Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,534 ratings
339 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 332 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By MD A

Jun 20, 2017

Excellent course!

By Joseph S

Jul 17, 2017

Great Course. very helpful in my current assignment in leading a Data Science Team.

By Nwokedi T

Nov 26, 2015

Excellent presentation

By Michael A L

Mar 16, 2018

Team builders of all stripes can benefit from the insights imparted in this course, not just data science groups.

By Lisa K

Apr 15, 2016

Excellent Course and Series!

By Brooks K

Aug 03, 2017

Good overview of the essential parts of a data science team, how to recruit them, and how to manage them effectively.

By david c

Nov 18, 2015

david

By Md Z R

Aug 20, 2017

Concise & good overview on Data team building & management.

By chenneng007

Oct 22, 2017

SO GOOD

By sateesh

Dec 16, 2015

Great Course, Loved it.

By David S

Feb 11, 2017

Very well documented and presented. I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By humbert.sch@gmail.com

May 01, 2017

Excellent!

By william K

Dec 27, 2016

G

By Andre G G

Mar 06, 2017

Must do it! Really good!

By chandrasekharan

May 23, 2017

Excellent course!!.Really liked it

By Muhammed G

Nov 05, 2016

Hi everyone !

It is my honor to appreciate what I learnt from this course. I love it,the university,and the instructors. It is a step forward for my carrier.

By mark g

Jan 16, 2017

For those non technical coming to the subje

By Robert W

Nov 18, 2017

This is a great course for gaining a top-level understanding of how to build a Data Science team.

By Pooja S

Jul 07, 2017

Great course material!

By Carlos J

Sep 20, 2017

Esta serie de cursos, es recomendable para iniciar en la carrera de Ciencia de Datos, conceptos claros, expuestos por catedráticos de primer nivel

By Kshitij G

Feb 28, 2016

Precise and relevant, and gets one into the groove ethically and practically , on the nuances of on-line learning and ettiquette.

By Chris S

May 07, 2016

Great course

By NAVNEET S

Aug 07, 2018

Good to understand the basics

By Alvaro S R

Jul 20, 2018

Very useful course given a very good overview of the tasks, profiles and skills you need to build and manage a data science team.

By Wladimir R

Aug 26, 2018

VERY GOOD COURSE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.