Chevron Left
Back to Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition

Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition, National University of Singapore

4.9
(253 ratings)

About this Course

This course introduces students to strategies for style writing of common practice European art music. The issues of harmonic progression, voice leading, and texture are addressed in addition to relevant compositional concepts like repetition, variation, and elaboration. The course aims to offer a creative space even within the restrictions of stylistic emulation....

Top reviews

By UK

May 29, 2018

this course helped me a lot. The instructor is really interactive and i really recommend this course for anybody looking to learn classical music composition

By SS

Jun 18, 2016

An excellent lecture by Peter Edwards but couldn't attend it due to academic pressure.Hope will get similar courses in the near future.Thank you

Filter by:

74 Reviews

By Dennis1138

May 16, 2019

Very clear and interesting !

By Esteban Lewis

May 12, 2019

Although this course is only an "introduction" to classical music composition, it offers quite a wide range of tools for composing music in the classical style, as well as assignments and guided exercises to help you master these tools.

By Morganne Aaberg

Apr 01, 2019

Very helpful review. I have graduate entrance exams coming up, and I don't want to be placed in a graduate harmony review class. This course is a good refresher, and the professor is clear and articulate.

I would not recommend this to someone who does not already have at least a bit of music theory background. At the very least students should already read treble and bass clefs, know intervals, diatonic chords, the major scale, and various forms of minor. The professor lets students know what knowledge he already expects in the opening lecture.

If you are struggling with voice leading in an undergraduate theory class, this course would be a great supplement.

By Zohar Shvarzberg

Feb 28, 2019

The course is good for getting a first experience in writing harmonic progressions. However, the main problem with the course is the peer-reviewed assignment. Since not many students are taking the course, the system couldn't supply four students' assignments to review, thus I had to search the forum for assignments to review (students who pasted links to their works and asked for reviews). In order to review four works, I had to search for assignments that were handed in more than a year ago... By the same token, not many students reviewed my work. Maybe replacing the peer-reviewed assignment with a final quiz would work better for this course.

By Gládiston de Souza Coelho

Dec 28, 2018

Thaís course Washington excellent, thank you Very much!

By Yogesh Tripathi

Dec 21, 2018

What an approach towards composition

By Danila Gomulkin

Oct 24, 2018

This is an advanced in-depth course that will make you feel a real music theorist. Make sure you are fully familiar with the material of introductory courses in Music Theory and have no difficulty with reading chords and their inversions to make most use of it!

By Julio Miguel Gallardo Jiménez

Oct 11, 2018

Incredible course! I've learnt more than I could possibly imagine! The best course I've ever enrolled.

By Seohyang Oh Porter

Oct 09, 2018

It was useful to listen to this course.

By Mauricio Ignacio Fuentes Bravo

Sep 10, 2018

Muy completo, buenas explicaciones. Se aprende mucho en el Curso.