Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
838 ratings
202 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

VT

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 195 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Michael

Sep 07, 2019

Great class. Learned a lot!

By Chisanga K

Nov 23, 2016

I am loving this course.

By Ron S

Nov 07, 2018

It was a great course.

By 金连源

Oct 04, 2018

I think it interesting

By damindu

Dec 17, 2019

Great learning steps

By Ziyi Y

Nov 22, 2016

I love this course.

By Muhammad A

Nov 05, 2017

Loved the content.

By Michael B

Mar 11, 2017

Very good course !

By gongyong

Feb 23, 2017

very good course!!

By Borislav P

Nov 11, 2016

Worth every minute

By 楼哲圣

Feb 27, 2017

fantastic course!

By Bayram K

Oct 30, 2016

Excellent course.

By praveenprakalanathan

Aug 01, 2017

it's very great

By Vivek S

Mar 25, 2020

Great course

By Damien G P

Sep 20, 2016

Good course!

By Danielle C

Jul 03, 2016

mi favorita

By Arun P

Dec 09, 2019

Great!!!

By Gregory A W

Sep 29, 2017

Loved it

By vamsi v m

Oct 31, 2016

The best

By Dimas F

Jul 25, 2017

so cool

By Aniketh

Dec 22, 2019

Good

By Methaq S

Jun 17, 2018

good

By Felipe R P

May 04, 2017

V

By David S

Mar 04, 2017

Overall I really enjoyed this course, and I think I learned a lot, so thank you!

However I think there were some things that could be improved.

Firstly the quality of the code provided for the programming assignment was very low. It contains a lot of things that are far from modern c++ best-practices (e.g. using raw arrays instead of std::vector, mixing malloc and new, using new where there is no reason to use it, using raw pointers when references would be fine, missing consts, macros, ...). There were also some relatively minor bugs: the first log message doesn't print with the correct prefix, and the grading script as provided doesn't run (IIRC it was because the #! isn't on the first line). Since this course could be some people's first introduction to C++ I feel that it's important to set a good example, and to keep the code simple and safe.

Secondly the symbols used for things were often inconsistent between slides, which was occasionally confusing but should be easy to fix.

Despite these issues I still think this is a great course, it just could be a little bit better.

By Austin Z

Dec 21, 2018

The content of this course is great and the video lectures are of good quality. If you are looking for a university quality distributed systems course this is the best course i've found. Where this course lacks is in the outdated and tedious programming project and some quiz's that have questions not covered in lecture. The programming project will have you using c-style c++ code so be prepared. It has inconsistent use of data structures and types in its template code that you cannot modify and you will spent a significant amount of time doing memcpy to encode and decode data for char buffers. The quiz's have questions not covered in lecture like Chandy-Lamport questions around process state recordings. BEWARE THIS IS NOT A COURSE FOR BEGINNERS