Chevron Left
Back to C++ For C Programmers, Part A

Learner Reviews & Feedback for C++ For C Programmers, Part A by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.4
stars
1,679 ratings
481 reviews

About the Course

This course is for experienced C programmers who want to program in C++. The examples and exercises require a basic understanding of algorithms and object-oriented software....

Top reviews

CA

Dec 20, 2019

I liked it, it costed me a little because I am not a C programmer with big experience, and this course I feel is focused on C programmers that want to know how to "translate" their code to C++

RH

Oct 17, 2016

Just right for programmers seeking to update their skills to the new V11 C++. I recommend getting the book by the author that helps along with a text or Coursera course on Algorithms.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 480 Reviews for C++ For C Programmers, Part A

By Deleted A

Mar 07, 2018

This was more of a "Learn Dijkstra's Algorithm using C++" rather than a "Learn C++" class. I felt like the lectures were more focused on algorithms (Dijkstra's, graph theory, etc) rather than learning about the features available in C++ and when to use them. Additionally, the homeworks were pretty lopsided, with some weeks being very lightweight and others being very intensive.

By Juanhao Z

Apr 10, 2017

I thought at first according to the title of this course, that it should be an intro for c programmers. But it is more like a brush-up for already c++ programmers. Be ready to take some other course or reading parallel. Otherwise the homeworks are absolutely interesting and suitable for new-comer. It would be better if more videos with more details could be made.

By Ahmed E

Feb 01, 2020

the course lacks concentration on c++ as it most of the time considerate on graph algorithms instead of c++ features and STL I was hoping to finddd more details about C++ 11 and 14 features with examples and assignments

By Derick R

Aug 30, 2017

Too much focus on implementing Graph algorithms and too little about actually learning C++. The homework assignments time allocation (2 * 2 hours) is by far not enough to be able to complete the assignments.

By Arpit A

Jun 01, 2020

In starting the course it's explaining two algorithms and its very difficult for to understand and complete the assignment.

overall the course is amazing.

By Ruchita V C

May 21, 2020

please start from basic basic things.we have to do study in deep.Time required complete assignment is more.

By Guilherme M F

Oct 19, 2016

The course presents the topics in a non-linear manner. It should be called "Learning graphs with C++"

By Tirtharaj S

May 19, 2020

sir,is very experienced person in this field but also too old to teach such complecated lesson.

By Abhik B

Apr 26, 2020

The course has enough materials but the assignments are too lengthy and not well formulated.

By SHAHEER Z

Jul 02, 2020

the course could've been more interesting if uncommon things weren't select to be taught

By Deep P

May 14, 2020

This course very helpful to me the better theory lesson and explanation.

By Subhodip C

Jun 04, 2020

Peer graded assignment checking system doesn't seem quite right to me.

By Poon H W

Jun 17, 2020

Tutor's tone will bring you into sleep, but the content is good

By SUBHODIP S

May 04, 2020

i learnt a lot of things i did not know before.

thank you

By Yusong Z

Apr 06, 2020

Mediocre, too much graph theory, too less C++ feature

By Ammara

May 22, 2020

it is a good course and very helpful to us

By Tanushree v

Jul 20, 2018

good course but trainer doesnt go in deep

By Jayaynth P S Y

May 27, 2020

Focus on history can be reduced.

By Rohit

Jun 22, 2020

little bit confusing

By Vimal K D

Jun 26, 2020

Not much working

By YC X

Jun 10, 2019

Not that detail.

By NEERADI C S

May 10, 2020

average

By Niels C

Jun 12, 2020

Five star contents and format of lectures from Ira Pohl.

Peer graded assignments marred by hordes of students handing in plagiarised submissions and rating each other 100%. As well as openly asking for exam answers on the official discussion board. No policing of code-of-conduct.

Passing the course requires you to peer review a number of assignments from fellow students. If you report a submission as plagiarised it is removed from the review queue. At some point there are no more submissions to review. You are then not able to complete you peer reviews and fail the assignment. In the end you have to accept plagiarised submissions in order to be able to do the mandatory peer reviews. System is rigged against cracking down on plagiarised contents.

By Tuo L

Oct 22, 2017

I gave this course two star for taking my responsibility. The course is bad designed. The homework has less clue and you may only find 50% or less related knowledge from the lectures. The final quiz is ridiculous (too many questions about number calculation and I cannot believe there are questions like what did D. Ritchie B. Stroustrup E. Dijkstra L. Euler do or invent?!!!). It seems that the professor or his assistant did not put too much effort into providing this course. Though I learned something from it and it pushed me to learn several c++ skills, in a google searching way.

By Dimitris K

Jan 14, 2019

The video sessions are nice and very informative. However, the examples in the videos are a "toy" compared to the assignment of implementing a Monte Carlo simulation for Dijkstra's algo. The directions in the description of the assignment are very poorly written and the specs are blurry and difficult to clarify by yourself. The MST assignment is much easier, but still the directions are not well prepared.