helping you decide where you fit in the data science domain. The content is very clear, informative and have definite suggestions and conclusions. Unlike most of the information available on this topic, which mostly says that you need to be a unicorn to be in this space, this course talks sense, divides scope, suggests achievable targets and you can plan and assess rationally.

Also Jeff is a classic teacher,it's always rewarding to listen to him whatever be the topic.

By Vijai K S

Feb 10, 2016

Short yet nice :)

By Ashley K

Dec 27, 2017

Great overview, especially if you're a first time manager or getting ready to lead your first data science team. Formative, but just listening (took me one afternoon), gives me more confidence moving forward.

By Lisa G

Oct 27, 2016

Really well put together material and the Jeff Leek is engaging as a lecturer

By Michael B

Sep 04, 2017

Clear and concise guidelines on what to consider when building and managing a high performing data science organization.

By Laurie J P

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent lecturer and the topic focuses on issues specific to data science teams rather than general business practice.

By Felix E R P

Jun 15, 2016

Good course to build a foundation on how to recruit your data science team